Old 07-27-2004, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,041
Question T-shirt Bands

T Shirt Bands
In London There Is A Growing Amount Of T-shirt Bands On The Street For Carnival Ive Also Seen The Same Thing In Other Parts Of The Uk Ive Been Too.
Is There Such A Trend Growing In The Us?
And If So What Do You Imixers Think About It?
Old 07-27-2004, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,723
Originally Posted by NEO ONE
T Shirt Bands
In London There Is A Growing Amount Of T-shirt Bands On The Street For Carnival Ive Also Seen The Same Thing In Other Parts Of The Uk Ive Been Too.

i hate them i think it gives the wrong impression to people don't know anything about what a Caribbean style carnival is. (my personal opinion)

they are not allowed in Miami carnival.... (Thank God)
Old 07-27-2004, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41,536
I don't like them either. It takes away from what the Caribbean style carnival is about. It's a growing thing in Brooklyn, so much so I had people from other islands tell me they stopped going to the Labor Day parade because there are too many people jumping up in t-shirts and not enough costume bands to look at.

Old 07-27-2004, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
i hate them i think it gives the wrong impression to people don't know anything about what a Caribbean style carnival is. (my personal opinion)

I agree 100% they are completely unnecessary & have no place in carnival what the fack is their point? I hope they get banned in NY
Old 07-27-2004, 10:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309
T Shirt Bands
it just reeks of laziness if you ask me
Old 07-27-2004, 10:18 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje

NOT ALLOWED IN MIAMI THATS COOL,
LIKE I SAID I SEE THIS BEING A GROWING PROBLEM IN THE UK SOME BANDS HAVE T SHIRT SECTIONS LIKE POISONUK (THEY CALL IT FUN MAS SO I GUESS THE OTHER CRAP IS SERIOUS)OTHERS ARE JUST T-SHIRT
[IMG
http://www.poisonuk.com/images/carnival/costumes/funMas/outtaSightsF.jpg[/IMG]
Old 07-27-2004, 10:21 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,108
dem rashole things from poison are fugly...i told them so myself...my cousin is a bit overweight, and she feels more comfortable in t shirt mas, so im all for it.
Old 07-27-2004, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 4,383
During a meeting at WIADCA it was asked how are these bands allowed to participate with T-Shirts only and nothing to celebrate the carnival spirit. A member said that it was a requirement for the bands to bring in thier costumes or drawings to verify that were indeed bring some sort of mas. VP records brought in 5 sections with colorful costumes. ON the the day of the parade they had 5 people in costumes and 500 in T-Shirts
Old 07-27-2004, 10:23 AM   #9 (permalink)

NOT ALLOWED IN MIAMI THATS COOL,
LIKE I SAID I SEE THIS BEING A GROWING PROBLEM IN THE UK SOME BANDS HAVE T SHIRT SECTIONS LIKE POISONUK (THEY CALL IT FUN MAS SO I GUESS THE OTHER CRAP IS SERIOUS)OTHERS ARE JUST T-SHIRT
[IMG
http://www.poisonuk.com/images/carnival/costumes/funMas/outtaSightsF.jpg[/IMG]
"Fun Mas" So people doh have fun in Bikini and beads People can have fun in any type of mas so what shite is that? *Steups*

Old 07-27-2004, 10:25 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Lady Slaughter
dem rashole things from poison are fugly...i told them so myself...my cousin is a bit overweight, and she feels more comfortable in t shirt mas, so im all for it.
They good for "Monday Gear"

The designers need to keep in mind there are full figured people or people who just doh want to have their a$$es out all the time. So why not have at least one or two nice sections that cover a bit.

(Yes, NEO...it's me posting)

Old 07-27-2004, 10:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Originally Posted by Chun Li
During a meeting at WIADCA it was asked how are these bands allowed to participate with T-Shirts only and nothing to celebrate the carnival spirit. A member said that it was a requirement for the bands to bring in thier costumes or drawings to verify that were indeed bring some sort of mas. VP records brought in 5 sections with colorful costumes. ON the the day of the parade they had 5 people in costumes and 500 in T-Shirts

WHA DE F@CK STUPIDNESS IS THAT!!
Old 07-27-2004, 10:29 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy
"Fun Mas" So people doh have fun in Bikini and beads People can have fun in any type of mas so what shite is that? *Steups*
I THINK THEY ALL SHOULD BE PUT IN A BIN I USE TO PUT ALL THE CRAP IN THE FIRE BUT FIRST NOW I WILL......................GEH DEM A LIL TRAMPLE MAKE THAT SHIT AN EXAMPLE GEH DEM ALIL TRAMPLE IF DEY DESIGNS EH AMPLE........... :devil
Old 07-27-2004, 10:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

I THINK THEY ALL SHOULD BE PUT IN A BIN I USE TO PUT ALL THE CRAP IN THE FIRE BUT FIRST NOW I WILL......................GEH DEM A LIL TRAMPLE MAKE THAT SHIT AN EXAMPLE GEH DEM ALIL TRAMPLE IF DEY DESIGNS EH AMPLE........... :devil

Old 07-27-2004, 10:35 AM   #14 (permalink)

BUH EH EH...look certain Carnival Central people spitting out lyrics booooooooiiii.

Old 07-27-2004, 10:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 441
T Shirt Bands

Don't like. :devil