Old 08-26-2011, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Credits: 3,264,730
Samsung Galaxy S2 U.S. Release Event 8/29

Apple may be nearly ready to announce its next iPhone, Windows Phone 7 Mango could be here by this time next month, and yet smartphone users in the United States are still waiting for their opportunity to get their hands on the Samsung Galaxy S2. Recently, we've been looking to the carriers to try to get a sense for when one might have the smartphone available. Instead, it seems that the answer may be about to come straight from the horse's mouth, with Samsung revealing that it will be making a "major product announcement" on August 29 in New York City.

More than just when these phones will arrive on US carriers, we're interested in learning what they will be called. We got an early idea of some possible names, but since then it's seemed less likely that all will stick with those labels. With Sprint, for instance, we were expecting the Galaxy S2 to be called the Galaxy Within, but more recently we've heard a rumor that Sprint could call the phone the Samsung Epic Touch 4G. Likewise, we've heard rapidly-changing rumors about AT&T's GS2, first going by the Galaxy Attain, then possibly the Captivate II, not to mention the rumor that there could be two AT&T GS2s, one with and one without a keyboard. There's a similar level of uncertainty surrounding the plans from the other carriers, as well.

Hopefully on August 29, Samsung will set the record straight, telling us exactly what GS2 hardware the US will be getting, what it will be called, and when it will be available. After all, with a big Roman numeral II on the invitation Samsung's sending out, it seems almost a certainty that GS2 news will be on the menu.

Nobody cyah teef we gold....is already pawnnnnn

Old 08-26-2011, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

The release event is in NYC on Monday...one of you jagabats should attend.

Old 08-26-2011, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Picture was just relased this afternoon!

Old 08-26-2011, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 699,761
hmmm

Old 08-26-2011, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

That bish Irene got it moved to Tuesday...stupid hoe.

Old 08-26-2011, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Weakness fuh Sweetness

Credits: 78,971
All major carriers except Verizon is getting it. I think it took too long to reach the states. Doesn't matter to me. I'll be getting the Bionic September 8th.

Best of the Best Concert 2013

bayfront park

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village
Old 08-28-2011, 02:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

The fock......steups.

This shit got moved for no reason,

Old 08-29-2011, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Weakness fuh Sweetness

Verizon has exclusive on the Samsung Droid Prime....

Well that is todays rumor.

Last edited by Yankee Doodle; 08-29-2011 at 01:14 PM..
Old 08-29-2011, 01:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Abuser

Credits: 615,567
i think its pretty much confirmed
Old 08-29-2011, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

These fockers saying late October might be the release date...that's too god damn long. I hope that's not true.

Buncha focking imps don't know how to capitalize on hype...people have a very short attention span in the gadget market.

Old 08-29-2011, 03:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Weakness fuh Sweetness

Originally Posted by Rinzler View Post
These fockers saying late October might be the release date...that's too god damn long. I hope that's not true.

Buncha focking imps don't know how to capitalize on hype...people have a very short attention span in the gadget market.
I think they are having a supply problem with the Exynos processor. I know the US variants are coming with the Tegra 2. I still feel there is an issue with that chip and the LTE radio Verizon is using (even though no one will admit it) which is why the Prime will have the TI OMAP 4460 (which is superior anyway).
Old 08-30-2011, 06:12 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 14,968,927

Exciting news! The Samsung Galaxy S II is coming to T-Mobile this fall! T-Mobile’s Galaxy S II promises to keep customers entertained and connected while on the go via America’s Largest 4G Network. It also has a beautiful 4.52-inch Super AMOLED Plus touch screen — one of the largest screens available on a Galaxy S II device. More details coming soon!
Old 08-30-2011, 07:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Sprints version comes out on Sept. 16th!

yessssss

Old 08-31-2011, 08:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Weakness fuh Sweetness

I stand corrected. They are coming with the Exynos. But what's up with the screen resolution? I will still stick with the Bionic when it comes out. Should run neck and neck performancewise with the SII and with better screen resolution. I have another upgrade coming for my other line in February/March so something better should be out by then.

Some other things that annoy me about it.

Screen resolution (800x480) (Can I at least have QHD)
No notification LED
Can't stand Touchwiz (I know I can get another launcher but still)
I think it's too thin and iPhone like
Samsung update cycle blows
No dedicated microHD port.

Otherwise, the CPU/SOC is great. Despite the resolution, I've always liked the vibrance of Samsung screens.

Last edited by Yankee Doodle; 08-31-2011 at 08:55 AM..
Old 08-31-2011, 11:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Yea the screen is a bit behind the qHD...but i tell you what. That Super AMOLED screen blows away any LCD counterpart and makes the resolution difference insignificant. AMOLED looks amazing and it saves TONS of battery compared to LCD