Old 08-28-2009, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,155
Thumbs up FINALLY! RIM BIS 2.8 for Blackberry

What’s new in 2.8:

* Two-way wireless synchronization with Google Mail Contacts* and the Address Book on the BlackBerry smart phone:
o Synchronize Google Mail contacts quickly and easily to the BlackBerry smart phone
o Add or edit Contacts and the Contacts are automatically updated, whether they are updated on the computer or BlackBerry smart phone
o The documentation says this is scheduled to sync every 4 hours and will not work on BlackBerry Connect devices. It also will obviously not work on BES contacts or even Google Mail Contact Groups whatever those are.

* Enhancements to email setup and settings:
o Automatic Login now supports most billing identifiers, which allows new subscribers with wireless service providers that use PIN, IMEI, or ESN as a billing identifier to create BlackBerry Internet Service accounts from the BlackBerry smart phone, without having to create a login user name and password
o Note: This feature will be available approximately one week after the BlackBerry Internet Service upgrade.
* Windows Live Hotmail revalidation:
o With BlackBerry Internet Service 2.8, new Windows Live Hotmail mail integrations will be defaulted to a protocol that is designed so as not to require 90 day reauthorization.
o Note: Existing BlackBerry smart phone users accessing Windows Live Hotmail using Microsoft MSP will still be required to revalidate their Windows Live Hotmail account every 90 days.

*Note: Two-way wireless Contact synchronization with Google Mail Contacts requires BlackBerry® Device Software 5.0 and configuration through email settings on the BlackBerry smart phone. Additional requirements and constraints may be found within the BlackBerry Internet Service 2.8 Documentation Kit. This feature is not supported on BlackBerry smart phones with BlackBerry® Connect™ software.
Old 08-28-2009, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Credits: 8,866
Okay, how do i benefit from this?
Old 08-28-2009, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Originally Posted by Colossus View Post
Okay, how do i benefit from this?
personally, i'll benefit from it because i use gmail. no more need for google sync. change or add a contact online and it instantly updates to the phone and vice versa.

the BIGGEST upside is IMAP!
what gets deleted from the phone instantly gets deleted from your inbox(online) and vice versa. no more option to delete from handheld only and all that BS. iphone users appreciate this technology but not quite as push as this will be. u'll also get your folders and all the goodies IMAP brings

if yuh not a mail buff this might not be for u
Old 08-29-2009, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
the BIGGEST upside is IMAP!

what gets deleted from the phone instantly gets deleted from your inbox(online) and vice versa. no more option to delete from handheld only and all that BS. iphone users appreciate this technology but not quite as push as this will be. u'll also get your folders and all the goodies IMAP brings

if yuh not a mail buff this might not be for u

I'm not getting u...

Cuz, when I delete...I get a prompt asking if I want to delete from "Mailbox & Handheld" or from "Handheld Only".

If ur saying u currently don't have those options, than that's provider issue more than anything.
Old 08-29-2009, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 788
Can't wait for 5.0 to come out......colossus is right though....you can already do this from the bb....just change the options in the email settings.

Last edited by Hollywood; 08-29-2009 at 07:24 PM..
Old 08-30-2009, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Originally Posted by Colossus View Post
I'm not getting u...

Cuz, when I delete...I get a prompt asking if I want to delete from "Mailbox & Handheld" or from "Handheld Only".

If ur saying u currently don't have those options, than that's provider issue more than anything.[/COLOR][/I][/B]
Originally Posted by Hollywood View Post
Can't wait for 5.0 to come out......colossus is right though....you can already do this from the bb....just change the options in the email settings.
correct but that isn't true IMAP. IMAP gives you that both ways(handheld and online). Delete mail online and it disappears from your phone. You also get to view and manage your archives and mail folders. Also, currently deleting from the mailbox isn't quite as instant as IMAP. Especially for gmail.

As of now only BES has IMAP not BIS
Old 08-30-2009, 02:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

correct but that isn't true IMAP. IMAP gives you that both ways(handheld and online). Delete mail online and it disappears from your phone. You also get to view and manage your archives and mail folders. Also, currently deleting from the mailbox isn't quite as instant as IMAP. Especially for gmail.

ok...thanks for clearing that up.

I get exactly what u mean. Yeh, cuz PUSH e-mail doesn't allow you to view contacts or Folders in those On-line accounts like yahoo/hotmail/and so on.
Old 08-31-2009, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 788

You know what Bean...you are definitely right.Guess i misread your first post....IMAP is a good tool to have. I'm loving the Tour right now...haven't gone back to my Storm since......with the Storm 2 coming soon..may have to check that out too...lol