Old 11-09-2009, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Credits: 147,866
Good Contrast Ratio for HDTV

..specifically for 46 inch.

I was told 100,000 or more..is this true?
Old 11-09-2009, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
Contrast ratio is the ratio of the brightest white to darkest black. It is not the leading thing to look at when purchasing a tv because most manufacturers don't measure it properly anyway. It is best to look at the tv before purchasing so that you can see what your eyes find acceptable.
Old 11-10-2009, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
PJK
Super Moderator

Credits: 25,922
For tru HD experience look for the following:

1080i, 1080p, 720p
120hz or 240hz
HDMI input at least one...
Old 11-10-2009, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
For tru HD experience look for the following:

1080i, 1080p, 720p
120hz or 240hz
HDMI input at least one...
Yep. Refresh rate is considerably more important. If you are not getting a screen larger than a 50", you don't "need" to get 1080p (720p screen that is 1080p input compatible will do) if you are in a cost crunch because your eyes can't ascertain pixel differences at screen sizes lower than 50".