Old 07-15-2009, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
o.O

Credits: 10,566
Firefox 3.5's first vulnerability 'self-inflicted,' says scientist

Computerworld - Mozilla Corp. yesterday confirmed the first security vulnerability in Firefox 3.5 and said that the bug could be used to hijack a machine running the company's newest browser.

A noted Firefox contributor called the situation "self-inflicted" and said it was likely that the hacker who posted public exploit code Monday became aware of the flaw by rooting through Bugzilla, Mozilla's bug- and change-tracking database.

The vulnerability is in the TraceMonkey JavaScript engine that debuted with Firefox 3.5, said Mozilla. "[It] can be exploited by an attacker who tricks a victim into viewing a malicious Web page containing the exploit code," the company's security blog reported Tuesday.

Secunia, a Danish security company, rated the bug "highly critical," the second-highest threat ranking in its five-step system, and added that the vulnerability is in TraceMonkey's processing of JavaScript code handling "font" HTML tags.

Older versions of Firefox, including Firefox 3.0, are not vulnerable, according to a message posted by Asa Dotzler, Mozilla's director of community development, in a comment to the company's blog.
continued

bugs bugs sigh.

"Your woman, who love me so much, how can she mek a next man touch" - PC
Old 07-16-2009, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Spoogie

I hope the firefox browser fails
Old 07-16-2009, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
o.O

Originally Posted by Ole Murderer View Post
I hope the firefox browser fails
I put firefox in the same league with IE.LOL

Old 07-17-2009, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Spoogie

what do you use ?
Old 07-17-2009, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
o.O

opera

Old 07-17-2009, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Spoogie

zeen zeen, not bad
Old 07-17-2009, 11:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,342
This is what happens when you rush out software.
Old 07-17-2009, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,558
Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
This is what happens when you rush out software.
Is this the reason why your software cant be released as yet?

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 07-17-2009, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,342
Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
Is this the reason why your software cant be released as yet?
No man...Our stuff is out.

Digital Signage and Kiosk Software: FireCast Linux by WireSpring
Simple Digital Signage - FireCast Digital Signage EasyStart
Old 07-18-2009, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,558

Lin still sucks

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose