Old 09-14-2005, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 181
old time mas still relevant?

i know u guys like pretty mas, but has any1 ever tried supporting (by playing) old time traditional mas on the road? last year i was all about the push 4 the cow as seen below, but this year i'm thinkin of joining the resurgence of the bat and learning the various dances. i got 2 sequences down so far. pierrot grenade? jab jab? anyone?

salty
Old 09-14-2005, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,574
I could see myself supporting for J'Ouvert...but fuh de road? Nah...is all about pomp and pageantry.
Old 09-14-2005, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
DE FRACKIN SOUTH KING

Credits: 36
Salt, Sando cyahh see you doin no bat, u jus supposed to rub down in oil and play de damn devil. If ya doin dat, Sando down wit ya, is time southman play sandoself.
Old 09-14-2005, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 99
Old mas will always be relevant as long as certain hardcore designers and mas men keep on going instead of all this commercial shyt they call mas these days don't take over completely.
Old 09-14-2005, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
the only old time mas I like to see on the road is the Sailor and the Wild Indian.

But all old mas is relevant though. That is our history and that can't be lost.

Old 09-14-2005, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)

bakes/sando - u c playin the devil, jab molassi, etc. is pretty common during j'ouvert and in daytime mas so my focus is more on the other characters which seem less and less discussed and prevalent on the road. borokeete, dragon, bookman, all ah dem.

rask -long time man. but yeh it won't hurt to see a bit more of it on the road. i think the major complaint from folks is the hot sun so they don't want to don the full costumes ole mas require.

shandy - seeing and playing r 2 different things. i wanna know if u or any of the younger folks here would actually play w/ ole time mas such as the ones u and i listed. i understand it is our history, but it just seems the norm for 1/2 naked costumes being the choice for the past decade or more. by the way u'd look nice in sailor mas.

salty
Old 09-14-2005, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)

fyi - not 'hating' as the youth's say these days cuz i love watchin pretty pretty mas. nothing beats dem king and queens.

salty
Old 09-14-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 314
on this thread.... like Salt going to Trinidad...
Old 09-14-2005, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
on this thread.... like Salt going to Trinidad...
*rubs peepee in trinibaje's bald head*

salty
Old 09-14-2005, 06:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
DE FRACKIN SOUTH KING

Credits: 36
Salt, talk to Rastaman, long time he trying to find company to play Indian wit.
Old 09-14-2005, 06:12 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 368
why would i pay money fuh dat? i wouldn't even wear it if it was free
Old 09-14-2005, 06:36 PM   #12 (permalink)

Yuh wrong

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
why would i pay money fuh dat? i wouldn't even wear it if it was free
Y you so? De man jus keepin de tradition alive . Boy I miss those days as a chlid when I use to hide under de bed becuase my uncle used to play devil and fancy sailor , robber and indian. It still have a place in Carnival for dem. Keep de tradition alive man!!! Go Salty
Old 09-15-2005, 09:32 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
Originally Posted by lordsalt
bakes/sando - u c playin the devil, jab molassi, etc. is pretty common during j'ouvert and in daytime mas so my focus is more on the other characters which seem less and less discussed and prevalent on the road. borokeete, dragon, bookman, all ah dem.

rask -long time man. but yeh it won't hurt to see a bit more of it on the road. i think the major complaint from folks is the hot sun so they don't want to don the full costumes ole mas require.

shandy - seeing and playing r 2 different things. i wanna know if u or any of the younger folks here would actually play w/ ole time mas such as the ones u and i listed. i understand it is our history, but it just seems the norm for 1/2 naked costumes being the choice for the past decade or more. by the way u'd look nice in sailor mas.

salty
Thanks. and one day I hope to play a sailor mas, I want to do the dance and the whole 9... I did play a "modern" version of the wild indian though.

Old 09-15-2005, 10:05 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 269
Originally Posted by lordsalt
i know u guys like pretty mas, but has any1 ever tried supporting (by playing) old time traditional mas on the road? last year i was all about the push 4 the cow as seen below, but this year i'm thinkin of joining the resurgence of the bat and learning the various dances. i got 2 sequences down so far. pierrot grenade? jab jab? anyone?

salty
LORD SALT
I THINK TRADITIONAL MAS IS MORE RELEVANT TODAY THAN EVER . I HAVE PLAYED TRADITIONAL AFRICAN MAS AND TRY TO USE THE TRADITIONAL TECHNIQUES WHEN BUILDING MAS, I HAVE NOT GONE AS FAR AS PIERROT GRENADE AND JAB JAB BUT HOPEFULLY ONE DAY I WILL.
I DO HOWEVER USE TRADITIONAL MAS AS A JUMP OFF IN CONTEMPORARY DESIGNS.
Old 09-15-2005, 10:27 AM   #15 (permalink)

dougla - uhhh ok

sando - i could c marlon playin in dat. wild indian is pretty pretty though. i have yet to see 1 i didn't like.

neo - good 2 hear chief. r u a designer for notting hill alone or the big show in tnt as well? also can u show me some of u'r pics w/ costumes inspired by traditional mas characters u've designed? thx

triniten - does this pic bring back those memories? lol respect!

salty