Old 04-05-2007, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,624
What are the attendance figures for TT carnival?

Does anyone know what they are?

I've never actually seen an attendance tally for TT carnaval for any years?
Old 04-05-2007, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
The legs of a runner

Credits: 1,162
It's a lot of people is what I can tell you!!!
Old 04-05-2007, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trini_baby View Post
It's a lot of people is what I can tell you!!!
Whoa there talk about a startling revelation!
Old 04-06-2007, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,205
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Does anyone know what they are?

I've never actually seen an attendance tally for TT carnaval for any years?
Yuh lie I gave you this information already. Is you who getting old and forget. However you never showed me your tally source for Brazil.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 04-07-2007, 05:08 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Yuh lie I gave you this information already. Is you who getting old and forget. However you never showed me your tally source for Brazil.
Actually if I recall the thread you're referring to, you'd stated how many people arrived at NYC Labor Day and not the one in TT, and if I recall it was roughly 4 million people.

I do recall telling you before. In Bahia alone it's roughly 3 million people for six nights straight of street mas. I am unable to verify attendance sources in other cities in that country, although I've read the other 2 big carnival cities in that country have anywhere between 1 and 2 million revellers.
Old 04-07-2007, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Actually if I recall the thread you're referring to, you'd stated how many people arrived at NYC Labor Day and not the one in TT, and if I recall it was roughly 4 million people.

I do recall telling you before. In Bahia alone it's roughly 3 million people for six nights straight of street mas. I am unable to verify attendance sources in other cities in that country, although I've read the other 2 big carnival cities in that country have anywhere between 1 and 2 million revellers.
Nope I also gave you in that thread a link to an excel spread sheet from TDC. But here is the link again with the spread sheet and the old thread again with our previous discussion. TnT Carnival 2k7
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 04-07-2007 at 02:35 PM..
Old 04-07-2007, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)

Nope I also gave you in that thread a link to an excel spread sheet from TDC. But here is the link again with the spread sheet and the old thread again with our previous discussion. TnT Carnival 2k7
Yes I do recall that thread, but 50,000 is refererence to people arriving in TT during carnival from other countries and not taking into consideration the people that actually live in TT as well and partake in carnival. Because obviously there has to be more than 50,000 revellers at carnival.

As much as I appreciate the time you took to post that informative thread, I think it has its faults because it's not an effective way to gauge an estimation as to how many people partake in TT carnival.
Old 04-07-2007, 07:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Yes I do recall that thread, but 50,000 is refererence to people arriving in TT during carnival from other countries and not taking into consideration the people that actually live in TT as well and partake in carnival. Because obviously there has to be more than 50,000 revellers at carnival.

As much as I appreciate the time you took to post that informative thread, I think it has its faults because it's not an effective way to gauge an estimation as to how many people partake in TT carnival.
Oh ok then if its participants you are now asking about. Then the NCC will most likely have those final numbers as far as those who actually participate vs attend carnival. The 50,000 is just the number of folks that fly into Trinidad during carnival.

Trinidad carnival has no where near the attendance size of Brazil or New York, UK etc when trying to compare numbers. It's the largest carnival in the caribbean to my understanding. But Trinidad is very small and the island itself only have like about 1.5 million people living there. Plus Trinidad can hardly meet the current demand now because they only have like three major hotels unlike Bim and other major tourist destinations.

However, the amount of people that actually participate in playing mas. I'll say approx 40k tops and that's my estimate on the high end. Due to the fact that some of the larger and more popular band's will sometimes have anywhere from 3,500 -7,000 revellers participating in playing mas.
New York and Brazil have that common factor of having more people watching from the sidelines. Rather than actually willing to participate in exposing themselves to millions in some beaded dental floss bikini costumes.lol

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 04-07-2007 at 09:00 PM..
Old 04-07-2007, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)

Oh ok then if its participants you are now asking about. Then the NCC will most likely have those final numbers as far as those who actually participate vs attend carnival. The 50,000 is just the number of folks that fly into Trinidad during carnival.

Trinidad carnival is no where near the attendance size of Brazil or New York, UK etc when trying to compare numbers. It's the largest carnival in the caribbean to my understanding. But Trinidad is very small and the island itself only have like about 1.5 million people living there. Plus Trinidad can hardly meet the current demand now because they only have like three major hotels unlike Bim and other major tourist destinations.

However, the amount of people that actually participate in playing mas. I'll say approx 40k tops and that's my estimate on the high end. Due to the fact that some of the larger and more popular band's will sometimes have anywhere from 3,500 -7,000 revellers participating in playing mas.
New York and Brazil have that common factor of having more people watching from the sidelines. Rather than actually willing to participate in exposing themselves to millions in some beaded dental floss bikini costumes.lol
Thanks if you could get that link I would greatly appreciate that answer.

Sorry sweetie but about that bolded part.......a common IMIX W.Indian myth about down there. The reality is ehn nobody sitting on de sidelines "watching" in Bahia, only Rio .
Old 04-07-2007, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Thanks if you could get that link I would greatly appreciate that answer.

Sorry sweetie but about that bolded part.......a common IMIX W.Indian myth about down there. The reality is ehn nobody sitting on de sidelines "watching" in Bahia, only Rio .
Yeah I only lump them together because I live in a highly populated Brazilian community. They are the closest folks I have to West Indians to interact with from time to time besides Imix, IM and Myspace.

So they have always been very warm and embrace me like one of their own. Especially whenever we sit and talk about carnival and world cup soccer. But yeah I think I have the link somewhere in my files. So I'll post it when I find it. One of the peepers from NCC or the band/section leaders in Trinidad should also be able to jump in this thread with the info shortly as well.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 04-07-2007 at 09:01 PM..
Old 04-09-2007, 08:25 PM   #11 (permalink)

Yeah I only lump them together because I live in a highly populated Brazilian community. They are the closest folks I have to West Indians to interact with from time to time besides Imix, IM and Myspace.

So they have always been very warm and embrace me like one of their own. Especially whenever we sit and talk about carnival and world cup soccer. But yeah I think I have the link somewhere in my files. So I'll post it when I find it. One of the peepers from NCC or the band/section leaders in Trinidad should also be able to jump in this thread with the info shortly as well.
When you find those stats pertaining to TT carnaval attendance figures, please let me know. Ah wanna read it.

I was sold on going to Rio when I first planned to hit Brazil, however luckily my friend from Rio told me to hit Bahia which I'd never heard of before instead. 2 totally different places and styles of carnaval altogether. Kind of like comparing doing carnival in San Fernando instead of P.O.S.

Most younger Brazilians prefer Bahia, more participation friendly and costs little to nothing to party. No sitting in the stands watching things unfold. However despite being the worlds largest participation oriented carnival it often goes unheard to its more famous sister in Rio.