Old 09-10-2009, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,265
Thumbs up The Parkway:In Pics......

The Parkway:In Pics......

Make no mistake about it....Sesame Flyers turned Left onto the Parkway with authority and confidence !

With DJ Spice at the control, imo, they were colorful, together, full of pageantry, more a less a show stopper in " pretty mas"

As usual, I was impress with the Haitians, clearly the best and Biggest sounding system on the Parkway, especially the C.A.M. truck.....I think they had like close to 20k following that truck, lol...respect ! .

Good to see the Hawks back in Swing, Ramajay....very colorful !

The Vincy truck, a little lackluster, but they were reppin !

Bajans.....were in full swing, big up to them.

Old 09-10-2009, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,408
nice pictures
Old 09-10-2009, 01:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Thanks Ank.

Last edited by socapineman; 09-10-2009 at 01:32 AM..
Old 09-10-2009, 01:33 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,408
I've never been there , but Carnival is great !
Old 09-10-2009, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by ank View Post
I've never been there , but Carnival is great !
Well, you should check it if you are a true Carnival Junkie.....It is what it is,...The Biggest Parade in N.A. were the majority of the Caribbean Islands are well represented in the best way they can, don't listen to these crybabies, it might not measure up with other Carnivals in the Caribbean....but then again,we are not in the Caribbean...

we are located in a " Police State" anyway, it is a real hype to stand at Bedford Ave looking East and see 20k plus Haitians marching in unity....trust me, that is a priceless scene !

Last edited by socapineman; 09-10-2009 at 01:47 AM..
Old 09-10-2009, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lights Out..No Hesitation

Credits: 13,179
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Well, you should check it if you are a true Carnival Junkie.....It is what it is,...The Biggest Parade in N.A. were the majority of the Caribbean Islands are well represented in the best way they can, don't listen to these crybabies, it might not measure up with other Carnivals in the Caribbean....but then again,we are not in the Caribbean...

we are located in a " Police State" anyway, it is a real hype to stand at Bedford Ave looking East and see 20k plus Haitians marching in unity....trust me, that is a priceless scene !
Hell yea. No matter what you think jus seein them rollin deep like that together is truely priceless

Ppl cry bout the Parkway all the time..but wit 2-3 million ppl on one strip yuh really expect everythin to be perfect? Ppl have fun..I know I did I made da best of it

The pictures are great btw, Good quality. Actually it's the clearest and best quality pics I seen so far from this yr
Old 09-10-2009, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,218
The Bajans came hard this year! Mad I was not with them! Stabby was with their truck! I seen pictures my friend had from Exotica and their costumes were not too bad and they looked like they had mad fun! I would have loved to hear some good Bajan chunes. Next year I will most likely be going with the Bajan truck. Sorry Sesame, got to support BIM in the U.S. It's nothing like good wukkin up music on the road and Im sure they played a good mix of all island music.
"Cause wukkin up is my middle name. See me, See me and Don't See me!"
Old 09-10-2009, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 3,009
Originally Posted by BajanNaptural View Post
The Bajans came hard this year! Mad I was not with them! Stabby was with their truck! I seen pictures my friend had from Exotica and their costumes were not too bad and they looked like they had mad fun! I would have loved to hear some good Bajan chunes. Next year I will most likely be going with the Bajan truck. Sorry Sesame, got to support BIM in the U.S. It's nothing like good wukkin up music on the road and Im sure they played a good mix of all island music.
"Cause wukkin up is my middle name. See me, See me and Don't See me!"
i didnt get to make the trip this year but last year labor day i jumped with the krosfyah truck and it was madness.almost like i was in Barbados again on spring garden. i had a time with them.that last picture makes me kick myself for not going this year
Old 09-10-2009, 11:58 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,963
Mister, as always nice pics.
Old 09-11-2009, 01:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by Cloud View Post
Hell yea. No matter what you think jus seein them rollin deep like that together is truely priceless

Ppl cry bout the Parkway all the time..but wit 2-3 million ppl on one strip yuh really expect everythin to be perfect? Ppl have fun..I know I did I made da best of it

The pictures are great btw, Good quality. Actually it's the clearest and best quality pics I seen so far from this yr

Yes, fully agree....I just don't get it....my thing is if it is pretty mas you want to see...cool, when the Haitians , Jamaicans, etc..or whoever don't fit the so call " pretty mas" leave the parkway...simple as that. or better yet, stay home.

But yes, by far it is what it is....a parade with different cultures reppin the best way they see fit !

I just don't get it.....
Old 09-11-2009, 03:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lights Out..No Hesitation

Credits: 13,179
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Yes, fully agree....I just don't get it....my thing is if it is pretty mas you want to see...cool, when the Haitians , Jamaicans, etc..or whoever don't fit the so call " pretty mas" leave the parkway...simple as that. or better yet, stay home.

But yes, by far it is what it is....a parade with different cultures reppin the best way they see fit !

I just don't get it.....
Lol yea man. When I followed the jamaican truck 2 yrs ago honestly...the problems were because of how packed it was...ppl could barely move....at the same time the energy of being around my ppl and culture and the artists was exciting...but the sardine can type packing took away from that.

I think if there was a way to say "Okay no more ppl following this truck" it would be so much fun...because the 1st time I followed the truck I had a lotta fun till we got further down and it got too packed. Of course it's hard to do that on the parkway..but you're right there's room for pretty mas and those trucks. I only wish there was a way to control the amount of crowding but all in all...I luv seein ppl get together like that and rep dem country, though I luv all countries celebratin together even more like I saw while playin mas.
Old 09-11-2009, 11:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
sweet sweet fa days

Credits: 601
Nice clean clear pics. Bajan Nap girl it wassss niicceeness. I was in it an had a blast. de only bad thing is dat they were replayin alot of de same songs but odder than dan it was good. When in de middle a de road come on girl ya dun kno, lol. sorry no pics but i kno ppl got some.