Old 01-25-2007, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
PJK
Super Moderator

Credits: 25,874
Who what actually makes a Carnival a Carnival..

What key elements do you think are needed in order to behold the covetted carnival status?!

Of course you must have a parade of some sorts. Events that take place around the same time including fetes, exhibitions, etc. Masses of people flying in to attend from other states, boros, countries, etc...

What else is missing?! Why is it that the West Indian Day Parade not fit into the Carnival category.. Or does it?! Tell me your thoughts..
Old 01-25-2007, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,820
You must have less than 17 Jamaicans... anything more is Passa Passa.
Old 01-25-2007, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 88,084
U must have Wimen...
No wimen will make it a gay pride parade.
Old 01-25-2007, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
PJK
Super Moderator

So wham gays cant carnival too..

Fiyah: : Indeed i go put dat down..
Old 01-25-2007, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,203
Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Yeah don't invite and try to explain carnival costumes to some of dem backward t-shirt wearing Passa Passa anti-carnival Jamaicans and Haitians to any of yuh carnival events.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 01-25-2007, 12:06 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,725
Woman + Music + Fetes + Costumes = Carnival
Old 01-25-2007, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,970
Originally Posted by Short_Thing View Post
Old 01-25-2007, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
PJK
Super Moderator

Hmmn so men arently really needed then in the equation you provided...
Old 01-25-2007, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,313
Originally Posted by Swervin View Post
U must have Wimen...
No wimen will make it a gay pride parade.

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Old 01-25-2007, 12:55 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 88,084
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
Men are just props for them to jump on. If we not there, they will jump on each other, on the Trucks, bystanders, Telephone poles, Passing cars. I'm sure there has been a stray dog or 2 thats been assaulted by wimen playin mas in carnival.
Old 01-25-2007, 12:57 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 56,865
you forget liquor and the sexy men and the most important element...the carnival spirit; cause you could have all that w/ some stale dry folks and it still won't be nothing. The majority of the ppl have to be carrying the carnival spirit to create the vibe.

As far as Labor Day, its a lil taste and if you don't know better it will do but carnival is freedom and Labor Day is way too restricted.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-25-2007, 12:59 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by PJK View Post
So SHE say
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-25-2007, 01:00 PM   #13 (permalink)

Men are just props for them to jump on. If we not there, they will jump on each other, on the Trucks, bystanders, Telephone poles, Passing cars. I'm sure there has been a stray dog or 2 thats been assaulted by wimen playin mas in carnival.
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-25-2007, 01:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,261

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 01-25-2007, 02:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 1,134
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Yeah don't invite and try to explain carnival costumes to some of dem backward t-shirt wearing Passa Passa anti-carnival Jamaicans and Haitians to any of yuh carnival events.

i wear my costume