Old 02-23-2007, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 246
Unhappy Savannah Stage ruled out again next year

I knew they were going to say this. Looks like I not seeing Trinidad carnival till 2k9 because I not blowing $1,500 to walk around St James.

STREETS AHEAD

Savannah stage ruled out again next year

Juhel Browne jbrowne@trinidadexpress.com

Friday, February 23rd 2007

Masqueraders could find themselves again parading on the road in front of the Queen's Park Savannah for Carnival 2008.

Culture and Gender Affairs Minister, Joan Yuille-Williams, said yesterday that the proposed $450 million cultural facility which is to be built in the Savannah will not be completed in time for next year's Carnival.

"If we're losing any other Carnival it's 2008, certainly. Yes, I have been assured of that," Yuille-Williams said about the return of mas in the Savannah.

Speaking at yesterday's post-Cabinet news conference at Whitehall in Port of Spain, Yuille-Williams said that despite what she described as the success of this year's Carnival which saw no stage in the Savannah, the Government is committed to having the new facility built.

"We need a cultural centre that can take large numbers," she said.

Yuille-Williams said that at one time it was thought that enough of the new facility would be completed to be used partially for Carnival 2008.

Asked if the new cultural facility will be completed by 2009, Yuille-Williams said, "Sure. Yes, yes."

Yuille-Williams said she plans to have postmortem consultations with the nation's mas and steelband leaders next week.

Asked if the arrangements for the parade of the bands outside of the Savannah and the Panorama finals this year will be repeated next year, she said:

"I don't want to preempt some of the things that might come up with the postmortem consultations because that is really going to influence some of the decisions that we're going be making. Both the pannists and the masqueraders, the bandleaders we really want them to have their say."

She said those consultations could see possible changes in the design for the new cultural facility which the Government sees as a necessity.

Yuille-Williams recalled that the Soca Monarch had to be held in the National Stadium which saw special flooring placed over the football field to ensure it was not damaged.

"We have no really large areas to take in 15,000, 18,000 people and we need that in Trinidad. That is why we have to get that covering for the Stadium," she said.

As for the proposed new cultural facility that is meant to permanently replace the North and Grand Stand facilities at the Savannah, Yuille-Williams said "dismantling" work is already well underway.

"It is about $2 million to $3 million worth of material there that we're gonna save for setting up that module around Trinidad. The Adams Project Management Co has started work. In about three months that will be dismantled," Yuille-Williams said.

"And the reason that is taking so long is that we wanted to save the modules and the building of the new facility will take place."

She said at the end of the three-month dismantling period, "a decision will be made" about the exact nature of the new cultural facility.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 02-23-2007, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 393
Better bring in some Chinese to finish this project.

The hell, what they looking to do with this building..make it glow in the dark?
Old 02-23-2007, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by Dutty View Post

From the minute I heard the reporters and media folks I knew they were trying to set up folks for not having a stage again next year. Most of them not spending money to play mas and they are not getting accurate feedback from the folks that are most important.

The long waits had nothing to do with the stage but the lack of them not organizing the large bands to be at different judging points at certain times. They had no clue who was where and they were not communicating effectively to know which bands were down town or heading up the road. They had huge gaps on the television broadcast and it was very boring watching because they could not hold folks attention. Soca Monarch and Pannorama was on point and had folks at the edge of their seats.

BTW thanks for the Harts video clip babe. I never got to see them live and I woke up at 6'O clock just to see pretty mas. I was also planning on using all Harts pretty gyals to rub VP's nose in.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 02-23-2007 at 10:19 AM..
Old 02-23-2007, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,336

Old 02-23-2007, 10:04 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 393
All I am seeing is excuses, maybe the gov't taking on too many projects at one time.

I have this feeling come 2009, it won't be fully opened.

From the new seaport to the train system, new infrastructures is outgrowing manpower, budgets?
Old 02-23-2007, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 3,064
i knew they were going to do this

Question: are they re-building the stage in the exact spot where they tore the one down?

Last edited by CARAMELSISTA; 02-23-2007 at 11:19 AM..
Old 02-23-2007, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
I am not a bit surprised. Especially with that piece of propaganda/Carnival review the minsters were giving.

Old 02-23-2007, 11:17 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,736
stage, no stage... doh matta. i'll be there next year!

ah gine pack muh own stage pon de plane an roll it out when ah ready.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:19 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post

you sick yah know LOL
Old 02-23-2007, 11:22 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,736
Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
you sick yah know LOL
yuh know yuh gine want tuh tek a lil jump pon muh portable stage. doh front

Old 02-23-2007, 11:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by shandy View Post
I am not a bit surprised. Especially with that piece of propaganda/Carnival review the minsters were giving.
Shandy did you see when they were interviewing folks asking if they missed the stage That everyone all said yes it was not the same. Folks were walking across the judging points. Legacy security did a good job faking the stage by clearing the way and still having each section break through security and run onto the "fake stage".

Looks like we will really have to walk with our own portable stage box for carnival next year gyal. These big bands all of them will now have to include "portable stage" as part of their Ultimate all inclusive carnival experience just like the poratable toilets they now all have with each band.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
smoke di herb

Credits: 496

Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post

2k9 i'll be there..........
Old 02-23-2007, 11:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
redzz

all allyuh losers who did not make it to trini carnival try chain up people to think it was a mess lmao, if yuh wasn't there keep yuh mout shut! it was the freaking best stage or no stage!!! rotfl
dey didn't interview me cause me een miss no stage i wine uptown downtown and all round!haters fall back cause allyuh en doin nuttin to stop trini carnival beetches!
Old 02-23-2007, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Shandy did you see when they were interviewing folks asking if they missed the stage That everyone all said yes it was not the same. Folks were walking across the judging points. Legacy security did a good job faking the stage by clearing the way and still having each section break through security and run onto the "fake stage".

Looks like we will really have to walk with our own portable stage box for carnival next year gyal. These big bands all of them will now have to include "portable stage" as part of their Ultimate all inclusive carnival experience just like the poratable toilets they now all have with each band.
Imagine that... a portable stage. LOL LOL LOL Imagine the security people rolling it out then rolling it back.

Well, stage or no stage God willing I'll be there.

Old 02-23-2007, 12:04 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by spanishfever View Post
all allyuh losers who did not make it to trini carnival try chain up people to think it was a mess lmao, if yuh wasn't there keep yuh mout shut! it was the freaking best stage or no stage!!! rotfl
dey didn't interview me cause me een miss no stage i wine uptown downtown and all round!haters fall back cause allyuh en doin nuttin to stop trini carnival beetches!