Old 07-17-2004, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 1,692
Exclamation YOUTH sections in T&T Carnival

Heard a mas band in the Woodbrook area in T&T will be bringing a YOUTH section for Carnival 2005. I know that a lot of the Secondary school kids here in T&T play mas Monday and Tuesday..What is your feedback on this IMIX members? I have been asking myself the following questions..so I thought I'd see what you guys thought as well.........

What are some of the things that should be in a Youth section for Carnival Monday & Tuesday..(ages 16-19)?

What shouldn't be in the youth section?

What type of costume would you expect in a youth section?

What cost would you pay for the section?

If a parent wanted to play with their youth, should they be allowed in the section?

What accomodations should be allowed for parents who wanted to play in the section?

Should here also be sections for 13yrs-15yrs?

Last edited by saucytrini; 07-17-2004 at 07:02 PM..
Old 07-17-2004, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Is only CrAziNeSs

Credits: 127
While the idea for a Youth section is really cool. most bands tend to have section that the young ppl flock to. ... It is my opinion that u should be of a certain age b4 u play mas with the grown folks on Monday and Tuesday and then a YOUTH section is excellent but for someone who waited till she was 17 to play mas at all ....Poison and PLeasures are kinda what i've been waiting for.

However i will give u feedback as far as your questions
1) A youth section should be all inclusive at a reasonable price ....there should be cool snacks like sno cones and bake and shark (possibly becuz i love these things) but teens don't really like too much fuss and then some well lord they fussy.
A Youth section should also be relatively close to the wee wee truck.

2) Alcohol

3) A costume that cute and sexy but not risque .....u really don't want to be the cause of anything even though it's gonna happen Not a fussy costume either something that doesn't get in the way. Probably a smaller headpiece that usual.

4) Well i played with poison so i would say that a Youth section from them should be at $1200 - $1500.... however I know that other bands would be cheaper.

5) Parents and other relatives should be allowed but then it won't be a "Youth" section.

6) Possibly parents costumes would be more conservative than the youths.... since i'm supposing the reason they are playin mas with thor younging is for supervision as well as to set and example

7) I honestly think that 13 - 15c years old to too young to be playin mas on Monday and Tuesday but then i saw 3 year olds in Solid Gold so i don't see why the Youth Section can't have a variety of versions to one costume to accomodate the age differences
Old 07-18-2004, 03:34 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 19,759
Originally Posted by saucytrini
Heard a mas band in the Woodbrook area in T&T will be bringing a YOUTH section for Carnival 2005. I know that a lot of the Secondary school kids here in T&T play mas Monday and Tuesday..What is your feedback on this IMIX members? I have been asking myself the following questions..so I thought I'd see what you guys thought as well.........

What are some of the things that should be in a Youth section for Carnival Monday & Tuesday..(ages 16-19)?

wee wee truck, water, juice, solo, snacks

What shouldn't be in the youth section?

Alcohol, big grown men :devil

What type of costume would you expect in a youth section?
Something cute but not scandalous...maybe like racer back tops with de boy shorts(off the top of my head)

What cost would you pay for the section? $900-$1200TT

If a parent wanted to play with their youth, should they be allowed in the section?

Mmmm, the parent should have the option of the adult costumes...they could probably mix in a little if need be but have their own section for when they cross the stage

What accomodations should be allowed for parents who wanted to play in the section?
they can be advised of the adult section that will be immediately following youth section

Should here also be sections for 13yrs-15yrs?
No, if their parents would like to bring them along with them maybe they can get a variation of the costume and be included, but not a section for them alone because you come back to the issue of needing parents IN the section, thus making it not an exclusively youth section. Play in kiddies or play with your parents mon and tues...that's just my opinion. I'm sure it would have been quite different if you asked me that question when I was that age...but I'm now the mother of a girl...so....NO :p
Old 07-18-2004, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,202
Unhappy

Well I think the idea of a youth section on Carnival Monday and Tuesday is a very bad idea. I think the weekend of Kiddies carnival is better. What's to stop the kids who look grown for their age from also getting into the band. I can't tell you how many teenage boys tried dancing with me in NY :devil It's hard enough to just to keep people out of the band/section and it will be impossible to try to also monitor the teens/parents. I think it will mess up the entire vibe to now also have a bunch of teens in the band. It's not appropriate. I for one will pick a band that does not include that option of having youth.
Old 07-18-2004, 12:40 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 19,759
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
Well I think the idea of a youth section on Carnival Monday and Tuesday is a very bad idea. I think the weekend of Kiddies carnival is better. What's to stop the kids who look grown for their age from also getting into the band. I can't tell you how many teenage boys tried dancing with me in NY :devil It's hard enough to just to keep people out of the band/section and it will be impossible to try to also monitor the teens/parents. I think it will mess up the entire vibe to now also have a bunch of teens in the band. It's not appropriate. I for one will pick a band that does not include that option of having youth.

Gyal, I agree with you...soundin kinda bacchanalish to me too...but given the age group 16-19, I figured it might be alright...by 16 I had already graduated from high school...

But you're right with the added confusion of tryin to play band monitor...maybe we should go with the original idea...play with your parents
Old 07-18-2004, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
Gyal, I agree with you...soundin kinda bacchanalish to me too...but given the age group 16-19, I figured it might be alright...by 16 I had already graduated from high school...

But you're right with the added confusion of tryin to play band monitor...maybe we should go with the original idea...play with your parents
I also think it has the potential to be a huge can of worms if it is not done or managed correctly. They are risking messing up the vibe, losing people and cooporate sponsors. I can also see some people just doing it for financial reasons and not really thinking about the additional risk factors that may also be involved. Poison for example, no one ever stays in their correct section or band. When Poison is crossing the stage on carnival Monday they have people from every band and the general public. Poison security seems to be overwhelm when they try to manage the crowd control at times. It's just a complete mess trying to figure out who is suppose to be in the band and who's not. The all-inclusive sections lost a lot of money on Monday just on the drink trucks alone.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 07-18-2004 at 10:58 PM..
Old 07-21-2004, 11:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 1,692
Lightbulb another angle

I hearing all yuh..

let's take it from another angle...

If you were to produce a Youth Section what would you do to ensure the negatives don't happen or are minimized?

Pretend it's your section..
Old 07-22-2004, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by saucytrini
I hearing all yuh..

let's take it from another angle...

If you were to produce a Youth Section what would you do to ensure the negatives don't happen or are minimized?

Pretend it's your section..
My suggetion will again be to have both the parents and youth participate in the planning/implementation of the carnival production. Then keep it during kiddes carnival to avoid some of the madness on carnival Monday and Tuesday. The parents can even work security and therefore keep the teens in line.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 07-22-2004 at 04:16 PM..
Old 07-22-2004, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Is only CrAziNeSs

Credits: 127
^
Girl i feel a Youth band would be too much headache to take on

The insurance of these Youths Safety us a huge responsibility and on Carnival Monday and Tuesday not only would u have to deal with the other Stinky and Scum of the earth adults from your band itself but also the "stinky , scum of the earth " adults on the streets..
I suppose a Youth section for Miami and Any other Carnival is ok since i hear they more controlled but Trini Carnival is a NO NO...
To much goin on and well we all know how Trinis love to have a good time and i just think that having to babysit (since that;s what it is in essence) close to 250 Youths is a bit too much.

Possibly if a group of PArents came together and worked on the section it may work out but i don't see a band putting of out a youth sections as they would put out regular sections

However this is my opinion