steups...
Credits: 16,342
Verizon finally making a push with some decent phones. Storm 2 is out now as well. Once exclusive is up with AT&T they will get Iphone. Glad they are finally listening to customers cause their phone lineup has sucked the past couple of years.
Super Moderator
Credits: 25,959
lol Verizon and AT&T still to expensive for my tastes. Ill still with Sprint for now until I find the need to move elsewhere...
Google Maps with voice Navigation is gonna hurt alot of people though.. Cant wait to test it out once they release Android 2.0 to the rest of the masses... |
Credits: 160,139
what are the android phones available on att
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :
Super Moderator
Iphone...
steups...
Credits: 16,342
U mean unlocked iphone? cmon guys I wanna laugh too.
![]() anway since allyuh around explain what "rooted" and "cyanogen 2.0" is please
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :
Super Moderator
Rooting a phone as i understand it gives you access to special rom functions using the SDK version of the operating system running the phone. Consider it a form of jail breaking that would also custom roms to be used that may allow you to use OS updates that are yet to be released or allow you special functions not normally found on a stock phone..
every forum i go on ppl rooted and running on cyanogen and they make it sound really great but i'm not about to go try doing it for myself
Super Moderator
Canyon is the root for which phone?
Also if you go on youtube I am sure you can get videos on the exact process.. ![]() |
GWEH
Credits: 2,846
Super Moderator
That too cause I been hearing VZ Navigator sux...
GWEH
The term comes from the Unix based OS that is Android. "Root" in Unix meant you had admin priviledges. What people are doing then is hacking the admin restrictions on the Android phones so that customized ROMs (modified versions of the OS) can be created and loaded on the phones. So, for instance, Verizon might not support MSN messenger and so nothave it pre-loaded on the phone even if the phone should be able to use it. If the phone is rooted you can add it yourself. Cyanogen is the name of a very popular rogue software developer who builds modified ROMS (Operating Systems) for Android that make the phone do amaazing things it could not do out of the box. Cyanogen 2.0 is his more recent popular release of his product. Mek sense? |
Super Moderator
^^ loves to type ^^
: |
GWEH
![]() Its not as scary as you think if you just follow the instructions. Couple things. 1. Just rooting the phone is not as hard as you think because they have intructions broken down to a T detailing exactly how to do it and it is meant for people who have never done it before. 2. Once you root the phone you never have to root it again. Its a one and done thing. 3. I doh have an Android phone... but I play with modded ROMS for Windows Mobile and Sprint will not replace or honour the warranty on the phone if they think you modded it. I would think Verizon or T-Mobile would also be the same. So you want to make sure there is also a way to unroot the phone and put it back to out the box conditions in case anything goes wrong and you want to turn it. |