Old 03-26-2009, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,187
Who In Here Is A Generation Carnival Masquerader?

Any generation carnival babies here? Do you happen to have pics of your mummy, daddy, auntie uncles, grannys in their costumes? I've came across some and oohhh I am so proud to be a generation masquerader....I shall pass it on to my offspring..they have no choice....
Old 03-26-2009, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 56,865
Originally Posted by simmie View Post
Any generation carnival babies here? Do you happen to have pics of your mummy, daddy, auntie uncles, grannys in their costumes? I've came across some and oohhh I am so proud to be a generation masquerader....I shall pass it on to my offspring..they have no choice....
And older sisters. I does watch some of the pics and laugh, even some of the ones w/ me lil playing w/my older sisters...but yea I know what you mean...further than that, sometimes when I'm on the road I imagine my ancestors doing the same thing in the same place generations before...humbling and elating thought.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 03-26-2009, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 15,010
I have seen pics of my grandmother and uncle........but it has never been that serious in my family
Old 03-26-2009, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 6,717
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
And older sisters. I does watch some of the pics and laugh, even some of the ones w/ me lil playing w/my older sisters...but yea I know what you mean...further than that, sometimes when I'm on the road I imagine my ancestors doing the same thing in the same place generations before...humbling and elating thought.
Some will say that is Johnny working overtime
Old 03-26-2009, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
Some will say that is Johnny working overtime

I doh drink on the road.
-Brother Valentino
Old 03-26-2009, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

wtf....Ancestors.......wtf....u is some kinna shango baptist ah wah?
Old 03-26-2009, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)

I know the feeling!!!! That's why I was really crushed that they took away the stage in Trinidad. That was a historical spot. It's not the same without the stage tot cross for the final judging.... Suga Aloes, Sparrow, Blueboy, all dem stomped that stage...Ok.. cyah talk about it no more, heart hurts...
Old 03-26-2009, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
wtf....Ancestors.......wtf....u is some kinna shango baptist ah wah?
And what would be wrong w/ that?
-Brother Valentino
Old 03-26-2009, 03:14 PM   #9 (permalink)

And what would be wrong w/ that?
stupes.......ah guess dais ah yes......go run down frederick street wit yuh ancestors
Old 03-26-2009, 03:17 PM   #10 (permalink)

stupes.......ah guess dais ah yes......go run down frederick street wit yuh ancestors
Yuh didn't answer the question...I would ask yuh something else but I not going and spoil the girl thread.
-Brother Valentino
Old 03-26-2009, 03:18 PM   #11 (permalink)

Yuh didn't answer the question...I would ask yuh something else but I not going and spoil the girl thread.
yuh dun do dat already....y stop now
Old 03-26-2009, 03:23 PM   #12 (permalink)

yuh dun do dat already....y stop now
Because I not rude like you?

Anyway Simmie, I know just what you mean. Body moving to the same rhythms, feet jumping up on the same spot...just another thing that makes carnival the ultimate experience.
-Brother Valentino
Old 03-26-2009, 06:13 PM   #13 (permalink)

Something magical about that stage. Cross ah friggin road doh do deh same for Carnival. Oh gosh nag. When I'm home for Carnival, and they show the past Kaiso and Calypso shows and the artists cross the stage....when they show past carnivals and seeing them experience the same excitement you do, only you and another masquerader could only understand....it's a beautiful ting boy..I tell you. I think if even more beautfiul when you can actually chip wid your granny. I did so one time..rhel small but I remember. Bother grans said, "this is traditionmeh sweet duddu". I still remember that....

Now I don't think I want my mummy seeing me on the road, "Getting on bad". I will chip wid she, but not play mas wid she..she too reserved. Now my uncles and dem..oh yes..they are just as bad becuase the will load themselves up with spirits. I don't drink.
Old 03-26-2009, 06:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE

Credits: 10,105
Originally Posted by simmie View Post
Something magical about that stage. Cross ah friggin road doh do deh same for Carnival. Oh gosh nag. When I'm home for Carnival, and they show the past Kaiso and Calypso shows and the artists cross the stage....when they show past carnivals and seeing them experience the same excitement you do, only you and another masquerader could only understand....it's a beautiful ting boy..I tell you. I think if even more beautfiul when you can actually chip wid your granny. I did so one time..rhel small but I remember. Bother grans said, "this is traditionmeh sweet duddu". I still remember that....

Now I don't think I want my mummy seeing me on the road, "Getting on bad". I will chip wid she, but not play mas wid she..she too reserved. Now my uncles and dem..oh yes..they are just as bad becuase the will load themselves up with spirits. I don't drink.
i miss the stage
Old 03-26-2009, 06:32 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 8,549
Originally Posted by TriniJustice View Post
i miss the stage
The stage caused a traffic jam with the mas bands.

I am glad there is no stage.

Standing up getting heat stroke to cross the stage.
Charging the security
Having the crowd cheer u as u play your mas.
Running back to take a last wine after your section done cross.
umm come to think of it I miss the stage to.