Old 08-23-2005, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 361
Please define...

What playing mas means to you.
Old 08-23-2005, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 989
Originally Posted by ILanDFnTsY
Being a paying, costume wearing member of a band.
Old 08-23-2005, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
5 pointer...

I only play mas when I purchase a costume and belong to a band. If not you just going to watch other people play mas!
Old 08-23-2005, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 41
Old 08-23-2005, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~

Credits: 38
Mas to ME, is a cultural tradition in my family that is passed down from generation-generation.

We weren't really educated about the history of mas though. I just know it's a time to let yourself go, and forget about all your problems, for those 2 days.
Old 08-23-2005, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 126
Having not played much - but this is what it meant:

Getting a first hand account of a country's way of showing and exposing their culture and traditions...It is one thing to see it pass you by and on TV...But to be in the midst of the crowds...the rhythm moving you....Its a completely different view....
Old 08-23-2005, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 37
"Playing Mas" to me is about being free and 100% happy for 2 days. It means paying for a costume that I like and just letting go of all problems, if only for a short time. It means enjoying people, enjoying music, enjoying life.
Old 08-23-2005, 02:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Credits: 5,224
Dressing up in a costume and being part of a band showing unity & love ! Forgeting about any problems you might have for the time being.
Old 08-23-2005, 02:57 PM   #9 (permalink)

Playing Mas to me is an unexplainable freedom
It's the excitement......the people.....the vibes........it's awesome and thensome !
Old 08-23-2005, 03:11 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 255
Just an excuse to jump behind a truck. I really don't like costumes, though I will be playing 2k6.
Old 08-23-2005, 04:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Credits: 41
hmm.... taking part ....in a ceremony created by hundreds of people....who dont know each other.... or have to know each other....but theyre connected...by this music....the energy...and for that time...you are nobody and everybody....all at the same time...costume or no..

that's what playing mas means to me
Old 08-23-2005, 04:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Love Cara strap on

Credits: 1,945
Playing mas means more than jumping around in a costume to me... playing mas to me is about being with my friends, family, compatriots, and like-minded people in unity and peace. All I want out of mas is a fun time with mah peoples is all... enough stress in dis world already.
Old 08-23-2005, 04:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 123
Playing mas has always been the ultimate personifcation of me expressing the joy that I have for my cultural heritage. Although Mas has changed over the years and has become something that the average people can't afford, I feel like I represent those people with my energy and vibe on the road and they recognize that.

I love carnival in TT. It's such a spiritual time for me as well becuase I get to go back and "recharge" before I come back here to the states, where we're completely inhibited from expressing who we are as a people. Carnival and Mas is a release of the cultural energy and expression.
Old 08-23-2005, 04:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~

Credits: 38
Originally Posted by kevlocks
Playing mas has always been the ultimate personifcation of me expressing the joy that I have for my cultural heritage. Although Mas has changed over the years and has become something that the average people can't afford, I feel like I represent those people with my energy and vibe on the road and they recognize that.

I love carnival in TT. It's such a spiritual time for me as well becuase I get to go back and "recharge" before I come back here to the states, where we're completely inhibited from expressing who we are as a people. Carnival and Mas is a release of the cultural energy and expression.
Old 08-23-2005, 04:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Love Cara strap on

Credits: 1,945
Originally Posted by kevlocks

Sih dih problem there fuh me... I want everybody to be able to enjoy mas not just the well off. In Jamaica, that is the biggest problem with it... very few Jamaicans are willing or able to spend the $10,000 for a mas costume plus the joining fee.