Old 08-19-2005, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,769
These TRIBE Posts to long

so i wanted to start my own.........but am i the only one
not too impressed by what I see from the infamous TRIBE thus far?
Old 08-19-2005, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,711
Originally Posted by trini_chic
I think the presentation helps the appeal of the costume....
Old 08-19-2005, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)

Unhappy You're not alone

No, you're not. Other than Angel Fish, I am decidedly underwhelmed by what they came with. I'm trying to get myself together to go to Trinidad for carnival and play mas for the first time in 2k6, and I had thought that Tribe might be a contender until I saw what they had to offer. That, along with the fact that Island Events apparently couldn't get their act together (I adored a couple of their costumes from 2k5) means now I'll have to wait for some other bands to launch to see what makes my heart start to race.

Last edited by Efuntayo01; 08-19-2005 at 01:24 AM..
Old 08-19-2005, 01:16 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 82
Damn, I thought it was only me. I have watched those costumes so many times, trying to see what everybody else is getting excited about, but I can't see it.

I am not feeling TRIBE.
Old 08-19-2005, 03:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
saucywow

yes, allyuh wait to see what other bands have to offer!!Wait to sign up, means less people to contend with at the mas camp
Old 08-19-2005, 05:58 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 78
Not alone at all! I will admit when I first saw the pictures I liked about 3, but the more I've studied them I am finding lots of 'on the road' faults. At the moment the only one still sticking in my mind is Vineyard, but of course we haven't seen the prices yet. I'll probably have to sell my body in one of them skimpy ass costumes just to be able to afford them!

Come on Harts, hurry up and impress me!
Old 08-19-2005, 07:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
saucywow

Ok, I am not affiliated with TRIBE or anything, but how many ways allyuh really think they could make a bikini and headpiece look different? To me all costumes are basically the same, even island people,allyuh think they coming with anything REAL spectacular?

Last year in Poison and Harts some of the costumes were even bought straight from necklmans, now where is the wow factor in that? I like that TRIBE looking a lil different with the headpieces and the fabric and ting.But now, mas is more than the costumes, is about the package.

This year I played with Poison, had a real good time Monday but hear nah, I didn't like not having a lunch stop or finding a toilet on the road when I wanted to pee, in addition to playing mas on Only CHARLOTTE street on Tuesday.

I accustom with Harts,crossing stage early,stopping for lunch,wee wee truck and ting, but they don't have all inclusive and the cart is 400.00 this year for food and drinks for ONE person (add that to yuh costume price).Plus it was time for a change from Harts, the band was getting boring.

As for islandpeople, every new band has to go through the teething stage, 2k6 go be their teething stage.They partes doh always run the smoothest and is plenty people involved so I waiting to see what happen with them before I put meh money dey.

So, for me TRIBE is it, I like they package, I feel that 2k6 they willi ron out whatever lil problems they had this year on the road and the costumes may not be like "wow" but they still nice.

Like ah say before, more people waiting to see what island people bringing the better for people who want to sign up with Tribe. Last year my friend was waiting for islandevents, and was very disappointed, ended up not getting the costume she really wanted in Poison cause she waited too long.
Old 08-19-2005, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 19,796

Here nah saucy..please stop trying to sell these people on Tribe ...I agree with dem...Tribe ent all that...dey should wait in trute...yuh never know...somebody could come with a new mas invention...I say WAI allyuh...WAIT WAIT and WAIT some more...DO NOT make a final decision until all the bands have launched so yuh could be absolutley sure of yuh choice

Originally Posted by saucywow
Ok, I am not affiliated with TRIBE or anything, but how many ways allyuh really think they could make a bikini and headpiece look different? To me all costumes are basically the same, even island people,allyuh think they coming with anything REAL spectacular?

Last year in Poison and Harts some of the costumes were even bought straight from necklmans, now where is the wow factor in that? I like that TRIBE looking a lil different with the headpieces and the fabric and ting.But now, mas is more than the costumes, is about the package.

This year I played with Poison, had a real good time Monday but hear nah, I didn't like not having a lunch stop or finding a toilet on the road when I wanted to pee, in addition to playing mas on Only CHARLOTTE street on Tuesday.

I accustom with Harts,crossing stage early,stopping for lunch,wee wee truck and ting, but they don't have all inclusive and the cart is 400.00 this year for food and drinks for ONE person (add that to yuh costume price).Plus it was time for a change from Harts, the band was getting boring.

As for islandpeople, every new band has to go through the teething stage, 2k6 go be their teething stage.They partes doh always run the smoothest and is plenty people involved so I waiting to see what happen with them before I put meh money dey.

So, for me TRIBE is it, I like they package, I feel that 2k6 they willi ron out whatever lil problems they had this year on the road and the costumes may not be like "wow" but they still nice.

Like ah say before, more people waiting to see what island people bringing the better for people who want to sign up with Tribe. Last year my friend was waiting for islandevents, and was very disappointed, ended up not getting the costume she really wanted in Poison cause she waited too long.
Old 08-19-2005, 08:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
saucywow

Old 08-19-2005, 08:57 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,971
I"m really tired hearing about Tribe already. They have nice costumes but I"m not blown away by them. I think they're presentation and photography really added to the overall look of the mas.
Old 08-19-2005, 09:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Trinilicious

Credits: 147
I agree, I'm not blown away
Old 08-19-2005, 09:19 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 41,531
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
Here nah saucy..please stop trying to sell these people on Tribe ...I agree with dem...Tribe ent all that...dey should wait in trute...yuh never know...somebody could come with a new mas invention...I say WAI allyuh...WAIT WAIT and WAIT some more...DO NOT make a final decision until all the bands have launched so yuh could be absolutley sure of yuh choice
Well Said!

Less people to contend with you for Tribe costume of choice eh?

Old 08-19-2005, 09:28 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 41,531
Hey everyone is entitled thier opinion. You're not blown away by the costumes...OK, you don't find tribe is all that fine.

We are excited because we know what to expect and we experienced them already, costume, package and all. Like Saucy said....how many ways can you decorate a swimsuit.

The same way Tribe had thier growing pains, I.P. will have thiers and I'm sure Poison and other bands had theirs. As for Harts, they've been around since the Spaniards handed Trinidad over to the British so no need to mention them.

If one is excited about Island People, Legacy, Harts or Poison then they also have a legit excuse to be.

carry on.

I'm going to be in Tribe.

Old 08-19-2005, 09:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309
Originally Posted by shandy
Hey everyone is entitled thier opinion. You're not blown away by the costumes...OK, you don't find tribe is all that fine.

We are excited because we know what to expect and we experienced them already, costume, package and all. Like Saucy said....how many ways can you decorate a swimsuit.

The same way Tribe had thier growing pains, I.P. will have thiers and I'm sure Poison and other bands had theirs. As for Harts, they've been around since the Spaniards handed Trinidad over to the British so no need to mention them.

If one is excited about Island People, Legacy, Harts or Poison then they also have a legit excuse to be.

carry on.

I'm going to be in Tribe.
Old 08-19-2005, 10:13 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 352
For as much as I love Tribe and all that they have done last year in their intial launch, I will not be returning to play with them 2k6 in trinidad.

While I must say, their costumes for women are very nice, I find the mens costumes rather boring I.M.O. Now I know some may say like someone re-itereated earlier there is only but so many ways you can re-invent mas costumes, the mens costumes for Tribe last year was Fiyah...Specially that Archean Oddessy

Nevertheless they will sell out and people will still be dying to play, not because of the costume alone but of the experience they provided, which for me was great in 2k5. Unfortunately for me, its a combination of both factors for me in which I feel that I can enjoy my mas (both costume and experience).

Nevertheless, I wish the Tribe staff much sucess for 2K6 and hope see some of you ladies in yuh pretty Tribe costumes on the road.

Piper Out!

Last edited by Roddy_Piper; 08-19-2005 at 10:25 AM..