Old 02-25-2007, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,423
So Many Carnivals, So Little Time....

With TNT out of the way and Cropover approaching....I think that I feel to be attending a few more Carnivals this year than usual.....yes it may be the Carnival Tabanca talking, and the invites from the sexy sexy men from around the world, but I definately lookin to expand my carnival repetoire...

Besides those in the states, which I usuallly attend (well at least the ones in the East Coast anyway), whose else should I be tryin to get to.

Any suggestions that dont conflict with Cropover?
Old 02-26-2007, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,626
Originally Posted by Nisha7 View Post
Maybe it's too soon, but Caribana is the weekend following Cropover.
Old 02-26-2007, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 601
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
They are on seperate weekends this year?

Cause if they are Toronto here I come.
Old 02-26-2007, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by zenzele1 View Post

Yeah if I'm correct they usually are, oh by de way with all the Montrealers coming into town de Haitian does be representing big time at Caribana.
Old 02-26-2007, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,423

wuuuuurd?

I wit you....I never been to Caribana, never thought I would go either because of Cropover, if this is true I would definately try to do both....
Old 02-26-2007, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)

wuuuuurd?

I wit you....I never been to Caribana, never thought I would go either because of Cropover, if this is true I would definately try to do both....
I think Caribana's a cheap inexpensive carnival, (excluding cost to get here), depending on who you travel with I think the weekend can be done (fri-mon morning) on about 600-700 CDN, (Hotel, fetes, costume) if you stay downtown, you won't even need a car, which is good because it can get packed downtown that weekend.

You can walk, or cab it to most fetes downtown, they're all within radius.
Old 02-26-2007, 10:36 PM   #7 (permalink)

I think Caribana's a cheap inexpensive carnival, (excluding cost to get here), depending on who you travel with I think the weekend can be done (fri-mon morning) on about 600-700 CDN, (Hotel, fetes, costume) if you stay downtown, you won't even need a car, which is good because it can get packed downtown that weekend.

You can walk, or cab it to most fetes downtown, they're all within radius.
I've been to Caribana a few times and the fetes are usually all over the place.

Der Monger, checked the dates, they are the same weekend.
Old 02-26-2007, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 153,635
go to St.Lucia carnival july 16 and 17.

nuff fetes.

de bands have boat rides down to de south of de island great time to see de pitons.

caribbean soca monarch de sunday night show finish about 4 leave de show and j'ouvert one time!! and you in castires already

Last edited by Dr Insane; 02-26-2007 at 11:57 PM..
Old 02-26-2007, 11:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,305
With TNT out of the way and Cropover approaching....I think that I feel to be attending a few more Carnivals this year than usual.....yes it may be the Carnival Tabanca talking, and the invites from the sexy sexy men from around the world, but I definately lookin to expand my carnival repetoire...

Besides those in the states, which I usuallly attend (well at least the ones in the East Coast anyway), whose else should I be tryin to get to.

Try St. Thomas carnival ( End of April ) very nice, and you won't get extorted, easy to get there, no set of drama.
Old 02-27-2007, 09:32 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Try St. Thomas carnival ( End of April ) very nice, and you won't get extorted, easy to get there, no set of drama.
I just put up a post asking about St. Thomas Carnival. How is it?
Old 02-28-2007, 12:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,305
I just put up a post asking about St. Thomas Carnival. How is it?
I know...some times it is very hard to get an answer to a easy question.

overall it was a lot of fun, I went in 2004 or 2005, I had the most fun at Jouvert , ppl were super nice, the carnival is ok...a like small but the ppl really get on.....worth checking out, for me it was drama free, so I would do it again !