Old 10-15-2007, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,311
Staying with family vs. Staying in a hotel/guesthouse

Originally Posted by AMON
Go to Trinidad and stay in a hotel??? you mad or what?! lol Once you go and experience the family life you can't go by a hotel. It'd never be the same!
I am planning on staying in a hotel in '08, I usually stay with family and while its nice I wanted to try something different. What do you prefer and why?
Old 10-15-2007, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,119
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
I am planning on staying in a hotel in '08, I usually stay with family and while its nice I wanted to try something different. What do you prefer and why?
being on my own! this wey if ah doh feel tuh flex wid yuh..ah doh have tuh, but when ah come by yuh better have food
Old 10-16-2007, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

Credits: 147
Well for me, being as Canadian as hockey and really not knowing the culture it was the best experience to be with family who knew their way around and could lead me to where I wanted to be.
Old 10-16-2007, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,704
my family would disown me if i ever stayed in a hotel or a guest house in trinidad. i love the hospitality. i get pampered and taken care of... cooked food every day, laundry done, a ride wherever i need to go. plus i feel safe and secure staying and traveling with my family. there's nothing like family back home!
Old 10-16-2007, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576
I gave up on family since 1997! This was the first time I went back home since migrating and my uncle wanted my mother and I all for himself. He was upset that my dad wanted to take me around to see his side of the family and even broke down one day and start bawling. I was never so embarassed in my life! Plus everyone wants you to stay with them and if you don't they get offended. But my real problem with family is they expect you to bring down the world for them. And God forbid you give them some $20 sneaker, they making style on it! I stay in an apartment, where it's costing me an arm and a leg, but I have peace of mind. I can make my own moves and have no worries. Last year my family did not even see me until I was ready to leave!
Old 10-16-2007, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
my family would disown me if i ever stayed in a hotel or a guest house in trinidad. i love the hospitality. i get pampered and taken care of... cooked food every day, laundry done, a ride wherever i need to go. plus i feel safe and secure staying and traveling with my family. there's nothing like family back home!
It's true, the pampering was wicked and being invited into the house and accepted was amazing. Anytime we reach them introduce me as their white son lol It was the best experience to be taken to see the country by the country's people.
Old 10-16-2007, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 9,238
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post

Well i love the family hospitality but since I got a taste of hotel life in trini I cant turn back now. I love it!!!!!! The family does be vex but ohhh well. At least I know when I return home I have most of my clothes and ting still with me.....lol
Old 10-16-2007, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,267

+10,0000% multiply that by a million!

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 10-16-2007, 12:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
Well i love the family hospitality but since I got a taste of hotel life in trini I cant turn back now. I love it!!!!!! The family does be vex but ohhh well. At least I know when I return home I have most of my clothes and ting still with me.....lol
So yuh famalee does teef, that aint nice atall! Me, I could leave meh purse skin open and leave out, come back and meet it d same way.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 10-16-2007, 12:23 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 9,238
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
So yuh famalee does teef, that aint nice atall! Me, I could leave meh purse skin open and leave out, come back and meet it d same way.
nahhhh they dont teef but meh cousin does end up taking everything down to meh socks by the time its time for me to fly back..........and guess what a couple of dem is like a size 22....i does wonder how the hell they feel they gonna fit into my size 9" clothing and 8 feet.... lol
Old 10-16-2007, 12:31 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,704
Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
nahhhh they dont teef but meh cousin does end up taking everything down to meh socks by the time its time for me to fly back..........and guess what a couple of dem is like a size 22....i does wonder how the hell they feel they gonna fit into my size 9" clothing and 8 feet.... lol
dais y i does stay wid granny... i eh have to worry about she askin for anything or takin anything. by de time i wake up in de morning she done gone to work, breakfast on de table and lunch already cook. come back home, clothes done wash and dinner ready.
Old 10-16-2007, 12:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

dais y i does stay wid granny... i eh have to worry about she askin for anything or takin anything. by de time i wake up in de morning she done gone to work, breakfast on de table and lunch already cook. come back home, clothes done wash and dinner ready.

Aye, when I by meh famalee, every day is whey yuh feelin tuh eat. As ah call fuh it, yuh see pot bublin on d stove. Ahhhh, THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE HOME!

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 10-16-2007, 12:44 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 152

I luv the pampering and someone to watch mih 4 year old too, hot cook food everyday and just being with my family in one house once a year is like a blessing for me. Watching de little ones becoming big ones. So what if I have to give away some stuff.... to me its a trade off of good family life/ties.
Old 10-16-2007, 01:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,768
Family it is!!!
I enjoy the warmth, loving and belly-full atmosphere. They know its Carnival season so the expectations of seeing me "in the house" is slim. It's funny when they want to invite me over for dinner, they say "before you go fete'ing come by and eat some food" or "you could squeeze in some time for me"

BUT

If I choose to stay in a hotel it will only be a few days leading up to Carnival and after only for the convenience.
Old 10-16-2007, 02:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

It's a good point to make that it depends on where the family is. I stayed in Woodbrook when i came down and we were right off the parade route. Might be different for others.