Old 05-01-2009, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,246
Trinidad Carnival lodging

Okay...I need some help. I've booked my ticket for Carnival 2K10...and I'm taking a couple people with me. Where to stay? Can anyone refer some nice, reasonable gesthouses or hotels?

I have one possible place, but I need other places to compare the price to it.

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-01-2009, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 15,797
depends where you plan on going to and what you wanna do
I'm between Hyatt and the Hilton (where I stayed this year) for 2010- as long as the price isn't ridiculous post-rennovations
both of these places can be affordable if you are splitting the cost with travel companions
Old 05-01-2009, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 25,162
Jack Warner's hotel in St Augustine is real reasonable, right on Eastern Main Rd, priority is one block down, maxis stop right in front. Better than Hilton or Marriott if you have a crew imo, 3 bedroom/2bathroom apt w/ washer/dryer and I hear they have a couple 5 bedrooms though I've never seen those. PrincezDiva could give you more info on them.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 05-01-2009, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Boooooooom

Credits: 73,711
Good Thread
Old 05-01-2009, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by soca control View Post
depends where you plan on going to and what you wanna do
I'm between Hyatt and the Hilton (where I stayed this year) for 2010- as long as the price isn't ridiculous post-rennovations
both of these places can be affordable if you are splitting the cost with travel companions
Getting transportation isn't usually a problem...I have lots of friends who drive, and maxis work for non-fete related events...but at the same token, I not trying to stay way out in de east...dat traffic grates mih nerves tuh get into town!

Hyatt booked for the dates that I put in...Feb 10 - Feb 19.

The possibility that i have is lady in Woodbrook who rents her rooms...AC, private bathrooms, gazeebo out back, wirless internet, access to a telephone for local calls...it's $180/per night per room...up to four people in a room...

It sounds great to me, but I have nothing to compare the price to...
Old 05-01-2009, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Jack Warner's hotel in St Augustine is real reasonable, right on Eastern Main Rd, priority is one block down, maxis stop right in front. Better than Hilton or Marriott if you have a crew imo, 3 bedroom/2bathroom apt w/ washer/dryer and I hear they have a couple 5 bedrooms though I've never seen those. PrincezDiva could give you more info on them.
What's reasonable? ...but St Augustine is a bit of a drive...

I'll PM her for more info.
Old 05-01-2009, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 8,625
In my opinion there is a Hotel down the block from the Hilton i remember seeing. It's right across the Savannah and i believe it's affordable with way better rates than the hilton. If your sharing a room and want luxury, i'd suggest the Hyatt. The Hotel is new just like the crowne plaza. None of the hotels are booked out yet, they just don't release the rate early. If you call the hotel directly you can reserve the room; if you go directly on the site it might say unavailable. You can then try priceline or another third partner traveling site. The hilton will probably run you around 300 per night and on carnival Monday and Tuesday 400. Not to mention the Hyatts 450 price tag on Carnival days. My friend said it's very nice; right by the water and the rooms are very nice. In my opinion 450 a night is very steep. Every hotel jacks the price up on the day of the Carnival. In my opinion i prefer safety and protection of my property over guesthouses. I've stayed at the Hilton and it's very close to the Savannah, the only downside is that the Hotel is located on a hill. If you like working your legs out then this is the place to stay. That hill is a killer.......Good luck
Old 05-01-2009, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by triniprincess76 View Post
What's reasonable? ...but St Augustine is a bit of a drive...

I'll PM her for more info.
I stayed there w/ some friends part of my time down there in '07. 5 of us for 7 days and the total came to barely over 2K..less than what we were going to pay for 2 rooms at the Marriott. Took us less than 20 min to get to city gate from there in a maxi, less of course in car.
-Brother Valentino
Old 05-01-2009, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
I stayed there w/ some friends part of my time down there in '07. 5 of us for 7 days and the total came to barely over 2K..less than what we were going to pay for 2 rooms at the Marriott. Took us less than 20 min to get to city gate from there in a maxi, less of course in car.
So dat worked out to be about $400 for the 7 days, and ours working out to be $405 for 9 days...de Woodbrook ting looking more and more like it...
Old 05-01-2009, 06:55 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by triniprincess76 View Post
So dat worked out to be about $400 for the 7 days, and ours working out to be $405 for 9 days...de Woodbrook ting looking more and more like it...
If that's the case yea since you can be more central. We didn't really want a guesthouse because we wanted complete privacy and hotel amenities unless it was a whole house we were getting to rent. Otherwise I could just stake out a room at the fam's house
-Brother Valentino