Old 06-29-2005, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,040
Are We Still The Greatist??

I KNOW I HAVE GONE ON ABOUT THIS IN THE PAST BUT WITH ALL THESE TRINI STYLE CARNIVALS AROUND THE WORLD,
AND TRINI DESIGNERS AND ARTISANS PRODUCEING THE COSTUMES IS TRINIDADS SITILL THE GREATIST ON EARTH?

I MEAN WITH THE FORMULA OF BEADS PLUMES AND BIKINIS FOR THE YEAR I SEE THE OTHER ISLANDS HOT ON TRINI HEELS NORTH AMERICA EUROPE , THE WORLD IS CATCHING UP FAST WITH TRINI,
AND YES IS TRINI'S DOING IT, THIS MIGHT BE THE CASE BUT PEOPLE EH STUPID ......IF I WANT I COULD HIT B'DOS FOR CROP OVER GET A SWEET PACKAGE PLAY MEH MAS AND ENJOY THE COUNTRY AND DOH BOTHER WITH TRINI.
VERY SOON THERE IS NOT MUCH THAT IS GONNA HAVE TRINI CARNIVAL ABOVE THE REST, SOONER THAN YOU THINK OTHER COUNTRIES /AND ISLANDS ARE GONNA PASS TRINIDAD LIKE A FULL BUS GOING NON STOP FROM ARIMA TO PORT OF SPAIN.
Old 06-29-2005, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
SexyTrini

Credits: 136
Exclamation NO body a catch up with Trini

Trini is the best enough said
Old 06-29-2005, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
twins in full gleee

Credits: 323
we will always be the best.. nobody cya touch we...

but i love the different styles the bim put out this year...

i really tink trini needs to get away from some of the beads everyting is beads and some of the look the same every year...

i really tink dats y damit jo won that award because of the lack of beading...

just my 2cents..
Old 06-29-2005, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,717
No fear Neo.. different purpose to these other carnivals so therefore i don't think they surpass Trinidad and the pagentry that it has to offer. I think Trinidad still sets the trend, most of the cropover bands are using trini designers and mas producers which is great, because these guys are getting business year round.
Old 06-29-2005, 11:08 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 41,533
Not only are the other places hiring Trini designers ,it's also the timing of the year...it's one of the best (notice I said ONE OF THE BEST for those who didn't take advantage of R.I.F.) Pre-Lenten celebrations. Not only that other bands are on the rise for those people who want something different than the F+B=M formula. Skandalus have a couple of sections that are non F+B=M and Revellers have a good combo for everyone which is why they are the band to beat. So I'm not ready to plan a funeral mass for Trini Carnival by any stretch.

Old 06-29-2005, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,211
Neo Carnival has turned into a cookie cutter fomular because of all the money involved. Everything including the fetes names are duplicated to like the 12 power around the world. The days of creativity and originality are long gone. It is much easier to sit and wait for folks to do something then copy it with no shame/accountability. It will soon back fire because a lot of the stuff will all get played out very soon by all the wrong people and everybody is going to look bad in the end.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 06-29-2005, 12:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309
Originally Posted by shandy
Not only are the other places hiring Trini designers ,it's also the timing of the year...it's one of the best (notice I said ONE OF THE BEST for those who didn't take advantage of R.I.F.) Pre-Lenten celebrations. Not only that other bands are on the rise for those people who want something different than the F+B=M formula. Skandalus have a couple of sections that are non F+B=M and Revellers have a good combo for everyone which is why they are the band to beat. So I'm not ready to plan a funeral mass for Trini Carnival by any stretch.
you gonna bring funeral mas for 2k6...
Old 06-29-2005, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,040
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
Neo Carnival has turned into a cookie cutter fomular because of all the money involved. Everything including the fetes names are duplicated to like the 12 power around the world. The days of creativity and originality are long gone. It is much easier to sit and wait for folks to do something then copy it with no shame/accountability. It will soon back fire because a lot of the stuff will all get played out very soon by all the wrong people and everybody is going to look bad in the end.
HMMM I HEAR YOU BUT THE OTHERS DONT SEEM TO THINK SO.
TRINIS HAVE THE IDEA THAT THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE WORLD NOT GIVEING ANY NOTICE TO THE REST OF THE PACK WHO YEARS AGO SEEMED LIGHTYEARS BEHIND US.............NOW THEY ARE STEPPING ON OUR HEELS......
Old 06-29-2005, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CYPRIANNI
you gonna bring funeral mas for 2k6...
You want to be the coffin?

Old 06-29-2005, 01:05 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 23
Originally Posted by NEO ONE
I KNOW I HAVE GONE ON ABOUT THIS IN THE PAST BUT WITH ALL THESE TRINI STYLE CARNIVALS AROUND THE WORLD,
AND TRINI DESIGNERS AND ARTISANS PRODUCEING THE COSTUMES IS TRINIDADS SITILL THE GREATIST ON EARTH?

I MEAN WITH THE FORMULA OF BEADS PLUMES AND BIKINIS FOR THE YEAR I SEE THE OTHER ISLANDS HOT ON TRINI HEELS NORTH AMERICA EUROPE , THE WORLD IS CATCHING UP FAST WITH TRINI,
AND YES IS TRINI'S DOING IT, THIS MIGHT BE THE CASE BUT PEOPLE EH STUPID ......IF I WANT I COULD HIT B'DOS FOR CROP OVER GET A SWEET PACKAGE PLAY MEH MAS AND ENJOY THE COUNTRY AND DOH BOTHER WITH TRINI.
VERY SOON THERE IS NOT MUCH THAT IS GONNA HAVE TRINI CARNIVAL ABOVE THE REST, SOONER THAN YOU THINK OTHER COUNTRIES /AND ISLANDS ARE GONNA PASS TRINIDAD LIKE A FULL BUS GOING NON STOP FROM ARIMA TO PORT OF SPAIN.

Having experienced mas in different parts, like Barbados, Grenada, St.Lucia, St.Vincent and several North America ones and ofcourse Trinidad...other than the fetes and pretty costumes in Trinidad, the ONE thing that sets it higher than the rest is that the WHOLE island ( or so it seems ) is involved/in love with the Carnival festivity. Trinidad has it hands down. Their is an all around fun-loving party vibe standard that Trinidad has all on it's own. While the other regions share the spirit, they are not on the same scale as Trinidad. As long as I can...I ain missing TnT mas fuh nuttin.
Old 06-29-2005, 01:05 PM   #11 (permalink)

TRINIS HAVE THE IDEA THAT THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE WORLD NOT GIVEING ANY NOTICE TO THE REST OF THE PACK WHO YEARS AGO SEEMED LIGHTYEARS BEHIND US.............NOW THEY ARE STEPPING ON OUR HEELS......
Allyuh not seeing the forest for the trees. You don't see bands like Skandalus(to a small extent), Revellers and McFarlane gaining popularity. It's only a matter of time when the other bands see the deal and provide a few sections catering to people who don't want the F+B=M.

As for the fetes, I mean how creative can you be for a fete. True some people are copying the same concepts but I feel the fetes are handled better in Trini than NY. But to give Trini the benefit of the doubt they have some pretty good concepts for fetes.

Old 06-29-2005, 01:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309
Originally Posted by shandy
You want to be the coffin?

Old 06-29-2005, 01:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Oh please some folks just don't give a rats ass about culture and some are just playing the chupid role because bottom line it is all about money and fame for some. So you just go along and play the chupid role with them. Giving them just enough rope to hang themselves in the end.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 06-29-2005 at 02:03 PM..
Old 06-29-2005, 03:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,308
Originally Posted by saucybaby38
Having experienced mas in different parts, like Barbados, Grenada, St.Lucia, St.Vincent and several North America ones and ofcourse Trinidad...other than the fetes and pretty costumes in Trinidad, the ONE thing that sets it higher than the rest is that the WHOLE island ( or so it seems ) is involved/in love with the Carnival festivity. Trinidad has it hands down. Their is an all around fun-loving party vibe standard that Trinidad has all on it's own. While the other regions share the spirit, they are not on the same scale as Trinidad. As long as I can...I ain missing TnT mas fuh nuttin.

Saucybaby38 ;

Excellent observation, you are on point. I am in agreement with that. While in Miami a few years back... I was asking where is the carnival located...the answer was " what carnival ? " from more than one person...LOL same issue in St. Thomas & Jamaica.

Looking from the outside, I don't think that the Trinis should be concern with costumes, fetes, etc. and other islands or countries coping them...there is always someone or something that can better your best, when you have money, greed, and commercialization involved, what really counts is the " Love Of It " or what is really in your heart...and clearly like how the songs goes... " they can't beat we yet " sums up the T&T plight to stay on top.

Last edited by socapineman; 06-29-2005 at 11:49 PM..
Old 06-29-2005, 06:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by socapineman
Saucybaby38 ;

Excellent observation, you are on point. I am in agreement with there. While in Miami a few years back... I was asking where is the carnival located...the answer was " what carnival ? " from more than one person...LOL same issue in St. Thomas & Jamaica.

Looking from the outside, I don't thing that the Trinis should be concern with costumes, fetes, etc. and other islands or countries coping them...there is always someone or something that can better your best, when you have money, greed, and commercialization involved, what really counts is the " Love Of It " or what is really in your heart...and clearly like how the songs goes... " they can't beat we yet " sums up the T&T plight to stay on top.