Old 12-02-2003, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 347
Thumbs down Shitty Mas Costumes

This year has got to be one of the worst years for mas costumes.
The mens costumes are even worse than the usual shite they come up with and many of the sections dont even have any pictures of the male costumes.

So far Im still undecided...

Barbarossa, they doing the same gladiator theme they did a couple years back. It will be a magnet for gay men.

Celosia, I played with them last year but this year I dont like the costume they bring out. If I still haven't made up my mind by next week I will probably play with them.

Tribe, costumes all sold out. They always have nice costumes but on past evidence some of their masqueraders have they nose turn up like they smelling they own sh!t.

Jungle fever have a good costume but I not playing alongside Machel and his collection of wannabe's and groupies. When u look at islandevents photo gallery is like they only bothered about taking photos of Machel.

I know this is a negative post, but I look forward to playing mas the whole year and this is what they offering
What is a good section to play with if u are a heterosexual man who wants a decent costume for his money?

Also, will the islandmix crew be meeting up in TnT, I always too tired to make it to Maracas on Ash Wednesday and you people from the US always seem stick to yourselves.
Old 12-02-2003, 02:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,078
I'm not a man...but viewing the few male costumes they do have up..you seem to be making an accurate statement regarding choices for men.....

This is my 1st time playing mas in TNT, so didn't really pay much attention to the costumes of the past...So for you want exactly are the issues that you have with the male costumes out there right now?

Discomania male doesn't seem bad..But not sure if that is your style..
Old 12-02-2003, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 41
...well it seems as though 95% of the costumes are bras and panties with feathers all over them, I guess feathers are the cheap way to go even though all de costumes expensive, I don't think these designers put much thought into their creations...it's as if they just make all these costumes and then name the band after the costumes, instead of coming up with a name of the band and making costumes to suit...
Old 12-02-2003, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 41,530
Re: Shitty Mas Costumes

Originally posted by KEPHREN1
The mens costumes are even worse than the usual shite they come up with and many of the sections dont even have any pictures of the male costumes.

Barbarossa, they doing the same gladiator theme they did a couple years back. It will be a magnet for gay men.

Celosia, I played with them last year but this year I dont like the costume they bring out. If I still haven't made up my mind by next week I will probably play with them.

Tribe, costumes all sold out. They always have nice costumes but on past evidence some of their masqueraders have they nose turn up like they smelling they own sh!t.

Jungle fever have a good costume but I not playing alongside Machel and his collection of wannabe's and groupies. When u look at islandevents photo gallery is like they only bothered about taking photos of Machel.
Kephren I like your commentary, you're funny. But I do agree with you on the mens costumes. Like I said in another post like some of the mas is beaten with an "ugly stick" this year.

Many of the Imixers are in Tribe so I don't think you'll get much nose up-turning there. LOL Too bad it's sold out.

I'm playing in Jungle Fever and I'm neither a groupie nor wannabe. I just like the costume. Then again I'm not one to get starry-eyed. I think JF has a good male costume for 2k4.
So I hope you find something you really like and if you don't like the vibes...jump in another section. :angel1

Old 12-02-2003, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 293
Originally posted by Trini4life
...well it seems as though 95% of the costumes are bras and panties with feathers all over them, I guess feathers are the cheap way to go even though all de costumes expensive, I don't think these designers put much thought into their creations...it's as if they just make all these costumes and then name the band after the costumes, instead of coming up with a name of the band and making costumes to suit...

Yuh talk de trute right dey! Concept is an afterthought and costumes are interchangeable.
Old 12-02-2003, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 421

LOL@Magnet...mabey they might think the band is "Grease"

You are totally right...the costumes this year really do leave a lot more to be desired (both male & female).

This is my first year playing with Pleasures Carnival (Tribes)...I really hope your worng about the Sh!t smellers:, but they have a "masculine" looking male costume.

Good luck in finding a costume that suits your taste. Most inportant thing is to have a time in whatever section you choose.
Old 12-02-2003, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trini4life
It makes it easier for them to rename it for Labor Day.

OOPS! did I say that??? yes I did....

Old 12-02-2003, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,210

I know this is a negative post, but I look forward to playing mas the whole year and this is what they offering
What is a good section to play with if u are a heterosexual man who wants a decent costume for his money?

Also, will the islandmix crew be meeting up in TnT, I always too tired to make it to Maracas on Ash Wednesday and you people from the US always seem stick to yourselves.
lol You are 100% on point with your assessment. Several of my homeboys said the same thing. They also refuse to wear JF g-string male costume:p Luckly, no body ever stay in the correct section in posion so they may play in Discomania or Trapez VIP as long as it's not a pink costume for the males :p

I think islandmix crew we should all meet up and put together a beach lime to Tobago for Ash Wednesday. Just send somebody up to Maracus early to pick up a huge order of Bake & Shark for everybody.:)
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 12-02-2003 at 06:08 PM..
Old 12-02-2003, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)

LOL @ JF G-string and "Magnet" Like these mas designers got inspired by Queer Eye for the Straight Guy or what.

Old 12-02-2003, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,039

I HAVE NO CONNECTIONS WITH THE SECTION BUT DISCOMANIA IS ONLY MAS THAT IS A CLASSIC FOR MEN THIS YEAR,(I SHOULD GET AH FREE COSTUME FOR PLUGGING THEM SO MUCH) WHITE IS NOT AH EASY COLOUR BUT AT LEAST YOU WILL LOOK LIKE AH MAN
Old 12-03-2003, 01:29 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,405
Angry A Set A Shite For Male Costumes In All Bands

Steups every last big band have a set a shite for de males. some of dem real shame. it's like they throw two piece a shite together n put 200 for de price. i not payin money to look like a papyshow in town for two days eh eh.
either they looking too fassy, de colors bad, de design lack.......or it just plain shite.
is only one costume i like.....................golden cock or whatever de hell de name is.
one pack a shite me eyes seeing. : :
Old 12-03-2003, 08:58 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 1,078
Yuh should check out kephren post!!

Sh!tty Mas Costumes

He said the same thing..
Old 12-03-2003, 09:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 594
In my opinion all male costumes except tribe and discomania lookin like they were made on that metrosexual homosexual tip:p
Old 12-03-2003, 10:00 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 27
Hey,
yeah I agree with you too...the male selection is quite poor this year. But if you played with Discomania people last year you should know that they are good peeps to play with.....they treat u good and u will have a time. As for the costume....it is pretty decent. If the long pants is deterring you remember that they also have a short pants option.....and if ya body buff ya just have to take off the vest and use it as a rag....so basically ya will be left in a shorts. And as far as I know for most men ....it matters little of what the costume looks like (unless it is beyond tacky). All ya need is that poison band on ya hand to keep the drinks flowing. Other than that.......JF is the next best male costume.....and you and I both know that Peter Elias doh expect he male masquerades to wear no jockey shorts in the road......so a short pants could be worn with that also.
So doh worry ya self man....go with the section where the drinks flowing and ya go have a time.
Old 12-08-2003, 07:49 PM   #15 (permalink)

Arrow

I agree with practically all the posts for this Topic....Only Tribe and Discomania have decent costumes for guys. I mean they need to put more consideration for guys costumes, considering allyuh only paying about 2 tuh 3 hundred dullahs less than girls. With Discomania though..I don't know about the long pants ting, but they have an option of shorts. Doh talk for Jungle Fever...yuh see how they have dem boys modeling in jucky-shorts..fuss I can't stand that. I absoluetly can't stand to see guys whining dung the road in panty. strewpssssss. But good luck with finding a costume.