Old 06-27-2005, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 1,958
Notting Hill/Hyde Park

What exactly is happening wid dat? anybody know? Lady Slaughter I looking mainly at you. Also dem ah have jouvert again?
Old 06-27-2005, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,898
it is definitely not happenign this yr.

The council doesn't want it to disrupt the west end area.

Its in notting hill this yr for sure. THAT IS WHERE IT SHOULD REMAIN, if u ask me
Old 06-28-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,087
notting hill. to be honest i didnt even hear about anything with hyde park. guess its all good, cuz it wont happen. im happy with everything as it is. leave well enough alone.
Old 06-28-2005, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
TRINA

Credits: 125
How true I dont know , but I heard its taking place this saturday 2nd July @ Hyde Park. brb hopefully with more info
Old 06-29-2005, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,662
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/4632853.stm

Caribbean event 'facing boycott'

The Notting Hill Carnival has been taking place for more than 40 years
Performers taking part in this year's Notting Hill Carnival have said they will boycott a Caribbean cultural event being planned by the mayor of London.
The Caribbean Showcase would be held in Hyde Park on the August Bank Holiday weekend, the same weekend as carnival.

Carnival organisers said hundreds of steel bands, costumed mas bands and calypsonians have not been consulted about the event and will not attend.

But Ken Livingstone said others have approached him about participating.

Notting Hill Carnival director Roddy Crozier said the event would be a threat to the carnival and would have a financial impact.

'Commercial affect'

"If, for example, they approach commercial sponsors that are already in negotiations with the Notting Hill Carnival... then sponsors will be drawn between which event is better and which event will give them more publicity," he said.

Last week Lee Jasper, senior adviser to Mr Livingstone, said that the Caribbean Showcase would be of "a very small scale", would complement the carnival and was not an attempt by the mayor to take control.

A statement from the mayor's office said that the event, which would celebrate the contribution of the Caribbean community to the life of London, would not impact on policing levels at the Notting Hill Carnival.

Ken Livingstone has also been criticised by carnival organisers for the late payment of cash for safety stewards.
Old 07-23-2005, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 21,805
Scrunter just say on de Mike Andrews show in Miami dat he not going London-------"no second thoughts" was his exact quote.

Who else not going London?
Old 07-23-2005, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)

as long as the xtatik fete still happening i doh care, but i doh blame some artists if the doh come, in lieu of these paste couple weeks, i don't even want to be here.

allyuh keep me updated please