Old 08-13-2009, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Credits: 8,913
Okay Tech Geeks...

You power-on a PC, and you get a "Beeeeeeep!". Then a couple seconds later "Beeeeeep!"....it continues like this. There is no signal going to the monitor also.

What are the first things you check, or list the things to check.
Old 08-13-2009, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
Originally Posted by Colossus View Post
You power-on a PC, and you get a "Beeeeeeep!". Then a couple seconds later "Beeeeeep!"....it continues like this. There is no signal going to the monitor also.

What are the first things you check, or list the things to check.
Memory is loose or bad. Try removing the memory and re-seating. If that doesn't work, remove cpu fan, take out cpu and re-seat and reinstall fan.
Old 08-13-2009, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,217
yea. sticks
Old 08-14-2009, 02:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Thanks guys...

Needed confirmation....

some of these thins escaped me.

Ok, no "Beepin"......But still no signal to monitor, and the hardrive is not booting up.
Old 08-14-2009, 04:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,544
Thanks guys...

Needed confirmation....

Ok, no "Beepin"......But still no signal to monitor, and the hardrive is not booting up.
No beep most likely CPU or motherboard (assuming all power is correctly connected). Try using a can of compressed air and a 2" paint brush and service the motherboard and CPU first. Dat works for me most times.

If its a Dell dont even bother cleaning jus throw it out cause i am still to get a problem like dat solved. I am certain its the CPU but when i replace the CPU with an exact one of its kind it still doesnt work. FUK DELL!!!!!

Yeah first solution long beeps are always memory first

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose

Last edited by cassette_craig; 08-14-2009 at 09:48 AM..
Old 08-14-2009, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Will work for rum

at least try one stick at a time in each spot. if nothing then yes it sounds like a totaled processor.
Old 08-14-2009, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
One more thing that you can do is clear the CMOS. There is usually a jumper on the motherboard for this. But if you cannot find it, unplug the computer from the outlet and remove the battery (CR-2032) from the motherboard for about 20 minutes. Then replace the battery and try turning it back on.
Old 08-14-2009, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Okay, so none of de above has worked...

BTW it's an Compaq Presario....AMD 64 processor.
Old 08-14-2009, 10:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Happiness

Credits: 131,280
Thanks guys...

Needed confirmation....

i had that same problem some time ago and my IT guy said the power supply thingy was fried.....

I swear this is the funniest ting I've heard for the week...although it's so wrong, Lol!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-14-2009, 10:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Originally Posted by Sweetness4Life View Post
i had that same problem some time ago and my IT guy said the power supply thingy was fried.....

it's not the power supply in this case..Cuz, the connections are in tact and the power supply is operating.
Old 08-14-2009, 10:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Happiness

Credits: 131,280
it's not the power supply in this case..Cuz, the connections are in tact and the power supply is operating.
maybe i got the wording wrong, but everything in mine was intact, lights going on, but no feed to the monitor but all i know he said that it was fried and no good......but just putting my pennies since i had the same issue so ummm yeah.........

I swear this is the funniest ting I've heard for the week...although it's so wrong, Lol!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-14-2009, 10:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Will work for rum

maybe i got the wording wrong, but everything in mine was intact, lights going on, but no feed to the monitor but all i know he said that it was fried and no good......but just putting my pennies since i had the same issue so ummm yeah.........
video card?
Old 08-14-2009, 10:50 AM   #13 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Uhmmmm yeah...

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
video card?

I'm thinking... that if wasn't processor. BUt I can't recall if that would be enough for the system to not go thru the boot proccess
Old 08-14-2009, 11:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Will work for rum

man what happened to the tower anyway? you knocked it, banged it? anything u can remember? How old is it? Playing heavy ass video games? Running tons of programs at once? How much RAM do you have?
Old 08-14-2009, 11:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
man what happened to the tower anyway? you knocked it, banged it? anything u can remember? How old is it? Playing heavy ass video games? Running tons of programs at once? How much RAM do you have?

It's not my PC...My niece said her friend was throwing out cuz it had a virus and the girl got a new PC. So, my niece asked me if I can remove the virus. Powered the sucker' on...and got what I stated in de initial post.

and the the stiscks...2X 512MB....