Old 08-19-2005, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Trinibrown

WIDACA Cave-In To The Jamaicans and The Haitians

WIDACA Cave-In To The Jamaicans and The Haitians.

Haitians times stated that they are too strong and too united to be stopped.

The Jamaicans stated that “ they don’t play mas to Reggae Tunes, we are only interested in representing our culture, not looking to be in any judging competition.

" Reggae Industry is 200 times larger than the soca industry, who are they to tell us we can't par-take in our culture.

-Carib parade says
T-shirts fit after all

BY LESLIE CASIMIR
DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER

You won't need a costume to take part in this year's West Indian American Day Carnival Parade after all - just a nice T-shirt to match your fellow marchers.
After weeks of bickering that had Jamaicans, Haitians and other Caribbean immigrants decrying discrimination, organizers of the parade said they'll allow T-shirt bands on Brooklyn's Eastern Parkway. But there is a caveat:

Revelers who follow flatbed trucks carrying their favorite musicians must wear matching T-shirts.

"We were not trying to keep [certain] people out," said Jean Alexander, spokeswoman for the 38th annual parade, who announced the T-shirt ban in July to the chagrin of many Caribbean immigrants. "We explained to them fully, and they understand and they are willing to work with us. There were no hard feelings."

The agreement was reached Wednesday night at the parade's Crown Heights headquarters among T-shirt band leaders, City Council members and police officials.

Some West Indians believe that the carnival is also a music event and not just for parading in costumes, which can be a costly undertaking. But the parade's organizers, many of whom hail from Trinidad, want to maintain the carnival's original tradition of elaborate costumes.

Floats with participants in costumes will also go first and T-shirt bands will follow at the end.

T-shirt band representatives said they were pleased that a compromise had been reached. But many worry that the police still will have their work cut out for them. Parade watchers in their street clothes usually jump in the procession anyway.

"I applaud the parade organizers for their efforts and I support the decision," said Robert Clarke, president and CEO of Irie Jam radio station, WRTN (93.5 FM). "But it's going to take a lot of work."
Old 08-19-2005, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 24,367
dem man are punks if dey vex let dem go else where simple
Old 08-19-2005, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41,523

Old 08-19-2005, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 34,869
Interesting. Now I have to buy a T-shirt
Old 08-19-2005, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 8,192
steups whateva!
Old 08-19-2005, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Trinibrown

Originally Posted by Oneshot
dem man are punks if dey vex let dem go else where simple
Why is it so ? We are all W.I. let them rep how they see fit ! muchless they are in the back...

My only concerns, what about the non-costume wearing folks who want to jump up and carry-on, now what ?
Old 08-19-2005, 11:51 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 24,367
Originally Posted by Trinibrown
Why is it so ? We are all W.I. let them rep how they see fit ! muchless they are in the back...

My only concerns, what about the non-costume wearing folks who want to jump up and carry-on, now what ?
who has the rights for the parade? shouldn't they determine how they want the parade to be ran..?
Old 08-19-2005, 12:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Trinibrown

Originally Posted by Oneshot
who has the rights for the parade? shouldn't they determine how they want the parade to be ran..?
It’s bigger than who have the rights, all about politics, I honestly don’t see a problem with them at the back, I mean come on, is it really fair to ask the Jamaicans who are playing reggae music to represent their culture by playing mas to reggae ? fair is fair, playing mas is we ting.

I felt that it was a fair compromise for all Islands.
Old 08-19-2005, 12:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 1,144
It’s bigger than who have the rights, all about politics, I honestly don’t see a problem with them at the back, I mean come on, is it really fair to ask the Jamaicans who are playing reggae music to represent their culture by playing mas to reggae ? fair is fair, playing mas is we ting.

I felt that it was a fair compromise for all Islands.
during carnival in Jamaica what do the revellers play mas to, soca?
Old 08-19-2005, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
STEADY WUK

Credits: 2,062
WIDACA Cave-In To The Jamaicans and The Haitians.

Haitians times stated that they are too strong and too united to be stopped.

The Jamaicans stated that “ they don’t play mas to Reggae Tunes, we are only interested in representing our culture, not looking to be in any judging competition.

" Reggae Industry is 200 times larger than the soca industry, who are they to tell us we can't par-take in our culture.

-Carib parade says
T-shirts fit after all

BY LESLIE CASIMIR
DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER

You won't need a costume to take part in this year's West Indian American Day Carnival Parade after all - just a nice T-shirt to match your fellow marchers.
After weeks of bickering that had Jamaicans, Haitians and other Caribbean immigrants decrying discrimination, organizers of the parade said they'll allow T-shirt bands on Brooklyn's Eastern Parkway. But there is a caveat:

Revelers who follow flatbed trucks carrying their favorite musicians must wear matching T-shirts.

[B]Wow....PEOPLE now they have to get in contact with there favorite BAND and find out what kind of T-SHIRT they wearing or if they selling T-SHIRT them the day of the PARADE....this all boils down too $$$$$ .....no free JAM [/B]

"We were not trying to keep [certain] people out," said Jean Alexander, spokeswoman for the 38th annual parade, who announced the T-shirt ban in July to the chagrin of many Caribbean immigrants. "We explained to them fully, and they understand and they are willing to work with us. There were no hard feelings."

[B]There was never any hard feelings being address it is that some people did not understand the meaning of UNITED......coming up the PARKWAY in UNITY not a bunch of people in street clothes jumping up with a BAND with no kind of ORDER....and respect for the true meaning of CARNIVAL[/B]

The agreement was reached Wednesday night at the parade's Crown Heights headquarters among T-shirt band leaders, City Council members and police officials.

Some West Indians believe that the carnival is also a music event and not just for parading in costumes, which can be a costly undertaking. But the parade's organizers, many of whom hail from Trinidad, want to maintain the carnival's original tradition of elaborate costumes.

Floats with participants in costumes will also go first and T-shirt bands will follow at the end.

GOOD IDEA[/B]

T-shirt band representatives said they were pleased that a compromise had been reached. But many worry that the police still will have their work cut out for them. Parade watchers in their street clothes usually jump in the procession anyway.

[B]This is what was being said from the beginning about the T-SHIRT band them.....people jumping up in the PARADE in street clothes with no kind of ORDER.

"I applaud the parade organizers for their efforts and I support the decision," said Robert Clarke, president and CEO of Irie Jam radio station, WRTN (93.5 FM). "But it's going to take a lot of work."
Yes.....it is going to take alot of work getting the non T-SHIRT people to understand that they can not jump up........also it will take alot of work on the T-SHIRT band them with SECURITY and ORDER when it comes to jumping up with the favorite band.

WE WEST INDIANS IS ONE BIG FAMILY
Old 08-19-2005, 12:38 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 19,784

Old 08-19-2005, 12:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,829
Originally Posted by VI PUM PUM
Yes.....it is going to take alot of work getting the non T-SHIRT people to understand that they can not jump up........also it will take alot of work on the T-SHIRT band them with SECURITY and ORDER when it comes to jumping up with the favorite band.

WE WEST INDIANS IS ONE BIG FAMILY
The same problems you say come with the t-shirt bands i.e. people in street clothes jumping in the band is the same problem that occurs with the jab jab bands like mud or paint... so would you want to ban those too?

I knew this would be the result and I said as much. The Jamaicans not going to be dictated to. Like they said... the reggae industry 200 times bigger than the soca industry... so try and mek space or lose out :rofl
Old 08-19-2005, 12:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
GWEH

We WIN!!!! Wih WIN!!!!!!

Old 08-19-2005, 12:46 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 34,869
Originally Posted by Fiyah

We WIN!!!! Wih WIN!!!!!!

Dem nah must Respect di Big Island!!!
Old 08-19-2005, 12:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
GWEH

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
Dem nah must Respect di Big Island!!!
How yuh mean!!! Ah was telling dem dat it wasn't ask wih was asking dem fih no permission. We were just telling dem the rule was unfair.. cause even if dem did keep the rule who was going to stop 15,000 Jamaicans on the parkway?! Cho...