Old 09-06-2008, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Trinidad carnival question

I always hear that Trini carnival is not "spectator-friendly". What do people mean when they say that. My mommy wants to go with maybe one of her friends (Indo-Guyanese lady). They are NOT playing mas- even with an old timer's band. Foot problems.

Will they still have a good time?
Old 09-06-2008, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

It is spectator friendly................but you will regret for the rest of your life going T&T and watching people play mas
Old 09-07-2008, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
It is spectator friendly................but you will regret for the rest of your life going T&T and watching people play mas
Is mih mummy. I wouldn't go to TnT to watch.
Old 09-07-2008, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by jamaicangirl View Post
how ole yuh mother is?
Old 09-07-2008, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

She'll be fine. My mommy does watch on Tuesday and chip along with the band and have a ball. But she plays with starlift on Monday.
Old 09-07-2008, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
She'll be fine. My mommy does watch on Tuesday and chip along with the band and have a ball. But she plays with starlift on Monday.
she gonna be playing with chinks!!
BTW spectators will be fine!! we masqueradors are here to put on a show for them!!!
p.s. if she chip on the side and she know somebody in the band she can get free drinks!!
Old 09-07-2008, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Amanza Awatu!

Originally Posted by ms_socadiva View Post
she gonna be playing with chinks!!BTW spectators will be fine!! we masqueradors are here to put on a show for them!!!
p.s. if she chip on the side and she know somebody in the band she can get free drinks!!

Old 09-07-2008, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Location: Dominican Republic and puerto rico.. dem gyal sweet
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post

if yuh gone prison and yuh i hear i got your woman we just frens
Old 09-08-2008, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
how ole yuh mother is?
She reach in her 50s ahreaddy but is not dat. She looks 40 and is a party animal at heart. Not to mention soca head.

She have problems with her foot. If it wasn't for that she would be playing mas (conservatively dressed) in every carnival in the world.

Her Indian Guyanese friend, however, is another story....
Old 09-16-2008, 11:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
December Baby

I always hear that Trini carnival is not "spectator-friendly". What do people mean when they say that. My mommy wants to go with maybe one of her friends (Indo-Guyanese lady). They are NOT playing mas- even with an old timer's band. Foot problems.

Who say that wrong and don't know what they saying, Labour Day in New York is not spectator friendly
Old 09-16-2008, 11:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Well I took my mother in 2007 and she had a lot of fun. She didn't play Mas but we did attend a lot of events
Old 09-17-2008, 07:11 AM   #12 (permalink)

tell mommy to invest in one of them small carry chairs so when she foot hurt her she can unfold and sit down on the side ofthe road.

Or tell her to go in the stands they have set up on the side of the roads.

She would have to reach down early to insure she get a seat in one.
Old 09-17-2008, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Paradise!

She reach in her 50s ahreaddy but is not dat. She looks 40 and is a party animal at heart. Not to mention soca head.

She have problems with her foot. If it wasn't for that she would be playing mas (conservatively dressed) in every carnival in the world.

Her Indian Guyanese friend, however, is another story....
She could always find a vagrant to give she a real hard wine...
Old 09-20-2008, 11:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Originally Posted by Professor Abughani View Post
She could always find a vagrant to give she a real hard wine...

Old 09-20-2008, 11:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Originally Posted by cseemungal View Post
Who say that wrong and don't know what they saying, Labour Day in New York is not spectator friendly

What I thought they meant is that for something like Labor Day- you don't necessarily feel the urge to participate. You happy to eat and sit on the side and watch the madness. I think that I would have less fun playing Brooklyn mas than I do as a spectator.

And is plenty people I hear say that TnT carnival is not spectator-friendly. But, good to know that it isn't really true.