Old 03-26-2009, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,227
Official DC Carnival 2009 Thread

DC CARIBBEAN CARNIVAL :: JUNE 28 & 29, 2008

official launch party April 18 @ Zanzibar- I might be headed up 95 that weekend so will try to pass thru

Here are the other confirmed events

D.C. Carnival Events #1 .

D.C. Carnival Events #2

anyone know any shows that are getting booked for that last weekend in June, 27 & 28?

what say you DC IMIX crew?
Old 03-26-2009, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bajan Ringbang

Credits: 4,940
promoters still working on lineups...
Old 03-29-2009, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,298
damn you beat me to it...It's a thought, but gotta see
official-dc-carnival-2009-thread-gsfback.jpg  
Old 03-29-2009, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Judge Juancito Pano

Credits: 65,092
i hope i can make it...if i can i will b all dere...**heads over to airtran to start lookin up flights**

um how much do hotels run up there?

^^^^ look i have my own song! lol
Old 03-29-2009, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Originally Posted by Pano View Post
i hope i can make it...if i can i will b all dere...**heads over to airtran to start lookin up flights**

um how much do hotels run up there?
hotels are expensive in DC- but they are close by and you can take metro where you need to go- if you roll with a posse and you can split the room with 2 or 3 folks that de best plan

I just need to see a good fete line up
Old 03-29-2009, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Judge Juancito Pano

yeah i plan on rollin w/ more than jus myself...i could stay by my cousin but dey does always have 2 many ppl by dey house..steups

Old 03-29-2009, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 694
If you in NY no need to fly to DC unless you have loot like that. No need to stay in the actual city either, not when you can stay nearby in parts of MD and VA for much cheaper.
Old 03-30-2009, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Judge Juancito Pano

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
If you in NY no need to fly to DC unless you have loot like that. No need to stay in the actual city either, not when you can stay nearby in parts of MD and VA for much cheaper.
i was thinkin of doin that...i just don't want to rent a car...i really don't want to stay by my aunt and grandfather but i may just do that and take her car....

Old 03-30-2009, 03:23 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pano View Post
i was thinkin of doin that...i just don't want to rent a car...i really don't want to stay by my aunt and grandfather but i may just do that and take her car....

Nah, depending on where you stay you may not need a car... metro access might be all you need. Time fete letting out metro ready tuh open man, lol

but nah, I hear you. Me personally I'd sooner rent a car and move around freely.
Old 03-30-2009, 03:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Judge Juancito Pano

Nah, depending on where you stay you may not need a car... metro access might be all you need. Time fete letting out metro ready tuh open man, lol

but nah, I hear you. Me personally I'd sooner rent a car and move around freely.
yup my thoughts exactly dont like waitin on nobody

Old 03-30-2009, 10:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

I haven't decided if I'm coming from the north (PA) or from the south (ATL) for DC 2K9 yet- there's advantages and disadvantages to both though

Columbia, MD is a good place to find a cheap hotel close to Metro access- the nice thing about staying downtown though is that you can spend all Saturday limin and then roll back to your hotel for a quick rest before headed back out that night to fete- it sucks to spend all day taking transit only to take more transit to have to go back and get cleaned up and then back into the area
Old 03-30-2009, 04:07 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by soca control View Post
I haven't decided if I'm coming from the north (PA) or from the south (ATL) for DC 2K9 yet- there's advantages and disadvantages to both though

Columbia, MD is a good place to find a cheap hotel close to Metro access- the nice thing about staying downtown though is that you can spend all Saturday limin and then roll back to your hotel for a quick rest before headed back out that night to fete- it sucks to spend all day taking transit only to take more transit to have to go back and get cleaned up and then back into the area
Columbia is too far out of the way.
Old 03-30-2009, 04:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Columbia is too far out of the way.
it could mean the difference of $200 difference per night in a hotel though
Silver Spring is feasible if you not driving and need Metro access
Old 04-07-2009, 02:34 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 156
No need to stay in the actual city either, not when you can stay nearby in parts of MD and VA for much cheaper.

That's what I did last year

Hit the green line to the Petworth Station and watched the parade from there
Old 04-07-2009, 02:58 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by soca control View Post
it could mean the difference of $200 difference per night in a hotel though
Silver Spring is feasible if you not driving and need Metro access
$200/night difference maybe if you're contemplating staying in DC.

But you just as easy could stay in Hyattsville, College Park, Capitol Heights, Oxon Hill, Arlington, Alexandria etc. for much cheaper... and only be 10-20 mins away from the city vs. 30 mins away as is Columbia. All the places I mentioned have decent hotels/motel chains at affordable prices.