Old 01-29-2007, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,867
Trinidad Carnival Trivia

Let's play a game. One question at a time. The person with the right answer gets to come up with the next question but if they can't think of one they can pass to someone else. Question can be about the history/origins of carnival and carnival traditions, bands, designers, pan whatever as long as its carnival related.

First question...

What event provoked the ppl of Trinidad so much as to cause man, woman and child to beat the local police so badly that scared policemen took off their uniforms and ran. What year did this happen?

*hint..this event caused the governor of Trinidad to make a famous speech in which he said "...I did not know you attached such importance to your masquerade..".
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-29-2007, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 34,866
Old 01-30-2007, 08:46 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,036
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Let's play a game. One question at a time. The person with the right answer gets to come up with the next question but if they can't think of one they can pass to someone else. Question can be about the history/origins of carnival and carnival traditions, bands, designers, pan whatever as long as its carnival related.

First question...

What event provoked the ppl of Trinidad so much as to cause man, woman and child to beat the local police so badly that scared policemen took off their uniforms and ran. What year did this happen?

*hint..this event caused the governor of Trinidad to make a famous speech in which he said "...I did not know you attached such importance to your masquerade..".
THE CANBOULAY RIOTS OF1881?
Old 01-30-2007, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,294
I have a strong feeling that NEO go be the only one replying to these questions
Old 01-30-2007, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 396
Yes that is correct that was the main one, although they used to have small clashes in the past. This is where our 2 day carnival and J'Ouvert that we know begins. During this period up to the early 1900's many masques were banned and outlawed by the Crown Government. In the past Carnival was much longer, begining right after Boxing Day, martial law was proclaimed and extra troops stationed. The firing of a cannon from Fort San Andreas signaled the beginning of carnival and martial law on the colony.

Neo, gald to see you back, where yuh went? I should not talk either, is months I have been away from here too.

So we waiting for de next question?
Old 01-30-2007, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)

Of course Neo & Brian are correct. I didn't know I'd be playing with the resident experts Lemme make sure I come correct

Next question:

What are the differences between these three mas characters?

Pierrot

Pierrot Grenade

Pays Roi
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-30-2007, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BrianW View Post
Yes that is correct that was the main one, although they used to have small clashes in the past. This is where our 2 day carnival and J'Ouvert that we know begins. During this period up to the early 1900's many masques were banned and outlawed by the Crown Government. In the past Carnival was much longer, begining right after Boxing Day, martial law was proclaimed and extra troops stationed. The firing of a cannon from Fort San Andreas signaled the beginning of carnival and martial law on the colony.

Neo, gald to see you back, where yuh went? I should not talk either, is months I have been away from here too.

So we waiting for de next question?
busy dred with school work.

Question

Band of the Year Titles
1957 Back to Africa
1959 Relics of Egypt
1960 Ye Saga of Merrie England
1961 Byzantine Glory
1962 Somewhere in New Guinea
1969 Bright Africa
WHO'S TRACK RECORD IS THIS.?
Old 01-30-2007, 10:04 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by NEO ONE View Post
busy dred with school work.

Question

Band of the Year Titles
1957 Back to Africa
1959 Relics of Egypt
1960 Ye Saga of Merrie England
1961 Byzantine Glory
1962 Somewhere in New Guinea
1969 Bright Africa
WHO'S TRACK RECORD IS THIS.?
Oh yea..you did have the next question didn't you

Anyway, the answer is George Bailey..I only know cause I recognize the first two as his.
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-30-2007, 10:11 AM   #9 (permalink)

The Pierrot is often referred to as The Princely Pierrot is a descendent from the French inspired Carnivals before 1834. In those days there was a Pierrot and Pierrotte, French clowns, but all they did was danced. The Pierrot that appeared during the Jamet Carnivals and dissapeared by 1900's was another story; he was a stick-fighter. In 1898 you needed to get a permit from the Commissioner of Police to play Pierrot, which led to his eventual decline. Pierrots did not dance, they fought each other with whips and canes. Each one represented a 'yard' and had rights secured when he defeated an opposing Pierrot. This included terrotity, women and money. But he was more complex than this. The fighting was the end result of a verbal battle involving history, literature, current events etc. When the opposing Pierrot could not answer the question, that is when the whips were put away and the canes came out. The whip was a ceromonial one and the cane for battle. He was lavishly dressed in satin, festoned with little brass bells and wore stockings and lace sleeves. All of which will soon be covered in blood. They had certain color combinations that related to certain names. He always came with his supportes which would in turn instigate a brawl with sticks, stones and bottles. He had certain gait, a walk and mannerisms attached to the masque. His face was covered by a white wire mesh face mask, he wore a velvet berret and carried a 12-20' cape/train.

The Pierrot Granade is his pooer cousin from Grenada, he did not fight but would do the verbal battle to a lesser extent, he is know for his crafty way in spelling words and interpreting infomatiom in a different way. He wore rags as opposed to satin, and was not as elaborate and lavish as the Pierrot. He was non violent and probably appeared after the Pierrot's decline.

The other one I have not heard of. But it sounds like a corruption of the word "Pierrot".
Old 01-30-2007, 10:14 AM   #10 (permalink)

Here's 2.

Was there ever a yellow Bat? Mind you despite Tribe's Traditional Green Bat, Bats came in black, grey, brown and 1 time, white (more like a dove grey).

What masque were the Midnight Robbers derived from?
Old 01-30-2007, 10:14 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Oh yea..you did have the next question didn't you

Anyway, the answer is George Bailey..I only know cause I recognize the first two as his.
CORRECT IS RIGHT.

I WISH THE OTHER CC EXPERTS WOULD COME AND PLAY.
I LEAVING THAT QUESTION YOU DROP FOR BRIAN RIGHT NOW CAUSE THAT 3RD ONE I DONT KNOW ABOUT.
GIVE MEH LIL HINT NAH IS HE A DEVIL
YUH HAVE TO PAY?
Old 01-30-2007, 10:19 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BrianW View Post
The Pierrot is often referred to as The Princely Pierrot is a descendent from the French inspired Carnivals before 1834. In those days there was a Pierrot and Pierrotte, French clowns, but all they did was danced. The Pierrot that appeared during the Jamet Carnivals and dissapeared by 1900's was another story; he was a stick-fighter. In 1898 you needed to get a permit from the Commissioner of Police to play Pierrot, which led to his eventual decline. Pierrots did not dance, they fought each other with whips and canes. Each one represented a 'yard' and had rights secured when he defeated an opposing Pierrot. This included terrotity, women and money. But he was more complex than this. The fighting was the end result of a verbal battle involving history, literature, current events etc. When the opposing Pierrot could not answer the question, that is when the whips were put away and the canes came out. The whip was a ceromonial one and the cane for battle. He was lavishly dressed in satin, festoned with little brass bells and wore stockings and lace sleeves. All of which will soon be covered in blood. They had certain color combinations that related to certain names. He always came with his supportes which would in turn instigate a brawl with sticks, stones and bottles. He had certain gait, a walk and mannerisms attached to the masque. His face was covered by a white wire mesh face mask, he wore a velvet berret and carried a 12-20' cape/train.

The Pierrot Granade is his pooer cousin from Grenada, he did not fight but would do the verbal battle to a lesser extent, he is know for his crafty way in spelling words and interpreting infomatiom in a different way. He wore rags as opposed to satin, and was not as elaborate and lavish as the Pierrot. He was non violent and probably appeared after the Pierrot's decline.

The other one I have not heard of. But it sounds like a corruption of the word "Pierrot".
The Pays Roi was around from 1880 to 1915. It was another mas that combined the french clowns with the Yoruba egungun masquerade. He used long multisyllable words like the Pierrot and dressed like a king with a long train carried by "pages" (these were actually jammettes from the same yard/territory). He'd use his long words to describe the punishment he would inflict on his adversaries and when two of them met it would lead to a bloody fight.
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-30-2007, 10:21 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by NEO ONE View Post
CORRECT IS RIGHT.

I WISH THE OTHER CC EXPERTS WOULD COME AND PLAY.
I LEAVING THAT QUESTION YOU DROP FOR BRIAN RIGHT NOW CAUSE THAT 3RD ONE I DONT KNOW ABOUT.
GIVE MEH LIL HINT NAH IS HE A DEVIL
YUH HAVE TO PAY?
I answered it above. You or Brian have the next question.

Yea seems like we're the only ones playing and I know for a fact there a lots of carnival experts in here.
-Brother Valentino
Old 01-30-2007, 10:24 AM   #14 (permalink)

Interesting, never knew such a character existed. They very brave to play Pierrot after 1898 as that was jail if they catch yuh. That same train they used to wrap around one arm to act as a sheild to absorb the cane blows. Under the berret was usually an iron pot or helmet.
Old 01-30-2007, 10:29 AM   #15 (permalink)

Next question:
What masque were the Midnight Robbers derived from?