Reppin' TnT
Credits: 4,750
US Band leaders need to come better with "remaking of a costume concept" The band launching pictures posted on various website's is all a remake of 2006 or 2007 costumes. Mas makers-Where is your creativity? Where is your talent? Thank goodness for TnT Carnival |
Azuuucar!
Credits: 57,262
Just one of the reasons why I doh play mas in de states.
Credits: 56,866
You're completely correct but who really plays mas outside of Trini expecting a heart stopping costume? I was just telling somebody last night that I already know sesame flyers gonna come w/ the same costumes i see every single year in the colors they used year before last lol. At least the costumes cheap so I'ma pay my lil money, dress up the costume best I can and have a great time on the road.
but giving adults them cardboard headpieces like they does give the kids is taking it too damn far ![]() |
Credits: 396
I aggree that the quality of costume design in states is lacking. Major Players & MAS Jumbies will introduce some new costume designs never seen here before. Here's a mock up of the intro to the 2007 presentation JUMBIE. New website will be launched within the coming weeks. http://www.masjumbies.com/jumbie.html
And speaking of cardboard, is not only US bands us it, Tribe in T&T uses it too. My whole Fancy Indian frontline headpiece was made with cardboard (the cheap grey kind) covered with fabric. It rained on us on Tuesday and hence exposed the cardboard as the edges began to split. |
Credits: 6,718
Frankly outside of Trinidad I do not think that I should pay more than $200 for a costume because the jump is just not long enough to justify the cost. I think Caribana has done a very good job and B'dos has done a better job than most of providing decent costumes at an affordable price given the length of time spent on the road.
However there seems to be no in between in the US. You would find bands in NY with really nice costumes but they charging you an arm and a leg for 6 hours on the road and then you would find bands in other cities with cheap but hideous costumes. I do not know if the reason is greed or what because a lot of the material can be sourced here for a much cheaper price than it can be sourced in B'dos or Toronto. |
Azuuucar!
Credits: 57,262
Daddy Cease in deh area
Credits: 2,630
jus a lil FYI for some of u that didn't kno.....band leaders outside of Trinidad, hire the very same mas makers or costume designers in Trinidad......that's part of the reason, why many costumes may look similar.
Now the next question go probably go be, why don't find their own costume makers.....my guess is that the ones that are hired specialize in costume making, so they get hired for alot of carnivals around the world. If u look at alot of the carnivals, u would find many of the same costume makers |
Monday, August 6th, 2007
Credits: 107
Explains the similarities.... what explains the difference in quality? Them damn mardi gras beads they have hanging off bath suits denn?!! ![]() |
Reppin' TnT
Credits: 4,750
Interesting responses and I agree....
Cease10, question-you stated "band leaders outside of Trinidad, hire the very same mas makers or costume designers in Trinidad" Sooooo, what costume are they 'creating' on their own NOTHING!! Do they think remaking costumes draws the attention of masqueraders? |
Daddy Cease in deh area
Credits: 2,630
steups...they mad yes! |
Credits: 160,087
maybe is the culture that lacking thats why the design reflects no creativity
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :

steups...they mad yes!