Old 02-21-2007, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,626
What happens in Tobago during carnival?

I know POS is the epicentre of TT carnival, but I've never heard anything about Tobago? Is there a big carnival in Tobago as well during carnival, i.e. street mas on Monday & Tuesday.

If you've been is it worth going to on one of the 2 carnival days?
Old 02-21-2007, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Undercover

Credits: 283,505
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
I know POS is the epicentre of TT carnival, but I've never heard anything about Tobago? Is there a big carnival in Tobago as well during carnival, i.e. street mas on Monday & Tuesday.

they do have a carnival.. which is minute in comparison to Trinidad's carnival. In my opinion, it is not worth going to the any of the days... unless, or course you are looking for a more laid back scene. In totality, there is about 10 bands, if so many. But as i said, it depends on what kinda atmosphere you are looking for.

when i was much younger I played mas in Tobago all the time, seeing that I grew up there. I had a good time, but if you really want to experience mas, Trinidad is the place to be. IMO, anyway.
Old 02-21-2007, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,626
Originally Posted by Lady J View Post
they do have a carnival.. which is minute in comparison to Trinidad's carnival. In my opinion, it is not worth going to the any of the days... unless, or course you are looking for a more laid back scene. In totality, there is about 10 bands, if so many. But as i said, it depends on what kinda atmosphere you are looking for.

when i was much younger I played mas in Tobago all the time, seeing that I grew up there. I had a good time, but if you really want to experience mas, Trinidad is the place to be. IMO, anyway.
What kind of bands/sections go over to Tobago to play mas? How about entertainers, do they split their time between the islands?
Old 02-21-2007, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Undercover

What kind of bands/sections go over to Tobago to play mas? How about entertainers, do they split their time between the islands?
they have their own mas camps own band leaders, they do their own thing, independent of Trinidad, during the Carnival season entertainers may visit the island to do shows, but they also have their own entertainers, own competitions. Carnival is not that grand of an event in Tobago. The big event for Tobago is TobagoFest which is normally held in September, at that time, bands/sections from the bigger/well known bands in Trinidad may masquerade in Tobago. A lot of entertainers are there at that time also.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Undercover

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...s?id=161107700

www.thetobagonews.com
Old 02-24-2007, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 5,627
And u can see more pics here
Old 02-24-2007, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,997
Originally Posted by Lady J View Post
they have their own mas camps own band leaders, they do their own thing, independent of Trinidad, during the Carnival season entertainers may visit the island to do shows, but they also have their own entertainers, own competitions. Carnival is not that grand of an event in Tobago. The big event for Tobago is TobagoFest which is normally held in September, at that time, bands/sections from the bigger/well known bands in Trinidad may masquerade in Tobago. A lot of entertainers are there at that time also.

Correct, much slower pace.

Yes, even if you go once, worth checking out.
Old 02-25-2007, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 14,230

tobago have a carnival...south have a carnival.....sangre grande has a carnival.

POS is not the only place mih dear.s
Old 02-25-2007, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,265
Originally Posted by sharkie View Post
tobago have a carnival...south have a carnival.....sangre grande has a carnival.

POS is not the only place mih dear.s
Thank you.