Old 11-01-2009, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Credits: 147,770
Ever lost data using the Recovery Console?

Old 11-01-2009, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,495
Nope, i think yoodle knows how to recover using that doh

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 11-01-2009, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Aight..how do we contact him right now? lol

Maybe ill wait til tomorrow, before I do this thing..

thanks
Old 11-02-2009, 01:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,495
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
Aight..how do we contact him right now? lol

Maybe ill wait til tomorrow, before I do this thing..

thanks
You don't find him, he finds you

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 11-02-2009, 09:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,320
What happened?
Old 11-02-2009, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
What happened?
Dealing with a PC that had an error last week... This error was a missing/corrupt file of ntoskrnl.exe

I tried the : expand d:\i386\ntoskrnl.ex_ c:\windows\system32
Didnt work. I also plugged out the mouse and keyboard to see if Windows would start without it. I realized when you start the pc without the new usb mouse that was bought it starts fine. When you start it with it, the above error is displayed. We therefore assumed it was the mouse and all was well...

Until a day or two later.. Cannot boot windows in any mode: Safe, Normal, etc.. The same error was displayed once or twice, but hardly. The plan is to wipe out the OS, but there are some important images that I need to get off the hard drive first. This hard drive seems weird..I cant seem to set it as a slave. I was wondering if doing a recovery would allow me to boot into windows and backup some files.
Old 11-02-2009, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Dealing with a PC that had an error last week... This error was a missing/corrupt file of ntoskrnl.exe

I tried the : expand d:\i386\ntoskrnl.ex_ c:\windows\system32
Didnt work. I also plugged out the mouse and keyboard to see if Windows would start without it. I realized when you start the pc without the new usb mouse that was bought it starts fine. When you start it with it, the above error is displayed. We therefore assumed it was the mouse and all was well...

Until a day or two later.. Cannot boot windows xin any mode: Safe, Normal, etc.. The same error was displayed once or twice, but hardly. The plan is to wipe out the OS, but there are some important images that I need to get off the hard drive first. This hard drive seems weird..I cant seem to set it as a slave. I was wondering if doing a recovery would allow me to boot into windows and backup some files.
The reason why that replacing ntoskrnl.exe won't work is because some of it's dependency dlls have changed.

If you have the drivers for the external drive, you can use recovery console to copy files off. Just use the following command once the recovery console starts...

set allowremovablemedia = true

If you can put the damaged disk into another machine, I would highly advise that approach. Just make sure that both drives are jumpered as "Cable Select".
Old 11-02-2009, 11:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

The reason why that replacing ntoskrnl.exe won't work is because some of it's dependency dlls have changed.

If you have the drivers for the external drive, you can use recovery console to copy files off. Just use the following command once the recovery console starts...

set allowremovablemedia = true

If you can put the damaged disk into another machine, I would highly advise that approach. Just make sure that both drives are jumpered as "Cable Select".
thanks, ill try that.

one question I have though is that I think this is a different type of hard drive. I do not think it has a jumper. SATA? The jumper connectors seem different as well. Would this hard drive still work as a slave in another pc?
Old 11-02-2009, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

thanks, ill try that.

one question I have though is that I think this is a different type of hard drive. I do not think it has a jumper. SATA? The jumper connectors seem different as well. Would this hard drive still work as a slave in another pc?
If it's SATA no need to jumper. And yes, it'll work just fine in another machine.
Old 11-02-2009, 12:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

If it's SATA no need to jumper. And yes, it'll work just fine in another machine.
bless up.