Old 09-02-2008, 10:55 AM   #151 (permalink)

Credits: 17,231
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa View Post
She did give you a solution - a very reasonable one. You're the one picking it apart like you're trying to prove something.
i asked about her solution, i want to see if it's fair to me.
Old 09-02-2008, 10:55 AM   #152 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 20,925
To me there is nothing wrong with the haitian trucks but its some, certain types of people that i feel that does give them, other bands and the rest of the parade a bad name. I will only return to the parkway unless they have plans on taking this thing somewhere else.

I'm good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gf1zzbC90uI

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586.
Old 09-02-2008, 10:58 AM   #153 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Credits: 46,263
Originally Posted by ~Maneater~ View Post
I will not be attending that crap of a parade again! i rather go travel somewhere else labor day weekend. They might as well call it the Hatian Day Parade...i giving my opinion so who vex LOSS! what d France Man! Who d FOCK wants to hear some friggging zouk and Kompa ALL DAMN DAY! play that shit in moderation man. Every other truck is a damn hatian truck. Who ever in charge of putting this thing to gether needs to put some facking restrictions on the damn hatians man! every island should have 3 floats each! its not fair to have one island dominating the parkway and Kompa and Zouk is native to 1 or 2 islands in the caribbean where as soca is the most dominant in the caribbean therefore it needs to be played more than Kompa. Even after the facking hatian truck pass, u can't hear the next truck cuz they make sure to put that shit on the highest volume possible! WIADCA, FIX THAT NAH MAN! And don't let me get started on that Hot 97 truck. I have love for my yardies and dem but jeezus krist that truck is a frigging death trap. Who tell me and my fast ass to gather the crew to go to that truck. I got in there and u can't even dance cuz everybody pack in like sardines and pushing and shoving. I reach a barrier and was practically begging the police to let me out and they would NOT!...they need to limit the kompa and zouk man. And its the same damn song over and over and over...aiti aiti aiti FACK MAN! take that shit some where else!........

I needed to get that out....
weeeeeeeeyyyy U Giiiiihhh DDEEEEMMMM!!! GYAL

muh belllllyyy...I only reading and , cant comment YET!!

man i DO NOT GIVE A FOCK!i have no problems with hatians. I have never been rude or disrespectful to them especially on imix. But today was the motherfocking worse! i well say i going up there to hear some 'traffic' and 'get on' and 'breathless' and 'right dey' and 'tempa whine' not no focking aiti! aiti! aiti! fack man!
Tag: KCR is such a lil B!tch sometimes

Old 09-02-2008, 11:05 AM   #154 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 52,600
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
WIADCA - The Official Website of The West Indian American Day Carnival Association - About Us

that's part of the Caribbean arts and culture...the non-masqueraders behind a truck.
Yes you are right. But Carnival is about jump up and you know that. In every Soca nation, carnival is not complete unless you are jamming behind a truck. People want to get on behind a truck. At the labor day parade people WILL jump over and jamm in a band. To Prevent the mas bands from being overpowered by non-masquearaders, they should have the 'island representing trucks'...that will allow for both masquaraders, sideline viewers, and those who want to jump behind the truck but not in a costume to enjoy themselves. Everyone will be satisified.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:07 AM   #155 (permalink)

Yes you are right. But Carnival is about jump up and you know that. In every Soca nation, carnival is not complete unless you are jamming behind a truck. People want to get on behind a truck. At the labor day parade people WILL jump over and jamm in a band. To Prevent the mas bands from being overpowered by non-masquearaders, they should have the 'island representing trucks'...that will allow for both masquaraders, sideline viewers, and those who want to jump behind the truck but not in a costume to enjoy themselves. Everyone will be satisified.
We are talking about the Caribbean, specifically the West Indian American Day Parade. Carnival is about what it is about to each island...and you should know and respect that.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:09 AM   #156 (permalink)
Freedom

We are talking about the Caribbean, specifically the West Indian American Day Parade. Carnival is about what it is about to each island...and you should know and respect that.
u playin up in yuh ass now.. if u can't comprehend that 'i want all islands to be equally represented' then i can't help u. I'm done trying to explain things to u.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:10 AM   #157 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 20,925
Originally Posted by the official wiadca website
About UsThe West Indian-American Day Carnival Association (WIADCA) has been the driving force behind the West Indian Carnival Parade, more popularly known as the "Labor Day Parade." WIADCA is a not-for-profit, tax exempt organization which was established in 1967. The main focus of this organization is to develop, teach and promote Caribbean arts and culture in the New York Metropolitan Area
non for profit tax exempt also meaning your pockets must be well fat wid $$$ for you and your crew. You say the main purpose is to promote caribbean arts and culture in the NY area, ok cool but can you also explain the reason under the WIADCA direction why the parade no longer is televised? or the fact that your limitations to have people wear certain shirts or costumes to be behind a truck is effectively not going to work due to other people that are not caribbean related and would do anything to not follow the rules of the parade, or have you ever taking into consideration to MOVE the parade to a more decent location? I mean non-for profit organizations do have that right no? Also have you notice that not much people are attending the event in troves anymore? Why? is that? I had more respect for your organization in the 90's where CIVILIZED people can enjoy themselves but as an organization that is hosting this event, you all DO have the power to make this thing BETTER. Because if you look around more than a hand full of people including ppl on this site do not have POSITIVE REVIEWS of the event. So what are the plans of your organization to fix this problem? In all i think your organization need to start looking at other venues to host this event for which the location of this event is no longer safe as it use to for ppl CHILDREN, and others. Do you also take into consideration that the event passes a couple of bad areas that of course will attract negative people? WHat happened really from the 90s to now, what changed? i think the only person who can best explain is you. So non- for profit or for profit, regardless the situations that have occurred will continue and the event will continue to suffer as it have for years and personally speaking, i believe that the event should be hold at another location to keep the hoodlums at bay in there own community area.

I'm good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gf1zzbC90uI

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:10 AM   #158 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 18,597
who would be jumping behind those 3 haitian music trucks???
in haitian minds, there is no need to display creativity though costumes
and what npt. I think the best thing would be to have like you mentionned, a set of "on the road" rules that each island who wants to be represented on the parway, must follow. If not, no parkway for them... If you guys really wants to get rid of the haitians, enforce a costume rule.

don't get me wrong, i certainly understand the safety concerns. I never been to NYC much less on the parkway, but i have a good idea of what the place must look like if you have Michel Martelli on a truck. It will never look like what any WI has in mind.

Soraya
"Haitains do not equate carnival with pretty costumes, so they would not have a mas band. does that mean they would not be allowed on the parkway?

or That the Haitains bands would play and the WI masquareders would come and jump on non soca music?"

what?? lemme see if i understand what u are asking. If pretty Mas is not a part of Haitian culture then so what. they can have 3 island representing trucks. Every other island carnival is about pretty mas and having fun, not running crazy like wild bulls. And 'Pretty Mas' was the originial point of carnival in NYC. To display the creativity with the costumes and such, not the wildness you are seeing today.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:13 AM   #159 (permalink)
whatating

Credits: 3,079
1st
i'm wondering how many ppl on this board are actually members of WIADCA or even volunteers? It's easy to say what should be done from the outside looking in but for ppl who are in the know KNOW it ain easy planning these events.

2nd
I've been to only one Labor Day and I probably won't go again just because of the logistics. Too many ppl, too congested, 'herded cow' feeling.

I agree their should be a limit on what bands/djs are reppin which country. At the sametime, the committee may have to step in and say where they should be lined up in the parade. I'm on the outside so I have no idea how this is done, if it's a draw from the box type a thing and preferential treatment based on pull and money.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:14 AM   #160 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
non for profit tax exempt also meaning your pockets must be well fat wid $$$ for you and your crew. You say the main purpose is to promote caribbean arts and culture in the NY area, ok cool but can you also explain the reason under the WIADCA direction why the parade no longer is televised? or the fact that your limitations to have people wear certain shirts or costumes to be behind a truck is effectively not going to work due to other people that are not caribbean related and would do anything to not follow the rules of the parade, or have you ever taking into consideration to MOVE the parade to a more decent location? I mean non-for profit organizations do have that right no? Also have you notice that not much people are attending the event in troves anymore? Why? is that? I had more respect for your organization in the 90's where CIVILIZED people can enjoy themselves but as an organization that is hosting this event, you all DO have the power to make this thing BETTER. Because if you look around more than a hand full of people including ppl on this site do not have POSITIVE REVIEWS of the event. So what are the plans of your organization to fix this problem? In all i think your organization need to start looking at other venues to host this event for which the location of this event is no longer safe as it use to for ppl CHILDREN, and others. Do you also take into consideration that the event passes a couple of bad areas that of course will attract negative people? WHat happened really from the 90s to now, what changed? i think the only person who can best explain is you. So non- for profit or for profit, regardless the situations that have occurred will continue and the event will continue to suffer as it have for years and personally speaking, i believe that the event should be hold at another location to keep the hoodlums at bay in there own community area.
bago i respect u!! but wherever they decide to move that thing 2!! lets hope its not to long island!!! but what about the city? and where is the haitian day parade held?
Old 09-02-2008, 11:15 AM   #161 (permalink)

u playin up in yuh ass now.. if u can't comprehend that 'i want all islands to be equally represented' then i can't help u. I'm done trying to explain things to u.
i was correcting you on your definition of Carnival, not your equal representation.

You are the one that doesn't understand that Carnival has many different interpretations...and what you probably saw and are vex at is 'carnival' for Haitians.

For Haitians carnival has more pushing....and for you to say,"Carnival is about jump up and you know this"...that like a Haitian saying,"Carnival is about Pushing, and you know this".
Old 09-02-2008, 11:18 AM   #162 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 18,597
I think that this is a good idea, but i can actually hear the complains coming
because there are no way that mas players will out-numbered non mas players in NYC. unless all and i say all the mas lovers in NYC, Canada and wherever, register and display their costumes on labor day.

so to me the key thing is about people who like to see pretty mas, to go and wear a costume.

On a side note, do you think that people would be less upset, if the same number of haitians who were on the parkway were all in a mas costume????

Old 09-02-2008, 11:19 AM   #163 (permalink)
whatating

Credits: 3,079
With the amount of WI ppl in NYC and the years this event has been put on, it should have had enough money to lease land somewhere to build something. It's entirely to big for that parkway for real.

DC is another place with that damn Baneker Park that is entirely to small to accommodate the amount of ppl.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:20 AM   #164 (permalink)
Freedom

Originally Posted by soraya View Post
who would be jumping behind those 3 haitian music trucks???
in haitian minds, there is no need to display creativity though costumes
and what npt. I think the best thing would be to have like you mentionned, a set of "on the road" rules that each island who wants to be represented on the parway, must follow. If not, no parkway for them... If you guys really wants to get rid of the haitians, enforce a costume rule.

don't get me wrong, i certainly understand the safety concerns. I never been to NYC much less on the parkway, but i have a good idea of what the place must look like if you have Michel Martelli on a truck. It will never look like what any WI has in mind.
are you drunk? yuh need glasses? or u have a hard time comprehending? which one? nobody said we want to get rid of the Haitians so don't come here acting like some victim ok. Read and Comprehend man. If haiti does not want to display costumes they do not have to. They can do what they been doing. Having the haitian trucks with their artistes, wyclef, t-vice etc.
Old 09-02-2008, 11:27 AM   #165 (permalink)
Freedom

i was correcting you on your definition of Carnival, not your equal representation.

You are the one that doesn't understand that Carnival has many different interpretations...and what you probably saw and are vex at is 'carnival' for Haitians.

For Haitians carnival has more pushing....and for you to say,"Carnival is about jump up and you know this"...that like a Haitian saying,"Carnival is about Pushing, and you know this".
Mr, do u need to re read what i said previously? what was the purpose of the labor day parade? not to 'display the culture of the caribbean'? i'm not vex at the hatian display, like i said, at first i was chipping with them.....ahh forget it. I think you are trying to be a pain in my ass rather than understand where i'm coming from.