Old 02-18-2008, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 15,444
Cool Out of Curiousity.......When Yuh Play Mas

ah mean "serious" mas with bands like Mac Farlene........yuh could jam woman and ting.....or yuh juss have to chip and float arrung in a choreographed manner?
Old 02-18-2008, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 895
Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
ah mean "serious" mas with bands like Mac Farlene........yuh could jam woman and ting.....or yuh juss have to chip and float arrung in a choreographed manner?
Ha ha...yuh jus have to chip around and do the choreographed thing, not much jammin and grindin, if any, at least that was my experience.

In 2006, I played mas in Grenada in this band with the theme "Sailor in Yuh Sailor" whatever that meant. The guy that produced the mas band was a noted playwright. I was in a section called Deckhands, mostly guys, and we all had mops and had to twirl them when the main man said twirl...It was an experience but I aint doing it again. Not my thing.
Old 02-18-2008, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 153,625
Originally Posted by Rhythmwize View Post
Ha ha...yuh jus have to chip around and do the choreographed thing, not much jammin and grindin, if any, at least that was my experience.

In 2006, I played mas in Grenada in this band with the theme "Sailor in Yuh Sailor" whatever that meant. The guy that produced the mas band was a noted playwright. I was in a section called Deckhands, mostly guys, and we all had mops and had to twirl them when the main man said twirl...It was an experience but I aint doing it again. Not my thing.
dais one of dem old peope sailor bands? dey have pan on de road? Slu have one like dat old people chipping in dey sailor ting
Old 02-18-2008, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 14,068
LOl....why you ask? Too many bulllerish looking men. you will never get old enough for that ish....
Old 02-18-2008, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Insane Lucian View Post
dais one of dem old peope sailor bands? dey have pan on de road? Slu have one like dat old people chipping in dey sailor ting
Not really, it wasnt supposed to be the ole mas thing. We had a nice sounding music truck with soca, Soca Banton was on our truck singing Ova Yuh Head, etc. But true, the band wasnt full of your normal get-on-bad type of young masqueraders.
Old 02-18-2008, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 153,625
Not really, it wasnt supposed to be the ole mas thing. We had a nice sounding music truck with soca, Soca Banton was on our truck singing Ova Yuh Head, etc. But true, the band wasnt full of your normal get-on-bad type of young masqueraders.
oh iight.
Old 02-18-2008, 09:22 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ~SR~ View Post
LOl....why you ask? Too many bulllerish looking men. you will never get old enough for that ish....
i jus curious as to d motivation and types who play in those bands......i have my own assumptions but want to hear the real deal
is it monday and tuesday in grenada? if so not even monday as a free day to wine on sumting
Old 02-18-2008, 10:05 PM   #8 (permalink)

i jus curious as to d motivation and types who play in those bands......i have my own assumptions but want to hear the real deal

is it monday and tuesday in grenada? if so not even monday as a free day to wine on sumting
Monday and Tuesday for the mas bands. They also have Monday Night mas which are T-Shirt bands with corporate sponsors. Plenty wining then.

Not sure about the motivations but types of people? All kinds, older people, conservative people, artistic people, probably some gays, there was a few handicapped people, maybe some public figures, etc. I play mas with my wife so I dont have wining and grinding as a high priority although I can and I do sometimes when the opportunity arises.
Old 02-18-2008, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 14,068
Monday and Tuesday for the mas bands. They also have Monday Night mas which are T-Shirt bands with corporate sponsors. Plenty wining then.

Not sure about the motivations but types of people? All kinds, older people, conservative people, artistic people, probably some gays, there was a few handicapped people, maybe some public figures, etc. I play mas with my wife so I dont have wining and grinding as a high priority although I can and I do sometimes when the opportunity arises.
This site is phucked up...any way this is too funny "when the opportunity arises"
Old 02-19-2008, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,114
Originally Posted by ~SR~ View Post
This site is phucked up...any way this is too funny "when the opportunity arises"
dat catch you to eh
Old 02-19-2008, 07:40 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess View Post
dat catch you to eh
LOL...Hey, not easy playing mas with the wifey when surrounded by all these pretty ladies with skimpy costumes. In St. Lucia Carnival last July, the ladies in our mas band were doing this dance called the Tik-Tok after the song on the SLU riddim called Tik-Tok by Alpha; You know, like the clock tic-toc tic-toc. In unison, they would all raise one cheek, then the other cheek, all to the beat of the music....OMG, that was insane, and thats why I play mas...for moments like that! I will not be forgetting that scene.

Toronto-Lime.com - Tik Tok

Last edited by Rhythmwize; 02-19-2008 at 08:06 PM..
Old 02-19-2008, 10:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
SupaCalaFragilistik

Credits: 138
LOL...Hey, not easy playing mas with the wifey when surrounded by all these pretty ladies with skimpy costumes. In St. Lucia Carnival last July, the ladies in our mas band were doing this dance called the Tik-Tok after the song on the SLU riddim called Tik-Tok by Alpha; You know, like the clock tic-toc tic-toc. In unison, they would all raise one cheek, then the other cheek, all to the beat of the music....OMG, that was insane, and thats why I play mas...for moments like that! I will not be forgetting that scene.

You talking about this dance....

YouTube - Saint Lucia Tic Toc
Old 02-19-2008, 10:05 PM   #13 (permalink)

so ah take it u eh relly plan to play in any ah dese traditional ype mas bands dat doh have tic-toc......hot wuk...etc
Old 02-19-2008, 10:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MuSiQuE View Post
You talking about this dance....

YouTube - Saint Lucia Tic Toc
Yep...that is IT.

Not sure that dance is so easy to do...I see some can do it much better then others.

A whole row of young ladies in front of me in the mas band had it down pat!

As I said before, I dun with the artistic mas, once was enuff for me.

I like the bacchanal, the pretty ladies and of course, the music.
Old 02-20-2008, 01:51 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,114

Yep...that is IT.

Not sure that dance is so easy to do...I see some can do it much better then others.

A whole row of young ladies in front of me in the mas band had it down pat!

As I said before, I dun with the artistic mas, once was enuff for me.

I like the bacchanal, the pretty ladies and of course, the music.

i seen what you were talking about... yeah that can get u into trouble I was doing dat dance for a min. cause funny on HBO it have dis stripper dat dose move something so, and fuh kicks i wanted to see if i could do it.

and man if my man jealous ah wining and having ah time he hadda go. cause if anything im warming up for him..