Old 09-25-2005, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,394
Starlift

Has to be one of the prettiest bands to come down the road Carnival Monday afternoon.
Old 09-25-2005, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self

Credits: 181
Listen

Originally Posted by deoriginalrudeboy
Has to be one of the prettiest bands to come down the road Carnival Monday afternoon.

Listen, who you tellin! My mom, aunt and uncle used to play with Starlift every year when I was young. One time I cried so much cause I couldn't play mas with them. I think my mom may still have the picture.

I grew up in St. James, so it is automatic to go the Starlift pan yard. Especially since my family played for them and it is a real family vibe.

You know we get caught up with the Poison & Tribe and so forth, we forget "we sweet pan" when carnival come around
Old 09-25-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,294
LOL..I loved to watch Starlift. I was always amazed how them was dressed to the tee and yet they seem to never buss a sweat...ALWAYS SHARP! That used to be the pips man, Starlift on Monday and Minshall on Tuesday.
Old 09-25-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self

Oh Gosh!

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva
LOL..I loved to watch Starlift. I was always amazed how them was dressed to the tee and yet they seem to never buss a sweat...ALWAYS SHARP! That used to be the pips man, Starlift on Monday and Minshall on Tuesday.
Now you talking Minshall - mih aunt dances with Noble Douglas and you know she have de front of de band lock down, and cause I was young and couldn't play with de "big people" I used to have mih aunt give me her Minshall costumes after the carnival.

My dream was, and this is no laughing matter, to play queen for Minshall. Maybe one day I'll convince him to make me a costume for King and Queen of Carnival, but to me he is the ULTIMATE MAS MAN!
Old 09-25-2005, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)

Last time my parents played was in 2001 and as someone said previously, the costumes were sharp.
I believe they were around 800-1000 deep.

Starlift Monday and Minshall/Masquerade/Revellers Tuesday.

I rem carnival 1997 around 4 and Starlift was now coming down south quay, the pan sounded so sweet, and people were chippin down de road have a great time. I remember seeing my parents and I left my aunt and cousins and joined up with them, chipping straight up to the Savannah.

It's nothing like chipping down the road to pan beating and iron licking.
Old 09-25-2005, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by butterflybeauty
Listen, who you tellin! My mom, aunt and uncle used to play with Starlift every year when I was young. One time I cried so much cause I couldn't play mas with them. I think my mom may still have the picture.

I grew up in St. James, so it is automatic to go the Starlift pan yard. Especially since my family played for them and it is a real family vibe.

You know we get caught up with the Poison & Tribe and so forth, we forget "we sweet pan" when carnival come around
Guarenteed my father knows them.
Old 09-26-2005, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 192
Have any of you ever played with Starlift or Minshall? What an experience!!! For 2000, I played with Minshall when Black meet White... hear nah it was\chills when yuh see the two did meet after coming out of de hollos in de gardens. What an experience!!
Old 09-26-2005, 10:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Self

Give me the name

Guarenteed my father knows them.

Give me the name and I'll ask my Mom
Old 09-26-2005, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,037
Ask Yuh Mun If She Know's Sheriff Some Know Him As Cactus
Old 09-26-2005, 11:48 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 4,272
Originally Posted by Gingeralwayz
Have any of you ever played with Starlift or Minshall? What an experience!!! For 2000, I played with Minshall when Black meet White... hear nah it was\chills when yuh see the two did meet after coming out of de hollos in de gardens. What an experience!!
My mother played with Minshall for years but I got my first chance to play in '95 when he did Hallelujah in the section called Ring De Bell.
Old 09-26-2005, 12:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Give me the name and I'll ask my Mom
raeburn
Old 09-26-2005, 12:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
I 1 2 B D 1 2 4 Q

Credits: 643

Forget Pan? Yuh MAAAD!!
Old 09-26-2005, 01:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Self

Nick Name

raeburn
I think my Uncle's nick name was Rum n Ice.
Old 09-26-2005, 01:41 PM   #14 (permalink)

I think my Uncle's nick name was Rum n Ice.
they all have nicknames. lol.
ill ask my pops.
Old 09-26-2005, 10:55 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 9,294
Originally Posted by Gingeralwayz

I really wanted to play with M2K that year..I real loved that concept. My dad played in the white half that year and by the time I saw him he was already sprayed with the black paint, he had such a time. That year and the year of HELL was just outstanding.