Old 06-30-2009, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 23,662
Building Technology

I was browsing the internet sometime last night, and came across this
10 Cargo and Shipping Container Homes and Offices | WebUrbanist

what impressed me was that these containers could be used to provide housing quite easily in the caribbean. The design would have to allow for ventilation but i think it should be done at least to prove its feasibility
Old 06-30-2009, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 152,681
ummm i don't think so.
Old 06-30-2009, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
ummm i don't think so.
why not?
Old 06-30-2009, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 278,738
yow how much 1 ah dem containers cost.......dais d damn ting self especially wit d cost of building materials back home..............go green mofos
Old 06-30-2009, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)

dey just he lookin right lol
Old 06-30-2009, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
dey just he lookin right lol

Old 06-30-2009, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
yow how much 1 ah dem containers cost.......dais d damn ting self especially wit d cost of building materials back home..............go green mofos
that is what i am checking, get one of them tings from Geest boat after they done ship de banana and fig; mash up dem ghetto shacks and provide some decent housing for de people. If dey can mashup and iron frame well yeh dey need prayers
Old 06-30-2009, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Oneshot View Post
that is what i am checking, get one of them tings from Geest boat after they done ship de banana and fig; mash up dem ghetto shacks and provide some decent housing for de people. If dey can mashup and iron frame well yeh dey need prayers
i wasnt even thinking bout dem lol.......but seriously.....it have a place in Trini called La Horquetta and it just dawned on me that in d back of my mind those houses in that development are designed just like containers.........a side structure for a garage and maybe a kitchen and is a 2 bedroom house right dey
Old 06-30-2009, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 156,471
hmmm
weather considerations & are they safe "up high"/stilts?

Old 06-30-2009, 11:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

hmmm
weather considerations & are they safe "up high"/stilts?
I wouldn't go too high with them and not in flood zones
Old 06-30-2009, 11:27 PM   #11 (permalink)

ok for low incomes houses .... but not me house
Old 06-30-2009, 11:33 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 156,471
hmmm at home flood zones = housing schemes many times and those were the income bracket I think the design would work best for so...

Old 06-30-2009, 11:35 PM   #13 (permalink)

allyuh getting tie up....I would get 2 ah dem ting and pimp dem out fuh $10,000 US and be rell happy......somebody say duplex wit no mortgage and pool in d back
Old 06-30-2009, 11:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

too high come on boss you dont see how them tings stack up on those giants ships. The flood zone is a good point but flooding would affect all housing. And they could just put the units on streets stilts.
Old 07-01-2009, 12:02 AM   #15 (permalink)

too high come on boss you dont see how them tings stack up on those giants ships. The flood zone is a good point but flooding would affect all housing. And they could just put the units on streets stilts.
yeah i guess....but i was tinking wit d more yuh stack dem d more cost tuh secure dem..........but wit something like dis once it gets going in d Caribbean i could see it being a trend if marketed right from the foreigners