Old 12-10-2006, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,313
"With these ticket prices, I am not going"

That is what I am hearing alot of people saying that lately. Yet, I see things differently. If it is I have to pay $1000 to reach Trini and when I get there only go 2 fetes and look for free limes everywhere else to save money..I will. Once I am in Trinidad and could afford to play meh mas, I will cut corners ANYWHERE else. No Tobago, no shopping spree before I go, no excessive mas accessories (shoes, makeup, crystals, eyelashes, etc)..I will be too glad to be in Trinidad!!

But, that is just my viewpoint...which catergory do u fall into and why?
Old 12-10-2006, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 56,876
Trinidad or Bust

Seriously, nothing keeping me from reaching C2K7. However, if it were that I couldn't go and do/have all the things I want, I wouldnt' both because I'd just be mad. If I'm just gonna go and enjoy Trinidad, I would go in the summer or something, not during carnival season.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-10-2006, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,769
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Trinidad or Bust

Seriously, nothing keeping me from reaching C2K7. However, if it were that I couldn't go and do/have all the things I want, I wouldnt' both because I'd just be mad. If I'm just gonna go and enjoy Trinidad, I would go in the summer or something, not during carnival season.
I agree
Old 12-10-2006, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,313
Trinidad or Bust

See that is the thing, I can go Trinidad and find cheaper things to do. Instead of going Lara, I will spend my Sunday liming at Smokey and Bunty. There is always a lime in Trini LOL
Old 12-10-2006, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,119
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
That is what I am hearing alot of people saying that lately. Yet, I see things differently. If it is I have to pay $1000 to reach Trini and when I get there only go 2 fetes and look for free limes everywhere else to save money..I will. Once I am in Trinidad and could afford to play meh mas, I will cut corners ANYWHERE else. No Tobago, no shopping spree before I go, no excessive mas accessories (shoes, makeup, crystals, eyelashes, etc)..I will be too glad to be in Trinidad!!

yeah but den yuh bad tawk ppl who "dose" not look up tuh standard on de road. (general statement) but im all fuh getting there any way yuh can
Old 12-10-2006, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,427
Lord gyal....Island Soul still have a few seats out of New York:

$697 13FEB-22 FEB
$757 16FEB-21FEB

This price includes taxes!
Old 12-10-2006, 10:40 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 6,727
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post

I fall into the 'prices of everything are seriously turning me off of carnival' category.

I wouldn't have minded paying the money if I felt like I am getting something extra but it is becoming harder for me to justify paying $500 for a costume that is becoming skimpier and money on fetes with less and less performers every year. If there was something added then yeah, but it seems to me that this year it is just pure greed by everyone. I've even held out hope that the carnival bug will hit me but it doh seem to be coming, so I will stay home or find myself in somebody else country somewhere.
Old 12-10-2006, 11:17 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 14,073
Originally Posted by Nisha7 View Post
Lord gyal....Island Soul still have a few seats out of New York:

$697 13FEB-22 FEB
$757 16FEB-21FEB

This price includes taxes!
i would have jumped on the $697 but tax was not included...so i waitin...probably in vain...its hard cause it dont tell u if its nonstop or if i go see di whole caribbean before i reach. the dates i really want showing on bwee for $1225..... dat ish lef mi speechless
Old 12-11-2006, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,427
Originally Posted by trinifever View Post
i would have jumped on the $697 but tax was not included...so i waitin...probably in vain...its hard cause it dont tell u if its nonstop or if i go see di whole caribbean before i reach. the dates i really want showing on bwee for $1225..... dat ish lef mi speechless
Hello? I said the taxes were included

Itinerary (on American):

13FEB T*JFKMIA HK10 1200N 305P
13FEB T MIAPOS*HK10 410P 840P
22FEB Q*POSMIA HK10 330P 640P
22FEB Q MIAJFK*HK10 930P 1220A 23FEB

I seriously doubt you finding anything non-stop at this point, considering only a few flights were doing non stop to begin with.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:25 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 9,238
OK,.........I FEEL A LITTLE BETTER i JUST GOT MY TKT FOR 630
NONSTOP
Old 12-11-2006, 12:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
AKA Dimeout

Credits: 993
Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
NONSTOP
what are the dates? which airlines
Old 12-11-2006, 01:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,769
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
I fall into the 'prices of everything are seriously turning me off of carnival' category.

I wouldn't have minded paying the money if I felt like I am getting something extra but it is becoming harder for me to justify paying $500 for a costume that is becoming skimpier and money on fetes with less and less performers every year. If there was something added then yeah, but it seems to me that this year it is just pure greed by everyone. I've even held out hope that the carnival bug will hit me but it doh seem to be coming, so I will stay home or find myself in somebody else country somewhere.
I agree with getting your monies worth. Pure greed...it is because of the economy. It was not chosen to be this way but it was a must. To keep up and make a profit, prices had to be increased. Masqueraders are feeling the pinch, imagine the bandleaders, the promoters-they still want to create an experience you will not 4get.

My opinion-as an individual you must be willing to know the max you will spend. You got to draw the line (which I did). I said to myself, I am not paying over $500 for a costume (and I didnt) I am not paying over $700 for my flight and I didnt. Guess what? If I am not there for Carnival 2007; it will definitely go on because people will be supporting their culture no matter what.
Old 12-11-2006, 01:47 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 15,664
If they trying to bleed my pockets im sure it go have some small promoter who hungry and go have a good party somwhere. Im always one to go all out when in Trinidad, but within sensibility and reason.
Old 12-11-2006, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 56,876
Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
NONSTOP
Who you book with and what are your dates?
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-11-2006, 02:27 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 9,238
Who you book with and what are your dates?

carribean airways from the 12 to ash wednesday..nonstop

@@@it was from a hook up@@@@@