Old 02-25-2007, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 579
Thumbs down Tribe On De Road

right i only jus reach back in england but i been holdin some proper vex talk until now!!!!!

i will start with the high points
played jouvert with yellow devils which was off the hook had a blasssttttt!!!
monday mas with tribe was cool everything ran smooth only the shuttle buses that were no where near enough to cope with the amount of lat comers.

now carnival tues!!!

after being told to be there at 7:30am prompt to move off me and my peeps arrived at 7:15 to find the band eventually moving off at 8:15am after pulse 8 and island people passing us we finally got on de road to what started off as madness security hustling 1000s of masqueraders down the sides of the trucks like cattle.

after hittin the first road the band gradually opened out and we were allowed behind the sound trucks we were havin a ball fancy indian section was definatly wild and wassy!!!! this all ended once we hit downtown judging after crossing that stage area trucks 1-6 vanished leaving roughly 7-8 sections with truck 7 and 2 pee pee trucks now for me this is totally not what i paid for all drinks truck security vanished leaving a few 1000 masqueraders alone downtown to fend for ourselfs!!!
anyway moving on after walking for like 2 hours we finally located the band which decided to park up on semore street where we started initially to be told we would not be crossing the savannah area and to walk to the park where we will be served lunch bare in mind this is jackson smith park another 45 min walk in the hot sun no music! no drinks! no security! after gettin to the park and consuming sub standard luke warm food that had been sittin since 1pm by this point its 2:45pm anyway after this the trucks finally met us up again at nearly 4pm so we thought ok lets make the most of whats left so we headed back on the road only to be man handeld by over eager sucurity protecting the trucks and told to go down the sides again at this point masqueraders were outside the ropes and the band began to take a route into st james which was not billed in the brochure given by tribe me and my people began to feel unsafe and by 6:30pm decided to head home cos it was not gettin any better.

i know this seems a bit of a waffle but hey its how it went!

if anyone says they had a ball wit TRIBE!! they LYING!! TRIBE was a big waste of money and to say they providing the ultra all inclusive experience i would hat to see what its like if they did un inclusive trinidad carnival would be lucky to see me again let alone TRIBE
Old 02-25-2007, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 9,236
WELL I AINT LYING BABES... I HAD A BALL FROM THE BEGINNING TO END!!!! FIREMANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!
Old 02-25-2007, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 485
Tribe was ......! Jab Molassie was the section (after I had to put some fine touches to my costume)!! However, you do raise some points that did disturb me, I didn't think I was the only one thinking it, rather what I thought was "look at how TRIBE treating the same people that would be with them next year, LOL" and simultaneously wondering if TRIBE management was thinking the same thing... "They coming back next year cause WE ARE TRIBE and everybody want to play wid we"

But it was too much thinking so I drink meh warm orchard and had to take back the sour rice they serve we at the "lunch point"
Old 02-25-2007, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

WELL I GUESS ITS IP FOR ALLYUH NEXT YEAR
Old 02-25-2007, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by designingDARYL View Post
Tribe was ......! Jab Molassie was the section (after I had to put some fine touches to my costume)!! However, you do raise some points that did disturb me, I didn't think I was the only one thinking it, rather what I thought was "look at how TRIBE treating the same people that would be with them next year, LOL" and simultaneously wondering if TRIBE management was thinking the same thing... "They coming back next year cause WE ARE TRIBE and everybody want to play wid we"

But it was too much thinking so I drink meh warm orchard and had to take back the sour rice they serve we at the "lunch point"
well all i can say is good luck to them cos them last 7-8 sections if they get back half them people they left to fend for them self they be lucky but i know tribe think they can rely on name to make them but people make them and will break them i give them 3 years to go bankrupt
Old 02-25-2007, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
IP??? are u mad they jus as bad from what i heared they only manage to pass one stage if i ever go back and play mas it will be macfarlane all the way fack the all inclusive ultra shite
Old 02-25-2007, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)

I don't really choose bands rather, I choose experiences as I am trying to compare which of the bands that I would like my designs to really be "parried" to, I would say that TRIBE had less managerial inconsistencies that IP had, TRIBE's execution of costume management was flawless, and I know that many of my IP mas players can say that they had an experience going to collect their costume, one that TRIBE players did not have. However on the road, as it cannot be predicted as much as costume collection, especially with the removal of the stage and new parade routes had most Carnival bands in a state of shock. So all in all I will have to throw a dice next year, or see who comes at me with the best offer... Most likely, the willingness to pay exorbitant prices for costumes will no doubt tell me which way I should be heading for Carnival next year...
Old 02-25-2007, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by masquerade2k View Post
well all i can say is good luck to them cos them last 7-8 sections if they get back half them people they left to fend for them self they be lucky but i know tribe think they can rely on name to make them but people make them and will break them i give them 3 years to go bankrupt
S
WELL HONESTLY ....I WAS IN SECTION 7 AND AFTER WRE CROSSED I WAS WONDERING WHERE THE HELL THE OTHER SECTIONS DISAPPEARED 2
Old 02-25-2007, 11:11 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,631
Originally Posted by masquerade2k View Post
IP??? are u mad they jus as bad from what i heared they only manage to pass one stage if i ever go back and play mas it will be macfarlane all the way fack the all inclusive ultra shite
My aunt would totally disagree... cause all now she cussin bout macfarlane.. and the fact that she got her costume monday mornin ...hahah..

Everybody has their problems!!!
Old 02-25-2007, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Livin' life in High Def..

Credits: 149
I don't really choose bands rather, I choose experiences as I am trying to compare which of the bands that I would like my designs to really be "parried" to, I would say that TRIBE had less managerial inconsistencies that IP had, TRIBE's execution of costume management was flawless, and I know that many of my IP mas players can say that they had an experience going to collect their costume, one that TRIBE players did not have. However on the road, as it cannot be predicted as much as costume collection, especially with the removal of the stage and new parade routes had most Carnival bands in a state of shock. So all in all I will have to throw a dice next year, or see who comes at me with the best offer... Most likely, the willingness to pay exorbitant prices for costumes will no doubt tell me which way I should be heading for Carnival next year...

*sigh* Did I ever. 5 fackin hours, D. Count them---five!!!!

I was completely beside myself. There was no music playing to distract they angry masses, til near the end. AND no one even decided that we might actually be thirsty or hungry til about 3 hours into the whole ordeal. Tsk tsk tsk.

That's all I will say
Old 02-25-2007, 11:36 AM   #11 (permalink)

It pays to know people LOL

Originally Posted by westndnbeauty View Post
*sigh* Did I ever. 5 fackin hours, D. Count them---five!!!!

I was completely beside myself. There was no music playing to distract they angry masses, til near the end. AND no one even decided that we might actually be thirsty or hungry til about 3 hours into the whole ordeal. Tsk tsk tsk.

That's all I will say
While I am sure that at TRIBE people were waiting as well, I know they were properly shaded (TENT), hydrated (Complimentary Blue Waters) and seated (chairs provided). However while the seats filled up quickly, nothing beats coming to TRIBE and getting your costume delivered to you if you don't want to wait if yuh playing Frontline or something like that, they aslo had a very stringent costume pick-up service that many people thought were second to none. However, let me re-iterate that while their costume execution was handled extremely professionally, their road performance did need the same attention.
Old 02-25-2007, 11:48 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 4,517
Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
My aunt would totally disagree... cause all now she cussin bout macfarlane.. and the fact that she got her costume monday mornin ...hahah..

Everybody has their problems!!!
Thank you!! Every band had something TRUST ME... my friend is just telling me about her experience with Trini Revellers... I ent have time to complain but enjoy miself!!! *AND TRUST I COULD'VE COMPLAINED...* lol
Old 02-25-2007, 11:51 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 16,214
While I am sure that at TRIBE people were waiting as well, I know they were properly shaded (TENT), hydrated (Complimentary Blue Waters) and seated (chairs provided). However while the seats filled up quickly, nothing beats coming to TRIBE and getting your costume delivered to you if you don't want to wait if yuh playing Frontline or something like that, they aslo had a very stringent costume pick-up service that many people thought were second to none. However, let me re-iterate that while their costume execution was handled extremely professionally, their road performance did need the same attention.
Daryl, you looked fabulous on the road!

Back on topic, at least wunna people in Tribe were shaded and pampered. In IP, niether thier costume distribution or road service was executed professionally at all. There is one thing for people for to experience problems but there is another thing for you to be such a shyte band that many of your masqueraders walking around long face and vex, which was how I saw IP.

Mas2K7, at least wunna had 2 pee pee trucks. Our one truck was so far behind God back, I took to pissing in the road. Let us not mention the lack of rest trucks and things advertised in that little IP booklet that was missing. And while you guys walked to your rest area for lunch. We walked to dry arse Jenny Car Park to sit in the sun and listen to some damn tassa drums with not a snack or water in sight. Big stinking steupse.

Last edited by XtasyReds; 02-25-2007 at 11:55 AM..
Old 02-25-2007, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,425
Mas, I think I was completely oblivious to all dat...

WELL I AINT LYING BABES... I HAD A BALL FROM THE BEGINNING TO END!!!! FIREMANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!
Agreed....

Daryl, wait were u the one coordinating all us Frontliners.....I was superchicken #3
Old 02-25-2007, 11:57 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
Daryl, you looked fabulous on the road!

Back on topic, at least wunna people in Tribe were shaded and pampered. In IP, niether thier costume distribution or road service was executed professionally at all. There is one thing for people for to experience problems but there is another thing for you to be such a shyte band that many of your masqueraders walking around long face and vex, which was how I saw IP.
Thanks - likewise.. I am GLAD that you got your waistband for the section after what you were telling me at Insomnia... I was a bit tired when you saw me and it was funny as I was in IP looking for all meh peeps when I was just telling meh boy like you ain't get your stuff so you probably didn't play and here you come running LOL. So it was good seeing you. Doh feel too bad though you know we going to be in the jam again next year... I have already mentioned to the powers that be that TRIBE need to work on the road next year, but everything at the mas camp was handled well, so I am excited to see what's going to transpire for 2K8, now I have to begin works for Boston for this year and its going to be a LOT OF WORK bringing the experience I want to have on the road this year...