Old 04-28-2008, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 38
Official Toronto Caribana 2008 Thread

Well since I see no one has started one I decided to start my own. So far I believe one band has launched and Torontolime.com has all the bands and launching dates.

I played frontline with Carnival Nationz last year and truly had a great time. I'm looking forward to that again so I'm waiting to see what they are offering.
Old 04-28-2008, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

calalloo launched. i'm still tryna figure out which costume is cancer hmmm.....
Old 04-30-2008, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 143
ah think the red one with the short head piece that kinda curl under is Aries
Old 05-02-2008, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 528
^^^

Shoulda known you was gonna be in here.
Old 05-03-2008, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 4mydawgz View Post
^^^

Shoulda known you was gonna be in here.
Shoulda known u was gonna b rite bhind me...
Old 05-08-2008, 08:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
HQ

Already have my airline ticket...ready for mas again! LOL

I played with Nationz last year too...can't wait till the 20th so I can see what Pirates is all about!
Old 05-08-2008, 07:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
LIFE IS GREAT

Credits: 152
This will be the first year that I am going. My friends are too far away from all the action. What are some nice hotels to stay at close to every thing?
Old 05-12-2008, 04:37 PM   #8 (permalink)

Well my Toronto family went to the Toronto Revellers band launching. The pics are up and sorry to say I don't see anything special. It looks to me like they are biting the Sahara theme from IP last year AND they have a section called Animal Instincts with YES you guessed it lions, cheetahs, zebra's etc in it. I will be waithing for Carnival Nationz to blow them away. Not impressed.. See the pics yourself.

Toronto-Lime.com
Old 05-13-2008, 10:50 AM   #9 (permalink)

Borokeet Canada finally posted their pics from the band launching....im sure someone will play with them.....rite? look for yuh self

Borokeete Canada
Old 05-13-2008, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)

This is the reason I save all my pennies for Trinidad Carnival. I'm not wasting money on in my OPINION low quality fugly costumes. To me once you get used to all the feathers and bling bling of Trinidad, you get spoiled. I go to other Carnival (Labor Day, Caribanna, and Miami) but I wear my Trini costume and just storm the band! Caribana mas camps some have nice cosutmes. I"m waiting for Carnival Nationz. Hopefully they do not disappoint.
Old 05-14-2008, 06:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
HQ

Originally Posted by lipsntits74 View Post
This will be the first year that I am going. My friends are too far away from all the action. What are some nice hotels to stay at close to every thing?
One of my favorite hotels to stay in is Holiday Inn on King (do a google search- it should come up. I think it's Holiday Inn On King - Your Downtown Toronto Hotel for Business & Leisure or hiok.ca?). They are located on King Street West, across from a bunch of cute little restaurants and bars. You are a block away from all the Toronto clubs.....might still need to find a taxi or something to get to the fetes though...they are usually down by the waterfront.

I know a lot of folks who swear by the Sheraton and the Westin too.
Old 05-15-2008, 07:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
LIFE IS GREAT

Credits: 152
Originally Posted by HaitianQueen View Post
One of my favorite hotels to stay in is Holiday Inn on King (do a google search- it should come up. I think it's Holiday Inn On King - Your Downtown Toronto Hotel for Business & Leisure or hiok.ca?). They are located on King Street West, across from a bunch of cute little restaurants and bars. You are a block away from all the Toronto clubs.....might still need to find a taxi or something to get to the fetes though...they are usually down by the waterfront.

I know a lot of folks who swear by the Sheraton and the Westin too.
Thanks
Old 05-15-2008, 09:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
The legs of a runner

Credits: 387
Originally Posted by TriniPrincessa View Post
Well my Toronto family went to the Toronto Revellers band launching. The pics are up and sorry to say I don't see anything special. It looks to me like they are biting the Sahara theme from IP last year AND they have a section called Animal Instincts with YES you guessed it lions, cheetahs, zebra's etc in it. I will be waithing for Carnival Nationz to blow them away. Not impressed.. See the pics yourself.

Toronto-Lime.com
I was at the launch and the costumes where not hot at all..... I am waiting to Nationz just like yourself will be at launch next saturday to see what they have to offer.
Old 05-19-2008, 08:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 353
so tribal knights launched their costumes at the big soca or die fete this past weekend. pics are on toronto lime under soca or die part 1 gallery...they are looking nice
Old 05-20-2008, 08:22 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pretty Preya View Post
so tribal knights launched their costumes at the big soca or die fete this past weekend. pics are on toronto lime under soca or die part 1 gallery...they are looking nice
The Black, is a eye catcher, especially the headpiece. The red is a nice one too.
official-toronto-caribana-2008-thread-088.jpg