Old 02-21-2008, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 14,072
Two TRIBES for 2009

Taken from Saucy's Blog

What are your thoughts on this post from the blog?

Which big band had an after Carnival meeting and saw one of the founding members storm out saying that they were parting ways for 2009? If this is true, I wonder if they are taking the band's name as well, seeing as the name is a brand unto itself!!

And, the talk is all about the split in TRIBE!! Or should I say alleged split in TRIBE.. on one hand I am hearing that some sections will be "running away" to form their own band, but the little piece of info the bird whispered to me since last year was that changes are in the works, when pressed for more information on if there will be TWO bands, I was told there can only be ONE TRIBE!!

So, now a twist in the story is that there WILL be two TRIBE's, one all-inclusive, the other not and two different sets of costumes!! Now if this is true can you imagine the two band H.O.s can now be H.O.ing in two different costumes of the same TRIBAL family!!!! Anyway, I think I will stick to my "original" TRIBE, band splitting OR NOT.

I tell you Carnival 2008 slowly fading from memory and the Carnival 2009 bacchanal NOW start!!

If there was an all inclusive and a non-all inclusive option which would choose and why?
Based on TRIBES image where they claim to offer the "ultimate Carnival experience" Do you feel they will be able to offer this if the entire band is not all inclusive.
What would they cut back on for the masqueraders in the non-all inclusive sections. Would you receive less security?, poorer quality service with costume pick up?, would you automatically be playing your mas at the back of the band?, would you not receive medical attention in as timely a manner because your section was not all inclusive? Would the DJ's be poorer quality?
Or would the only "convenience" taken away be the lunch stop, drinks, and bathroom service?
Talk your talk :polling
Old 02-21-2008, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 76
I heard about this while I was in T&T. Basically, they anticipate that Tribe will be to large in 2009 to enter into competition. This is because of a rule that was put in place by the carnival committee a few years ago to limit the size of the bands so that they would move more quickly accross the stage. Poison was the first band affected by this rule and they split into 2 bands a few years ago in order to enter the competition.
Old 02-21-2008, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
D!ck Wellington

Credits: 402
Originally Posted by Soca-masta View Post
I heard about this while I was in T&T. Basically, they anticipate that Tribe will be to large in 2009 to enter into competition. This is because of a rule that was put in place by the carnival committee a few years ago to limit the size of the bands so that they would move more quickly accross the stage. Poison was the first band affected by this rule and they split into 2 bands a few years ago in order to enter the competition.
I'll be in whatever part has the ALL INCLUSIVE!!
Old 02-21-2008, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 701
So Lana finally get fed up ah being marginalized?

Lol...
Old 02-22-2008, 07:15 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 14,072
Taken from Saucy's blog

Yep, according to the e-mail received by Saucy. If in the non-all inclusive section, you paying for costume only. So no security, and medical assistance, pee pee truck and cool zone for your tail, you on your own yes!!
So its running behind bushes to pee, don't have an incident where something you ate doh agree with your stomach.... I mean will Kes an his perty self be the entertainment in the all inclusive section while in the non all inclusive section you you will have to settle for Shrek and the all stars?
The e-mail says nothing about splitting into two bands to be small enough for competition...hehe

If you read Saucytrini's blog today, you may be wondering whether members of TRIBE are going their separate ways ... whether the band is splitting into two ... etc.

The situation is as follows:

For Carnival 2009, TRIBE will be offering masqueraders two options: an all-inclusive option and a non-inclusive option:

ALL-INCLUSIVE OPTION: Masqueraders will receive everything that they have been receiving since the band's inception: costume, drinks, food, etc.

NON-INCLUSIVE OPTION: Masqueraders will pay for costume only. However, costumes will be different from costumes provided in all-inclusive option and masqueraders will receive different colored wristbands. Masqueraders will also have the option of renting carts, where you (and your friends) will be responsible for supplying your cart with your own drinks (and food). Of course, costumes offered through this option will be less expensive than those offered in the all-inclusive option.

If this really comes to pass it is an EXCELLLENT business move by TRIBE. The waiting list for people wanting a costume was ridiculous this year, so what better way to not only make masqueraders who were left out happy but those who complain about not wanting all the “extras” and about the price can have more choice now.

On the positive side, I am hoping that this would mean the band is not as large as this year, but of course I can also foresee TRIBE 1 (original TRIBE) jacking up prices as you can always get a costume in TRIBE 2 for cheaper. TRIBE 2 sounds like it can work very well since Harts is a non-all inclusive band and was the only other band to sell out along with TRIBE. Once costumes are priced competitively, TRIBE can posie themselves to have a monopoly on Carnival! Ah the critics will have a field day!!

Anyway, as long as Super Mo Mo stays with TRIBE 1 that’s where I will be since I do enjoy my all-inclusive package and I lover her costumes. I can make a suggestion of which designers/section leaders can high tail it over to TRIBE 2 but I am thinking the smart move would be to still have the TRIBE trio,Gail, Lana and Monique design for BOTH bands!

I tell allyuh, I love Carnival, I love the bacchanal!!!!!

p.s. The Band I was referring to in the first paragraph of my "gossip" post yeaterday is NOT TRIBE... I think that is a BIG enough hint right there!
Posted by saucydiva at 5:15 AM 0 comments

Last edited by YardiePrincess; 02-22-2008 at 07:17 AM..
Old 02-22-2008, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 41,533
well well well. I will be in Tribe 1 either way.

But it looks like a good move on thier part.

Old 02-22-2008, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
BACK TO PEEPING FOR GOOD!

Credits: 547
TRIBE 1 all the way baby.
Old 02-22-2008, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 8,195
"For Carnival 2009, TRIBE will be offering masqueraders two options: an all-inclusive option and a non-inclusive option"

i dunno nah, this sounding like it will end up like Poision maybe not who knows
Old 02-22-2008, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 232
what a mess, if IP came up with that idea....oh god they would have IP to hang.
Old 02-22-2008, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
So Lana finally get fed up ah being marginalized?

Lol...
who is that? i am new to this
Old 02-22-2008, 12:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Eyes of the Emperial Lion

Credits: 908
Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
"For Carnival 2009, TRIBE will be offering masqueraders two options: an all-inclusive option and a non-inclusive option"

i dunno nah, this sounding like it will end up like Poision maybe not who knows

I know for one thing I will be in the all-inclusive section come next year. I'm sorry I can't be pulling no cart like some type of vagrant collecting bottles in front of Cro-Bar. I want to be drunk like this year coming home on carnival Monday eating and sleeping at the same time from the amount of rum and vodka I drank throughout the day.
Old 02-22-2008, 12:11 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 15,503
GREAT idea.........I hope IP doesnt follow dis disaster plan since they made a good impression on me this year.........Tribe in D Air
Old 02-22-2008, 12:11 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 34,886
Sounds like a band in turmoil
Old 02-22-2008, 12:17 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 15,503
Originally Posted by MoNi View Post
I know for one thing I will be in the all-inclusive section come next year. I'm sorry I can't be pulling no cart like some type of vagrant collecting bottles in front of Cro-Bar. I want to be drunk like this year coming home on carnival Monday eating and sleeping at the same time from the amount of rum and vodka I drank throughout the day.
pure genius.....brilliant.....people could hire a vagrant fuh Monday and Tuesday to pull dey cart.......Tribe could screen and hire dese vagrants......dat could be an option fuh say......an extra $300 tt.......Tribe In D Air
Old 02-22-2008, 12:18 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
GREAT idea.........I hope IP doesnt follow dis disaster plan since they made a good impression on me this year.........Tribe in D Air
ok what are the pros and cons of this idea, any one can answer.