Wha de crap?!
Credits: 550
Should playing mas be restricted?
With the costumes get skimpier these days, do you guys think persons above a certain size should be restricted from playing mas or at least be provided with a customised version of a costume that hides all the bumps etc.? Would it be discriminating especailly since it takes away from the beauty of a costume?
Case in point |
Catylst Ent. Groupie
Credits: 4,474
They might say people below a certain size should be restricted too...
Though we may not like to see it I don't think they should be... and it depends on how comfortable some people are with their bodies i guess. Some may want customized and others, like those shown, may not. |
Amanza Awatu!
Credits: 2,346
No one should be restricted from doing what they have a right to do.
Credits: 27,136
No.....Carnival is bout FREEDOM.......dem mampies does look beatiful in their own special way.
Jamaican Su'Flan
Credits: 5,227
Credits: 392
some men have a fat fetish
Going home soon...
Credits: 3,147
Is that the same person? Allyuh know my vision is bad, but if so is it really fair to make her the "face" of unattractive mas? which also begs the question of what this post is really about?
To answer the question, all should be able to play mas. It is truly a slippery slope, if you restrict one demographic whose to say that anther wont be next... ugly people, dark people, Chinee people...whatever (just being illustrative here before those who have nothing better to do come into dissect my post) And then who decides the cut off? How fat, how ugly, how black, how pale, how skinny is enough to get you eliminated? Nah, let all we mampie play mas in peace...thank you very much |
Credits: 3,267
Not only should it be restricted....it already is restricted to the only critierium that really counts...and that's whether or not you can afford it. Let them oman play dey mass oui!
I love Richard from Imix
Credits: 5,175
No....it shouldnt.....Carnival is freedom as someone so rightly said.....as long as yuh could afford it..play yuhself...
me...i know if i cross a certain size i nto wearing no two piece...NOWHERE!! Carnival or NOT!! |
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA
Credits: 352
like everyone is saying carnival is about freedom... cuz your big or really small you should be discriminated against.
Wha de crap?!
Credits: 550
I posted this because I've seen the reaction these women get when they are revealed on carnival Monday and Tuesday every year. The looks they get from by standers are those of disgust and shame. I just want an imix point of view on this is all.
Also, you guys say carnival is about freedom but how free should someone be allowed to be? Every year after carinval, there are so many people complaining on radio call in programs about the lewd behavior of those playing mas and how the women carry themselves. They basis of these people's argument are that children are watching.... Last edited by Islandtyme; 08-12-2008 at 03:01 PM.. |
Credits: 392
they are probably scorned but they dont care. |
I love Richard from Imix
Credits: 5,175
i'm saying....meee if i wanted to play mas and i was a bigger size..like the women in the post..i wont be playin in no two piece wid my rolls exposed....but dais just me.....I may have opted for something that covers more.......whether i'm being covered by feathers, beads, a whole suit , shorts or what..i wunda be having myself out so.... edit: i looked at these in the pics u posted....I've seen worse..dese arent so bad...ive seeen waaaay worse and yesss i skin up my face thinking wey dey self pride...but who is tuh stop people from playin dey mas??? |

so there should be NO discrimination