Old 11-02-2009, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,009
.csv files

How do you open this using excel?

If you open try to open files with that extension it says about a converter and error 1605.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 11-02-2009, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
How do you open this using excel?

If you open try to open files with that extension it says about a converter and error 1605.
It should just open. But if not, you may need to go through the import option because the file may not be a properly formatted csv file. You will run into problems for example if all the strings are not quoted or you have a number field with a comma in it that throws the fields off (for example 5,000).
Old 11-02-2009, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,553
Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
It should just open. But if not, you may need to go through the import option because the file may not be a properly formatted csv file. You will run into problems for example if all the strings are not quoted or you have a number field with a comma in it that throws the fields off (for example 5,000).
what this nerd said

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 11-03-2009, 05:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Thanks, I will have to try that but at the same time I wish there was another fix. The good thing at least is when you click ok twice it loads. I am trying to find a way to associate all .csv files to excel. Any thoughts on how to pull that off?
``
Old 11-03-2009, 11:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Thanks, I will have to try that but at the same time I wish there was another fix. The good thing at least is when you click ok twice it loads. I am trying to find a way to associate all .csv files to excel. Any thoughts on how to pull that off?
You can right click on any .csv file...go into properties and change the association (Hint: open with). There should be an option to apply to all files of that type.
Old 11-03-2009, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

You can right click on any .csv file...go into properties and change the association (Hint: open with). There should be an option to apply to all files of that type.
Thanks.

.....guess what someone sent me an email with a fix and regedit is where I went he he. Problem solved!!! No association needed. I had to go to Hkey_Classes_Root and delete a key. Niceness. I like to fix things by going to the registry. Still learning it though.
``
Old 11-03-2009, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Hint: QuattroPro
``