Old 08-27-2004, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,524
Thumbs up Tribe Article in Guardian

Tribal Fantasy: New band for2005

Tribe’s core committee members Monique and Dean Ackin, and Nicole des Vignes, right.

Photo: Anthony Harris

By Donna Pierre

After giving it two years of thought Tribe has decided to part ways with Poison and go on its own as a Carnival band for 2005.

They will be launching Tribal Fantasy on August 28 at the Tribal Village, Chaguaramas, from 10 pm.

Costumes will be displayed at 11 pm.

The Tribal Village is the same location where Caution was held, but Tribe members said a map is drawn on the back of invitations to assist those who didn’t attend Caution.

Tribe is best remembered as having a splendid and huge section in Poison’s Retromania band this year.

Bandleader Dean Ackin said there were about 700 masqueraders in the section.

That’s only 300 short of being a large band.

He said after interviewing numerous masqueraders, and hearing repeated complaints of wanting something new, they took up the challenge.

“They claim that some bands are just too large, or the wait to get to one point from another is too long.

“Security is another issue that keeps coming up,” he added.

His wife, Monique, added, “Masqueraders want more for their money. They don’t want to pay one price and still have to look for food, drinks and security.

She continued, “With Tribe they get food, drinks, security, and they get a good experience. They also get a quality costume.”

Monique summed it up as “putting out a product for the masqueraders that is of the highest quality.”

Ackin said for the same price as most other bands they just wanted to pamper their masqueraders on Carnival Monday and Tuesday.

He said the males’ costumes will be $1,500 and the females about $2,000.

Nicole des Vignes, another committee member, said these were good prices, adding, “you are already paying this price and getting nothing extra, we are giving you food, drinks on both days and other paraphernalia.”

Des Vignes belonged to another section from Poison, Atlantis.

Together with Charlene Lum Wai and Melissa James, Atlantis has been on the road with Poison for five years.

Des Vignes added that another person forming the core committee of Tribe is Poison member for the past 12 years Gail Cabral.

Recognising that all she’s mentioned were two other sections from Poison, Des Vignes added, “We all parted ways with Poison on good terms. They were really good to us when we were there.”

Atlantis carries over 400 members whilst Cabral is about 350.

Once these numbers remain as they are Tribe has already surpass 1,000 members.

In fact Ackin said they were aiming at 4,000 members and 16 sections.

How so?

“We feel we could get that very easily based on the response we’ve had.”

Des Vignes said they have a committee made up of a group of promoters who would also bring members to the band.

There’s also the Red Ants’ J’Ouvert team and three franchised sections being done by Leasel Rovedas, Bridget Pouchet, and Jody Herde and Stacy des Vignes.

Monique said even though there are franchised sections, those members would be treated just as any other Tribe member.

“You could drink and eat from any truck.”

What about the costumes?

Des Vignes said there’ll be the beads and feathers.

“It’s not going to be the same because the majority of the materials come from abroad. We’ve also actually created some of our own appliqués,” she added.

She said they have imported most of their materials from New York, citing cost as the major reason.

Ackin said he wished Tidco or NCC would take up the issue of materials, adding that duties were far too high to purchase the items locally.

But aside from that, Ackin assured that their band will be of a quality product.

Are they competing?

The committee said they would but if the band would be stuck behind another band for hours, they would forgo the competition.

“Mas is not about standing around for hours, it’s about jumping up and having a good time,” Ackin said.

More on Tribe

Tribe’s band-room is located at 20 Rosalino Street, Woodbrook.

Registration follows the launch and people can visit their Web site www.carnivaltribe.com.

There will be djs instead of live bands. Ackin said masqueraders insisted on dj music, but added that they were open to requests for live bands.

DJs include Code 9, Hi Fidelity/Less Than Zero, Rene and George, and Hoppy.

Old 08-27-2004, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 599
Nice Article.

Allyuh obsessed. :p
Old 08-27-2004, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,694
extremely good business sense.. Good Luck to Tribe..

2000 (starting price i assume) for a female costume puts it out the reach of a lot of though.. how about startding at 1700? i know 50 US not a lot to us but 300 TT is a lot for some.
Old 08-27-2004, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 1,700
ok..i'll reserve major comment for now...but all i'll say is ..they have a picture of some of the costumes in Express today....and they look like regular Poison costumes just more red indian type feathers.....

sorry but that's my opinion....
Old 08-27-2004, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 421
Well written article..Cyar wait for Tribes oui!!!
The only thing I ent too in favor of is the no live band scene...to me MAS is Brass. I personally like live music on the road.
Old 08-27-2004, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)

LOOK DE TRIBE COMING
Old 08-27-2004, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)

Saucy I couldn't find the article in the Express online.

I can't wait to see these costumes. I had a good experience with them last year and they only have 16 sections..I won't feel so lost in the crowd. or walk 4 miles and a half to use the pee truck

Old 08-27-2004, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Originally Posted by shandy
Saucy I couldn't find the article in the Express online.

I can't wait to see these costumes. I had a good experience with them last year and they only have 16 sections..I won't feel so lost in the crowd. or walk 4 miles and a half to use the pee truck

it was in the inner pages of the Express..the ones they don't usually put up on the net....I'll see if i get it and scan it for ya!
Old 08-27-2004, 02:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
can u handle me?

here it is..the Tribe costume preview...in today's Trinidad Express
tribe-article-guardian-tribearticle.jpg  
Old 08-27-2004, 02:26 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,694
Originally Posted by saucytrini
you don't play....
Old 08-27-2004, 02:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
you don't play....

hey...is info yuh want..is info yuh get....

Trinibago Carnival 2005 :devil
Old 08-27-2004, 02:47 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saucytrini
OOOH La La ... thanks Saucy.

By the time I get today's express up here the site will probably be up already.

Don't know if I could do that big Indian headpiece again though. :p

Old 08-27-2004, 08:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,207
Wink

Congrats to Dean, Monique, Nicole and the entire Tribe crew. All the best tomorrow with the launch and I know you guys have been working really hard the past couple months. Have fun and make sure that webmaster hurry up and update the website for us already. Don't forget to take lots of pictures for us to see. :)
Old 08-27-2004, 08:25 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 25
Smile

Tribe been doing a great job. Good luck to them.
Old 08-29-2004, 08:45 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 599
So did anybody hear about the launch yet?