The Original Soca Vixen
Credits: 9,566
Hi Guys & Girls,
I have been waiting for the right moment to start this thread, and seen as band launches are fast approaching in London and Committee meetings open to the public are taking place, I think the time is right now! So to all my UK Imixers who 'beat pan', 'jump up', 'play mas'... What was your best carnival fete last year? What truck had the best sound? What band did you play with last year? Who will you play with this year? What are your plans for carnival sunday? Will you be attending Panorma? ********************************************************* For those who have visited from abroad, how was your Carnival experience? Anybody planning on attending from abroad this year? Lets get the ball rolling... Bless. |
rhel sweet
Credits: 9,242
but AA!! u eh rampin atall....yuh excited man
![]() ![]() last yr i enjoyd Machel concert (wining down low in d ppl VIP lol) but d afterparty was boss!! we close d place....de ppl throw we out!! Insomnia was good too but i'd hav to say machel afterparty was d bess outta all d fetes ah went jump wit paddington arts last yr....well more like chip down de road, smile and wave wit paddington arts last yr and watch mih best fren wine and get on dutty...steuppss blasted pageant!! dis yr i will b bak to mih old self....LOWER DAN D WHITE LINE ON D ROAD AH SAY!! i eh kno who truck had d best sound carnival sunday still undecided as all planning efforts are currently concentrated on BIM fuh maximum feteing efficiency!!![]() |
The Original Soca Vixen
Believe me; I am more than excited!!! But I hear you though, planning efforts going towards Crop Over, I WILL BE THERE too! *Machel concert as to be expected was great, however I didn't like the fiasco that came about when trying to collect coats from the cloakrooom; security were going on dred! *The After Party was kool, didn't enjoy it as much as you did though lol *The night of Insominia was a mad one!! 3 Major Events, Panorama, UK Tribe Launch with Fayann & Bunji and Insomnia with all the host of artists and if im not mistaking Shipwrecked was on that night too with Kes The Band [4 big events]...since its tradition though I went to Ebony Steelband [Panormam Winners 2008] After Party instead, since I used to play pan with them. *Elimu Paddington Arts eh? Nice one! I went to their launch [late, late, late] and loved what I saw even though at the time it was just drawings, but i'm sure they looked great on the road. A friend of minds family are quite heavily envolved with the band. *Sunday I missed Jouvert, but was on the road by 11pm for Children's day and roamed around, passing through 'Pure Lime'-Chocolate Mas, 'Bachanal Mas' - Liquid Gold [paint] Mas, and ended up having a blast with Dragon's who had Release D Riddim DJs [and a Soca Vixen DJ] playing the hottest sounds that day!! *Monday I played mas with Bachanal Mas. We were well positioned between many of the popular floats so we had great music all over, including on our truck. I was feeling Burokeets, and I know Dragons must have been on fyaaah too! Girl you better bring yourself up, can't be lower than low, carnival weekend!!! |
rhel sweet
Credits: 9,242
lower dan low on carnival monday is a good ting!!
dais how low we wining LOL BARBADOS MASH UP DIS CROP OVER & CARNIVAL MONDAY WE GO B LOW!!![]() |
The Original Soca Vixen
ur local zim-uk-ja-trini
Credits: 3,763
Last edited by SLKv2.0; 03-20-2009 at 04:03 PM.. |
Credits: 1,440
!!!!! |
Credits: 9,039
I've heard alot of nice reviews and personal experiences on Notting Hill....I'm going to plan for 2010. I wish it never conflicted with Boston and Cambridge carnival
However i'll see you in BIM Soca Honey Last edited by Prince 22; 03-21-2009 at 10:48 PM.. |
The Original Soca Vixen
yes, carnival is great over here....can't wait for crop over |
LargeRadio.Com
Credits: 3,902
look what I found...
ISIS MAS website is quite nice & organized and that looks like a good offer there, nice! “Splendour of The Elements” ---- and my plans so far... err I aint got any lol....might try something completely different this year... but I find it extremly hard to recommend anything to a first timer (I am a 2nd timer now ) u gotta see for uself there are so many different good options...but i sticking to the sunday!!! had a ball on d road dat day.. monday was too busy for me....now bring bim first lol
The Original Soca Vixen
winey your a star, thats excellent! Cherokee plays the music for Isis, will find plenty Grenadians in that band fa'sure....im impressed with the website..niice!!! Can't really see the pics, but the synopsis is great! |
The Original Soca Vixen
was just going to say the designs remind me of Dragons...go figure, the designer was co-designer for the band last year....kool
Credits: 5,896
My mum and aunts were involved with Elimu (to me it is still called that) back when patsy and Gloria (from Flamboyan) were together. Good times. Well, it was good times for me when I came along. My cousins and some family friends are still there too.
I went to the Machel concert and you can't deny that you don't get your monies worth - he does put in a good performance still. I'm sure our tickets were free last yr too! I didn't go to anything else. I like to lime in the fete as i do in Bim and somehow the fetes here just don't make it. Last year I was with Bachanal Mas for both days. Drunk as a skunk and sick as a dog on sunday. I don't know how I made it out on de road on monday. I does walk with my sandwiches whether i getting food or not and a little £5 to get a jerk chicken along the way. Nothing long. I would recommend that people join a band, even if you're wearing a t-shirt (though i don't really want to promote t-shirts), its good to have somewhere to belong. You can walk the whole route if you want checking out the other bands so you'll know what you are getting next yr. FYI, I already have my glitter, gems and eye liner for this year. |
Phuck arf nuh man!!
Credits: 1,654
Wow, there is a carnival in London, England? Black people let alone Caribbean people live in england? well I never.
**official miami-broward one carnival thread**
Fatal Angels "Heaven" Section for Miami Carnival

carnival sunday still undecided as all planning efforts are currently concentrated on BIM fuh maximum feteing efficiency!!
BARBADOS MASH UP DIS CROP OVER & CARNIVAL MONDAY WE GO B LOW!!
!!!!!
) u gotta see for uself there are so many different good options...but i sticking to the sunday!!! had a ball on d road dat day.. monday was too busy for me