islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree14Likes

Old 02-22-2012, 10:10 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 1,497
Originally Posted by Soca_Loving_Trini View Post
Umm u guess wrong the heads of the band declined to cross but the masqueraders eh know what going on. Imagine people only found out they were'nt crossing when their friends texted them lol. The band had no decency to make an announcement....
SMH. That's a mess! I was wondering why they didn't take the chance to cross after being allowed to! *steups*
I would be highly upset to find out from texts that I wasn't crossing that stage. Maybe they wanted to avoid a riot, lol.
Old 02-22-2012, 10:12 AM   #17 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Well I made sure to storm and crossed the stage a couple times and we took a lot of pictures.LOL
LOL at storming! I hear that girl, lol.
But, um ... pics or it didn't happen, hee hee.
Pebbles362436 likes this.
Old 02-22-2012, 10:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Carnival Is We Time

Credits: 52,444
Wink

Originally Posted by brooklynbabe View Post
LOL at storming! I hear that girl, lol.
But, um ... pics or it didn't happen, hee hee.
Yeah gyal we was busy storming Yuma and IP on stage in our Tribe costume's. I was not trying to be only profiling my pretty costume in dutty nasty St. James all day.lol Destra, Bunji and Faye Ann showing off her crazy abs again.lol Security could not catch me and put me out atall.lol Tribe had a lot of vibes and kept moving and the de Savannah was bottle neck again.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

If Iwer can storm Yuma music trucks then some of us just decided to storm Yuma, IP, Fantasy and Bliss.lol

Old 02-22-2012, 10:59 AM   #19 (permalink)

LOL!
Yes gyal! Cause the whole Tribe mess was just that "a mess"!
I'm glad you got to cross the stage after all!
I heard that some "Tribe Bliss" folks went across with Island people so the storming was everywhere... hee hee
Old 02-22-2012, 11:23 AM   #20 (permalink)
IMIX BACCHANALIST

Credits: 463,031
Peebles glad you got to storm the stage and had fun...great photos thanks

...Fayanne's abs are sick!!

Affairs of the heart
Together we've grown
If ever apart
All I want you to know
Is your love is life changing
And I couldn't be the same without you dahling
Your love is life saving
you always catch me when I fall

www.urbandingolay.com

Old 02-22-2012, 06:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Rebellicious

Credits: 145,797

TRIBE Carnival
The Tribal Spirit will not be broken!

Dear Masqueraders,

TRIBE sincerely thanks you for your continued patronage of the band for Carnival 2012. Remember TRIBE is your band and every decision made is in the best interest of you - Our Masquerader!

The TRIBE team expresses its sincerest apologies to you, our masqueraders, who may have felt your Carnival experience was compromised with the band being prevented by the Officials from crossing the Savannah stage. The Savannah stage incident was unintentional and certainly regrettable. Rest assured TRIBE will be working with all the major stakeholders to ensure that this will never occur in the future.

Our masqueraders are our first and foremost important stakeholder and despite incomplete and inaccurate reports, we wish to advise you of the facts surrounding the band not crossing the Savannah stage before we respond to any other stakeholder.

THE FACTS

On Carnival Tuesday morning the band left its start point en route to the official route when it encountered several other bands, which were now assembling on the official route (Abercrombie St.). Assembling on the Official Route is a violation of the rules outlined by the NCBA. Due to the fact that the official route was blocked by such bands that were not even moving but now assembling, the TRIBE Road Management team took a decision to make a detour (to Frederick St.) in order to keep the band flowing and to move the tail of the band out of the way of other bands. This action resulted in the officials choosing to penalise TRIBE for not sticking to the official route despite the fact that several other bands who also flouted the rules were allowed to access the Stage. However, TRIBE does acknowledge and take responsibility for deviating for the official route.

Later on in the day, the TRIBE team was informed of the reversal of the decision preventing the band from entering the Savannah, but the Road Management team could not at that point take the band back to the Savannah for what would have been a lengthy wait.

Please be assured that TRIBE made every effort to gain entry to the Savannah Stage for our masqueraders within a time frame that would have been safe and minimised the wait. Enduring a 4 hr wait with all the 'unsafe' incidents that usually take place during this period was not an option for our masqueraders.

RAT RACE & CARNIVAL BAND GRIDLOCK

This is a time for change, a time to improve and re-structure the management of our Trinidad Carnival. This incident highlights a major problem that Parade and Road Management teams struggle with every year - the fact that there is a "rat race" to the Savannah Stage every Carnival Tuesday morning, with several bands flouting the rules and assembling on the Official Parade Route creating a Carnival Band Gridlock! The problem is growing with the increased number of new bands, all trying to start as close to the Stage as possible. This massive convergence of bands in and around the Stage is a most serious concern for the Parade management and a huge disadvantage to those bands that start at their designated Start point (TRIBE Started on Stanmore Ave.).

TRIBE's Management wishes to assure you that we will continue to work towards creating the Ultimate Carnival Experience for you - the Ultimate Masquerader. We also wish to thank you for rallying with us despite the disappointment of not crossing the stage and transforming it into one of the greatest street parties throughout the streets of Port-of-Spain!

The TRIBE team thanks our wonderful masqueraders and the many members of the media (foreign and local) who left the Savannah stage to come to capture the Spirit of TRIBE on the road, a Spirit that will never be broken!

TRIBE

Still...The Ultimate Carnival Experience

F@(k U, you, uuu, & YOU! *middlefinger*

Old 02-22-2012, 10:20 PM   #22 (permalink)
IMIX BACCHANALIST

Credits: 463,031
damn Fay!

Audree and Daveed like this.

Affairs of the heart
Together we've grown
If ever apart
All I want you to know
Is your love is life changing
And I couldn't be the same without you dahling
Your love is life saving
you always catch me when I fall

www.urbandingolay.com

Old 02-22-2012, 11:57 PM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 14,125
Nice pictures Pebbles, I'm sure a great time was had by all.

``We celebrate not for money.....but for happiness. Our carnaval is a street carnaval for everyone....not just for those with money`` - Carlinhos Brown

Old 02-23-2012, 10:18 AM   #24 (permalink)

Credits: 9,317,457
Tribe explains off-route decision
'We are sorry'
By Carla Bridglal

Story Created: Feb 23, 2012 at 1:52 AM ECT

THE Carnival band Tribe went off route up Frederick Street, Port of Spain, on Carnival Tuesday because of congestion faced by the band, leader Dean Ackin said yesterday.

"Tribe acknowledges that we did not follow the route, but this was only because there were bands blocking the way and our road managers had to make a spur-of-the-moment decision. For the past years we would come off Stanmore Avenue and make our way to Park Street and then up to the Savannah. The bands were told that we were not allowed to go across Park Street this year and we were told that we could access the route from Duke Street. But when we went across Duke Street there were bands blocking the way because they were waiting on members and so our road managers took the band one block higher and came on to Frederick Street. The only reason we ended up stopping by the prison was because the authorities stopped us. If not we would have gotten on to the barber green and crossed the stage," Ackin said.

The band apologised for not crossing the Savannah stage and said in a statement on its Facebook page: "The Savannah stage incident was unintentional and certainly regrettable. Rest assured Tribe will be working with all the major stakeholders to ensure that this will never occur in the future."

The band also called for a restructuring of the management of Carnival to improve and prevent incidents such as these from happening again.

"There is a 'rat-race' to the Savannah stage every Carnival Tuesday morning creating a gridlock... This massive convergence in and around the Stage is a serious concern for the Parade management and a huge disadvantage to those bands that start at their designated starting point," the release said.

But responding to reports that the band had been disqualified because of its actions National Carnival Bands Association (NCBA) president David Lopez said this was not so.

"Tribe registered to enter the competition, but you have to pass three out of the four judging points (to be eligible for placement). Since they started, the most Tribe has ever done is two. Tribe disqualified themselves," said Lopez.

He said the NCBA understood this was how Tribe usually operated, and as such, were in discussions, with the band and security forces to allow the band to cross the stage. He said the there was much discussion before Carnival to decide the route and nobody had any reason to assemble or go up Frederick Street, and when the band started to get too near the prison, security personnel had to intervene.

"The decision was to allow Tribe to continue around the Savannah in order to cross the stage. The band indicated they wanted to cross the stage after lunch, and we said that was not a problem. They decided they were going to head up Cipriani Boulevard, so they could not enter the Savannah."

He said the issue was not Tribe, and the NCBA cannot ban any band from playing Carnival, but the Association did try to develop a route for non-competitive bands, so they would not be on the same route as competitive bands. He added that while everyone kept highlighting Tribe — who were registered to compete, and still allowed to cross the stage even after going off route — the NCBA also allowed Spice to cross the stage even though they were not registered to compete.

—with reporting by Wayne Bowman
Old 02-23-2012, 10:34 AM   #25 (permalink)
Carnival Is We Time

Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Nice pictures Pebbles, I'm sure a great time was had by all.
Hey hun I know you would have also had a lot of fun in Tribe because they had really beautiful and serious Icandy in the band. It was like a mini Brazil thongs everywhere.

The Tribe snow cone men were the BEST. They kept the Vodka and rum snow cones flowin so by 11AM Tuesday morning. My head was already gone with those snow cones.lol So some of my Tribe pics are out of focus.lol

Anyway, I'm about 50% recovered now from the carnival madness. So here are some better pics of Yuma crossing the stage when some of us decided to storm them.lol

Daniel looked great in her Yuma individual costume.

This section also looked good on stage. Yuma's Angry Birds section was huge made a very nice impact on stage.

This was my pick of a WOW costume in Yuma this year. It was blinged out and can be very pretty on IF its on the correct WOW body type chicks.lol

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 02-23-2012 at 11:09 AM..
Old 02-23-2012, 11:15 AM   #26 (permalink)
Carnival Is We Time

Tribe crew just had serious vibes on the road. I felt very bad for people who's pretty backpacks just got mashup with Tribe chipping on the pavement/walls/road etc. I know I would been very annoyed as a costume designer watching my costumes just fall apart on the road.

Special shout out to Back to Basic waving his BIG ASS PYF on Tribe's music truck.lol He represented for NY and played very well in Tribe in Trinidad. He was mad hyped. Here they are with Anya ontop the music truck.LOL I chopped off B2B head tho.

Beenie man chilling @ Lara's.
Destra, Bunji, Fay Ann, Kes and Machel were all in Tribe also on Tuesday.

Daveed likes this.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 03-01-2012 at 01:04 PM..
Old 02-23-2012, 12:22 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 555,286
National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy told the Express there were no major incidents and law enforcement was doing an excellent job.

On the Tribe controversy, Sandy said it is the spectators of mas and masqueraders who lose out. He said everyone at the Grand Stand was looking forward to seeing Tribe because of its popularity. "We cannot have Carnival without a little bacchanal," said Sandy.

Sandy, Sport Minister Anil Roberts, Oropouche West Member of Parliament Stacy Roopnarine, Couva North MP Ramona Ramdial and Cumuto/Manzanilla MP Collin Partap were among the Tribe masqueraders yesterday.
AS the nat'l sec. min. that's really his soundbyte.... what a joker.

and to the tribe statement ... whatever

Old 02-26-2012, 12:45 AM   #28 (permalink)

Credits: 136,232
Beenie was everywhere there was to be i see! I caught him in Scorch!

"Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad

Old 03-01-2012, 01:03 PM   #29 (permalink)
Carnival Is We Time

Tribe was most likely the largest mas band in Trinidad for carnival. They felt like they had over 7k people in the band. The roads were not wide enough in Trinidad to hold all those people. At certain times Tribe had and felt like I was back in Poison again.lol

Link to more carnival pics from Wyatt gallery.

Facebook
This one of my many favorite's road chipping songs in Tribe.

Daveed likes this.
Old 03-01-2012, 02:43 PM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 757
Boy leavin IP to jump in Tribe for a bit on Tuesday? Worse decision ever... dat had no vibes at allll... unnu stoosh like whoa... YIKES!