Old 11-14-2005, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,321
Passport Renewal: To Expedite or Not

I'm about to renew my passport. I have all the stuff ready to send off to the passport office. If I mail it, it will only cost $67.00 and I should get it back within 6 weeks. I have about 5-6 to play with before I leave for Trini. To expedite is going to cost another $60.00, which really should go in the travel fund (mi need every penny mi have right now). Who has found State Dept. to keep their word and return the passport within 6 weeks? Mi no have no time fi foolishness. Mi nah miss mi plane...

They won't expedite it any other way, and though I'm in the D.C. area, the passport office won't take the app. for me unless i'm travelling in 14 days. Services that promise to rush the processing time for renewal won't see you unless you're ready to travel in a few weeks (must provide itinerary up front).

I'll admit that it's my fault for waitin' so long, but this is where I am now. Please advise.
Old 11-15-2005, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,677
Originally Posted by Caribsun
I'm about to renew my passport. I have all the stuff ready to send off to the passport office. If I mail it, it will only cost $67.00 and I should get it back within 6 weeks. I have about 5-6 to play with before I leave for Trini. To expedite is going to cost another $60.00, which really should go in the travel fund (mi need every penny mi have right now). Who has found State Dept. to keep their word and return the passport within 6 weeks? Mi no have no time fi foolishness. Mi nah miss mi plane...

They won't expedite it any other way, and though I'm in the D.C. area, the passport office won't take the app. for me unless i'm travelling in 14 days. Services that promise to rush the processing time for renewal won't see you unless you're ready to travel in a few weeks (must provide itinerary up front).

I'll admit that it's my fault for waitin' so long, but this is where I am now. Please advise.
u should have a Jamaican passport too and yuh would have no problem. try to get one in case the US dont get back in time
Old 11-15-2005, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 605
There was another thread on this awhile back you should check it, but I renewed mine last year and it only took 3 maybe 4 weeks. You have plenty of time.
Old 11-15-2005, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,271
i've got to start looking for my passport! silly me, I recently moved (sept) and let's just say I've not finished unpacking as yet...so therefore I dont know where that darn thing is at. But come Jan. 1st and i've not found it...i'm taking a week vacation and turning that place inside out...
Old 11-15-2005, 11:54 AM   #5 (permalink)

Caribsun what's deh word, yuh expedited?
Old 11-15-2005, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 9,315
I have to get my passport too..put it off so long that now I am scared it won't come in time. I think I will just wait til I get my ticket & do the 1 day thing.
Old 11-15-2005, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,120
i thought i was the only one who had to still get a passport ah got to get moving
Old 11-15-2005, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Big toe bullin...

Credits: 8,380
Passport cheap in the US. It costs $80.00 in Canada. Although you can get it expedited for another $35 and there no stipulation on departure date.

Old 11-15-2005, 01:44 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,120
Originally Posted by joujou
Passport cheap in the US. It costs $80.00 in Canada. Although you can get it expedited for another $35 and there no stipulation on departure date.
where are you geting your pasport in te us???? it cost 120.00 and then a extra 65.00 to expidite and i jus read the website info the otherday.
thats why i have been sticking on expiditing
Old 11-15-2005, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 466

I have had no problems getting my passport back well before the 6 weeks. My sister and my niece got theirs expedited and received it in 2 days.
Old 11-15-2005, 03:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ladies Hold Unto Yuh Man

Credits: 127
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva
I have to get my passport too..put it off so long that now I am scared it won't come in time. I think I will just wait til I get my ticket & do the 1 day thing.
Trust me you don't want to do that one day thing. I made a big mistake in doing that and I was there for about 7 hours
Old 11-15-2005, 06:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,321
I took care of the passport thing today. I decided not to expedite (I have some wiggle room and everyone I talked to..including the folks at State Dept....seem to believe that this thing will come in well before six weeks. That will put me in early Jan. Might as well save the extra $60.00 and spend it on myself.

All those who want to save money should tek care of dem business now.

Thanks everyone!
Old 11-15-2005, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 577
Exclamation Very Important!

After December 1st, if you are traveling between the US and the Caribbean, YOU MUST HAVE A US PASSPORT. The days of traveling with your Trini passport (like myself), JA passport, Bajan, Lucian, ect, are over! If you are a US CITIZEN and you are traveling for Carnival, make sure your business fix.

*now off to the post office for me!
Old 11-15-2005, 11:10 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 9,315
I took care of the passport thing today. I decided not to expedite (I have some wiggle room and everyone I talked to..including the folks at State Dept....seem to believe that this thing will come in well before six weeks. That will put me in early Jan. Might as well save the extra $60.00 and spend it on myself.

All those who want to save money should tek care of dem business now.

Thanks everyone!
Yeah I will do all that on Thursday along with renew my license (not looking forward to dem errands )