Old 10-14-2009, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 19,731
Lightbulb Recycling de mas

So I see a chick in Miami parading around in a Tribe Black Magic costume. That shit look so dotish...I eh know people does really do that!
Old 10-14-2009, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Happiness

Credits: 131,150
she was in a band? or just on de sidelines?

I swear this is the funniest ting I've heard for the week...although it's so wrong, Lol!!!!!!!!!
Old 10-14-2009, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sweetness4Life View Post
she was in a band? or just on de sidelines?
LOL...I saw she mixing and mingling all over. So I guess she was on de sidelines of de band? lol I eh know!
Old 10-15-2009, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,351
I wouldn't call it recycling......i say its getting your monies worth lol
Old 10-15-2009, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,239
Originally Posted by Chun Li View Post
Hell yeah!

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 10-15-2009, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 16,151
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal View Post
LOL...I saw she mixing and mingling all over. So I guess she was on de sidelines of de band? lol I eh know!
In the UK they have a band where you pay a fee and where your mas from some other country, carnival, band, etc. If its an entire band of recycled mas, cool.

But if its someone who put it on like I would wear a pair of shorts to go fete, tres tackay!
Old 10-15-2009, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 5,875
Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
In the UK they have a band where you pay a fee and where your mas from some other country, carnival, band, etc. If its an entire band of recycled mas, cool.

But if its someone who put it on like I would wear a pair of shorts to go fete, tres tackay!
That is PoisonUK.

Not sure that I would wear the costume again if I wasn't in a band...
Old 10-15-2009, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Chun Li View Post
LOL...so braps juss so you woulda go put on yuh previous costume and go in de people carnival?

Every year my father tells me I mad for buying a new costume when, "...they all look the same and you could just put on the one from last year and nobody will know." I feel he must be put dat bullshit talk in that woman ear.
Old 10-19-2009, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 528
I think there is nothing wrong with wearing costumes from Trinidad carnival to other parades. I mean we pay hundreds (some thousands) for out costumes! I try to get at least 4 wears out of mine after Trinidad. So I can wear it to maybe Toronto, Miami, ATL, DC, NYC. Plus the NYC Halloween Parade and Mermaid Parade. Plus maybe various other costume parties in New York.

Sorry I can't afford to pay $+700 for the ''Experience''. I rather buy a pair of Gucci shoes at least I get to wear that more than once!

I have even rented or sold or pieces of my costume to burlesque dancers on Ebay. EFF THAT. MAS IS EXPENSIVE yes.
Old 10-29-2009, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,910
Originally Posted by TriniPrincessa View Post
I think there is nothing wrong with wearing costumes from Trinidad carnival to other parades. I mean we pay hundreds (some thousands) for out costumes! I try to get at least 4 wears out of mine after Trinidad. So I can wear it to maybe Toronto, Miami, ATL, DC, NYC. Plus the NYC Halloween Parade and Mermaid Parade. Plus maybe various other costume parties in New York.

Sorry I can't afford to pay $+700 for the ''Experience''. I rather buy a pair of Gucci shoes at least I get to wear that more than once!

I have even rented or sold or pieces of my costume to burlesque dancers on Ebay. EFF THAT. MAS IS EXPENSIVE yes.
i like your thinking. aint nothing wrong with recycling mas.

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)