Old 07-11-2009, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
o.O

Credits: 10,564
Intel is working with Google on Chrome OS

IDG News Service - The world's largest chip maker is working with Google on the Chrome operating system and has been privy to the project for some time, a spokesman for the company said Friday.

Intel's endorsement is important for the Chrome OS project because of its standing in the personal computing world: Intel microprocessors go into around four-fifths of the world's computers.

Google is aiming the Chrome OS at desktops, laptops and netbooks, all devices dominated by Microsoft Windows, so supporting Chrome could put Intel in an awkward position with Microsoft. The two companies have so dominated the PC industry over the past few decades that the term "Wintel" (from Windows and Intel) is used to refer to PCs running Windows on a processor based on the Intel-developed x86 architecture.

"We work with Google on a variety of projects, including elements of this one. We've been privy to the project for some time," said Nick Jacobs, Asia-Pacific spokesman for Intel. He declined to elaborate on the extent of their relationship.

Intel has also been seeking more support for its drive to put microprocessors into smaller devices, led by its Atom microprocessor, the most popular netbook processor. Google said Chrome will launch first in netbooks, in the second half of next year.
continued

"Your woman, who love me so much, how can she mek a next man touch" - PC
Old 07-11-2009, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,321
I still don't understand why companies have to rename something and try to make it their own. It's still Linux.
Old 07-11-2009, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,188
if they knew this was coming, they shouldn't have pushed Android as a netbook OS. will be interesting to see how this plays out over the years
Old 07-11-2009, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
if they knew this was coming, they shouldn't have pushed Android as a netbook OS. will be interesting to see how this plays out over the years
I don't think they "knew". It's tough to recognize the shortcomings of a mobile OS until it's actually implemented.

I still see the netbook market as a fad. When the AMD neo gets more popular, it will be the resurrection of the ultra portable laptop market and people will get the best of both worlds (size and usability).
Old 07-11-2009, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
I don't think they "knew". It's tough to recognize the shortcomings of a mobile OS until it's actually implemented.

I still see the netbook market as a fad. When the AMD neo gets more popular, it will be the resurrection of the ultra portable laptop market and people will get the best of both worlds (size and usability).
so you want windows on netbooks then... i still see netbooks as toys that are better off with toy OSes
Old 07-11-2009, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
steups...

so you want windows on netbooks then... i still see netbooks as toys that are better off with toy OSes
I don't care for netbooks at all. I feel they are a waste of silicon. For the functionality that people get from them, you would be better off using a smartphone with a bluetooth keyboard.
Old 07-11-2009, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Will work for rum

I don't care for netbooks at all. I feel they are a waste of silicon. For the functionality that people get from them, you would be better off using a smartphone with a bluetooth keyboard.
I wouldn't own one personally, but i like to see ppl use them for some reason(i like gadgets). but i'm all for it. not everyone needs a powerhouse of a notebook or can afford a virus free macbook. just hope to see one dominant and well supported OS in the game. and NOT written by microsoft.
Old 07-11-2009, 03:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
steups...

I wouldn't own one personally, but i like to see ppl use them for some reason(i like gadgets). but i'm all for it. not everyone needs a powerhouse of a notebook or can afford a virus free macbook. just hope to see one dominant and well supported OS in the game. and NOT written by microsoft.
As easy as that sounds, the problem in the Linux community is the "I can do it better complex." Too many egos. I wish someone would do it based on Free or OpenBSD. I would do it but I just lack the time to do such things these days.
Old 07-11-2009, 04:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,522
As easy as that sounds, the problem in the Linux community is the "I can do it better complex." Too many egos. I wish someone would do it based on Free or OpenBSD. I would do it but I just lack the time to do such things these days.
Make sure when you do it i be one of the first in lines fuh test out the darkness cause i need to view dat zeen.

As fuh topic

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose