Old 05-16-2008, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 34,875
Lightbulb So my Mas Band is Going Green...

Hi,

Over the past three years, we at Island People Mas have worked hard to give you a better and better carnival experience each year. In 2009 we will deliver to you the most heavenly carnival ever…

Prepare yourself for HEAVEN on EARTH … it’s what you make it

Island People Mas invites you to join our eco-friendly campaign and to think “green”. Our planet has taken care of us, now it’s our turn to take care of it.

We have taken the initiative to reduce the amount of paper, water, and energy we use to produce our carnival band - including limiting the number of trucks in the band without limiting the services.

We urge you to be eco-friendly in your daily life. Please stay tuned for reminders on how we can all contribute to a “greener” planet earth.

Look out for our Carnival 2009 Band Launch in August.

Thanks!

Island People Mas
Old 05-16-2008, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 1,920
and i think that's great!
Old 05-16-2008, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Nickyan View Post
and i think that's great!
as long as them going Green means cheaper costumes then fine
Old 05-16-2008, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,109
wtf, are they insane??? less trucks means pandemonium at the dayum drink trucks. I doh buy that environment bull (ah support the environment but doh mamaguy meh now!)...It's bad enough it's only one truck to every two section and know they talkin less...sheesh....I miss Poison
Old 05-16-2008, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinizeta View Post
wtf, are they insane??? less trucks means pandemonium at the dayum drink trucks. I doh buy that environment bull (ah support the environment but doh mamaguy meh now!)...It's bad enough it's only one truck to every two section and know they talkin less...sheesh....I miss Poison
I assume they plan on cutting down the music trucks because I know they can't cut down the bar trucks
Old 05-16-2008, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 4,379
they would probably use remote speakers on the drinks and food trucks to supplement.
Old 05-16-2008, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Chun Li View Post
they would probably use remote speakers on the drinks and food trucks to supplement.
I hope not , they have a hard time hearing me now when I order my drink
Old 05-17-2008, 10:13 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 5,899
Thats quite progressive... soca people does be demanding so I ain't know how they gine manage that. Maybe they may make the section numbers smaller?
Old 05-18-2008, 02:16 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 14,228
here's what they goin an do

-no more cups on the road, dey pourin drinks in yuh hand, so cup yuh hands and form a line

-allyuh want water to cool off? sea water in yuh pwefum

-to conserve food, they will be having 50% less food, the rule is "take a bite and pass the spoon"

have fun on de road folks
Old 05-18-2008, 11:55 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 160,110
Originally Posted by Apocalypto View Post
Hi,

Over the past three years, we at Island People Mas have worked hard to give you a better and better carnival experience each year. In 2009 we will deliver to you the most heavenly carnival ever…

Prepare yourself for HEAVEN on EARTH … it’s what you make it

Island People Mas invites you to join our eco-friendly campaign and to think “green”. Our planet has taken care of us, now it’s our turn to take care of it.

We have taken the initiative to reduce the amount of paper, water, and energy we use to produce our carnival band - including limiting the number of trucks in the band without limiting the services.

We urge you to be eco-friendly in your daily life. Please stay tuned for reminders on how we can all contribute to a “greener” planet earth.

Look out for our Carnival 2009 Band Launch in August.

Thanks!

Island People Mas
Originally Posted by sharkie View Post

-no more cups on the road, dey pourin drinks in yuh hand, so cup yuh hands and form a line

-to conserve food, they will be having 50% less food, the rule is "take a bite and pass the spoon"

: dise what I thinkin too...: a bunch of chain up

If they were really serious they would have all their trucks running on gasohol, give them emissions tests before they go on the road, give out one cup you have to reuse, have their food materials be made of biodegradable materials and all the costumes would be made of 100% cotton and hemp....even yuh sandals....no boots and no aerosol spraypaint either!

Bag a nonsense

Old 05-18-2008, 12:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 1,920
Originally Posted by Apocalypto View Post
as long as them going Green means cheaper costumes then fine

i going back to my previous post.

TRIBE in de air!
Old 05-18-2008, 02:24 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 14,070
: dise what I thinkin too...: a bunch of chain up

If they were really serious they would have all their trucks running on gasohol, give them emissions tests before they go on the road, give out one cup you have to reuse, have their food materials be made of biodegradable materials and all the costumes would be made of 100% cotton and hemp....even yuh sandals....no boots and no aerosol spraypaint either!

Bag a nonsense
LOL...
Old 05-19-2008, 02:10 PM   #13 (permalink)