Old 09-07-2006, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 532
where is miami carival this year?

anyone can confirm that it is in the park? any bandleaders on here?
Old 09-07-2006, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 255
Miami Carnival is FREE on the Streets (T&T Style) a Downtown Bacchanal over 4 miles starting on 2ND Ave NE and flowing past the new Carnival Center for the Performing Arts until you drop.......
"click" the link for YOUR COSTUME:
http://www.miamicarnival.net/miami_carnival/bands/
Old 09-07-2006, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Thanks for responding. the site (miamicarnival.net/events) still has a park event listed with a performance by Machel and Xtatik. I think that is probably from 2005.

So, if I am reading your post correctly, Miami carnival will not be in Bicentennial park?
Old 09-07-2006, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,887
Originally Posted by miamicarnival View Post
Miami Carnival is FREE on the Streets (T&T Style) a Downtown Bacchanal over 4 miles starting on 2ND Ave NE and flowing past the new Carnival Center for the Performing Arts until you drop.......
"click" the link for YOUR COSTUME:
http://www.miamicarnival.net/miami_carnival/bands/
I thought most carnivals were free...
Old 09-08-2006, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Born in wrong island

Credits: 141
It ends in the park...I think

Originally Posted by sanfranjouvay View Post
Thanks for responding. the site (miamicarnival.net/events) still has a park event listed with a performance by Machel and Xtatik. I think that is probably from 2005.

So, if I am reading your post correctly, Miami carnival will not be in Bicentennial park?
Old 09-08-2006, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 895
Of course its free on the streets, how could it be anything else?

The question is...is it free in the park? Contrary to other posts the answer appears to be NO:

MIAMI CARNIVAL 2006 PARADE & FESTIVAL - CARICOM CONSULAR VILLAGE - MACHEL MONTANO & XTATIK
Sunday, October 08, 2006 @ 9 AM - 11 PM
location: Bicentennial Park, 301 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, Miami

North America's #1 Carnival Parade
Featuring over 25 Mas Bands and Steelbands,
Live Entertainment - Soca Stars
Performing live in Bicentennial Park
Headliner: Machel Montano & Xtatik, Shurwayne Winchester & Traffik, Dil-E-Nadan, Adesh Samaroo, Hitman, Terry Gajraj, JAM BAND (USVI), Da Bhann (Antigua), Small Axe Band (St. Kitts), Elvis White (BVI), Exodus Steel Orchestra (Direct from T&T),
DJs from MIAMI - Dorenzo, Eternal Vibes, Flava 101 Crew, Gary Enforcement, Giselle D' Wassi One, House Arrest, Maestro, Minstrel Jammer, Mixmaster Roderick, Mixx 96 Crew, Mystik 1580 AM Crew, Oren D IceMan, Rambo, Rick the Ruler, Sound Revolution, Steelie Back, Steelie Bashment, Super C, and Tidal Wave Sound; from NEW YORK - Back to Basics, Fess, Natural Freaks, Rhythm International and Xtreme Productionz; from ORLANDO - BIC Sounds, Crown Prince and Da Vibze; from ATLANTA - Ibis International, Jaspa, Stephen, Tony Tempo), and from T&T (Lalo), Miami and Orlando Steel Bands
T&T 2005 King of Carnival Curtis Eustace
Emcees: Mike Andrews, Ron Burke and Eddie Edwards
Caribbean Food, Drinks, Arts & Crafts on Sale
Parade starts at 12:00 noon at NE 2nd Avenue and 35th Street
Proceeds South on NE 2nd Avenue, East on NE 19th Street,
South on NE 4th Avenue and into Bicentennial Park

Directions: I-95 North/South to #112 East. Exit at Biscayne Blvd. Drive South on Biscayne Blvd. Discounted Parking available in the area.
$15.00 Advance Tickets.

And based on tradition, probably "much more at the door!"

But I would say, probably well worth the $20 or so if everyone above shows.

Last edited by Rhythmwize; 09-08-2006 at 01:29 AM..
Old 09-08-2006, 08:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Born in wrong island

that info may be old...this yr is free in the park
Old 09-08-2006, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,690
Isn't the word on the street is that there is no Park b/c MCI has no money to pay for the park? That is what the rumor at least.
Old 09-08-2006, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Born in wrong island

so then you saying according to rumours you hearing the performances going happen where? and the stage?

the hotline says park, free admission to the park, nothing about no park...
Old 09-08-2006, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)

I suggest you call your bandleader and ask what is up. It would be a pity if the rumor is right.

Which performers? The info. currently on miamicarnival.net is from 2005.
Hopefully that will updated shortly.
Old 09-08-2006, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 895
Originally Posted by sanfranjouvay View Post
I suggest you call your bandleader and ask what is up. It would be a pity if the rumor is right.

Which performers? The info. currently on miamicarnival.net is from 2005.Hopefully that will updated shortly.
You telling me that park event info is from last year and all they did is change the date to 2006?

Man, this Miami Carnival thing is a joke...glad I aint going this year, but if I was going it would be to Broward.
Old 09-08-2006, 04:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 243
Originally Posted by Trinibaje View Post
Isn't the word on the street is that there is no Park b/c MCI has no money to pay for the park? That is what the rumor at least.
Yes..that is what i heard from someone just yesterday, who is actually involved in the promotion of Miami Carnival.
Old 09-08-2006, 06:15 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,690
Originally Posted by LolaMs View Post
Yes..that is what i heard from someone just yesterday, who is actually involved in the promotion of Miami Carnival.
As per usual could never get a straight answer out of MCI.... ah somethings never change.
Old 09-12-2006, 01:26 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Miami carnival money went to broward county so now the have nothing.