Credits: 5,040
So fellas....
Doesnt play "pretty" mas?
Majority of the bands in nyc were 95% females... wha happen ? From what I understand in all you countries everybody does glitter and feather it up man as well as woman... help me understand. Those that take this as an attack I will say in advance: "Mash" For those that willing to have a discussion about culture Help me(us) understand the mechanics.
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Credits: 34,843
It doesnt have the same vibe as in the Islands. Also 1/2 the women out there was a cheeseburger away
In the Islands its way less than 1/2 ![]() |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,325
nyc is shit.
Azuuucar!
Credits: 57,260
Because our "pretty mas" day is exclusive, meaning if you didn't join ah band, you can't come and jump in d band freely. The men do it to get access to the women and liquior.
So I thought something was wrong in NYC why fellas doh get involved. So its a imix thing against non costumed ppl?
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Super Moderator
Credits: 25,853
So let me get this straight? You want more man in the mas bands?! Think wisely before you answer..
: |
Wastin Time
Le Freak
Credits: 164
i say more then dat shoulda start purging long time...usa fool
I have notice on imix that there are alot of male characters the are in utter disgust of non costumed bands. It wouldnt matter to me if the are more man in the mas bands, just that the general tone of threads concerning carnival in the pretty mas islands suggests the everybody did it but in nyc they shy away from doing it was just wondering whats up with that. Straight enough for you ?
Shouldnt you as an individual be responsible for carrying ur country with you everywhere you go ?
Wastin Time
I yet to see ah male costume with feathers and beads
anywho i eh prettying nutting up in tnt...jus ah shorts and tee. Nyc..the quality of the parkway keeps going down..so you have to know which battles to pick and choose. |
Lights Out..No Hesitation
Credits: 13,179
For me honestly...it's da costumes. Had it not been for the costume they had this yr and this one other costume I seen I'm not sure I would have bother playin unless I was topless
I mean I've always loved the energy and what some call the "beauty" of mas...so I've always wanted to take part...it was just a matter of finding what I like u know....plus I'm a party person so hey. But I can tell u that a lotta young men...especially in dis country...wouldn't take part in this..mayb bcuz of certain stigmas..it's foolish to some. There's a reason y i kinda played by myself with the exception of female company...most homies I know wouldn't put a costume on at all Kinda like goin to a halloween party. The female costumes tend to be more dramatic while the male costumes usually involve just a mask and somethin simple Last edited by Cloud; 09-11-2009 at 05:01 PM.. |
Credits: 14,951
All the years I been playing mas I never look "pretty"............1 year ah wear ah Crocodile on meh head for d first hour.........heterosexual men who playing mas will usually pick a costume based on 2 things..........costume that most females are flocking towards and costume that is most masculine........as for NYC..........I could play for free and still wont.........vibes just not d same.......I played in a jouvert this year for the first time and they tried........it was a safe and decent time and ah MIGHT do it again.........just cant do Eastern Parkway
Credits: 15,567
Like the others have said, for the guys it's mostly about the liquor and te ladies. The whole costume thing is more something women worry about. Mas as a whole is something you won't find a lot of men doing because they find it somewhat feminine. It seems to be less stigmatized among upper class people though.

In the Islands its way less than 1/2 

i say more then dat shoulda start purging long time...usa fool