Old 02-27-2006, 01:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 99
New King of The Band Geraldo Vieira Sr.

1. Geraldo Vieira Sr.
2. Rolland St. George
3. Wayne Madray
4. Curtis Eustace
5. Errol Phillip
6. Dave Lakhan
7. Earl Thompson
8. Lionel Jagessar Jr.
9. Leroy Prieto
10. Zinool Mohammed
Old 02-27-2006, 02:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
"SHHHHHHHH"

Credits: 333
How he win his costume didn't look all that in Semi- i guess he must of added alot to his costume or have played it very well... anywhoo I glad for him...
Old 02-27-2006, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Queen Dotish

How can Curtis Eustace come quite 4th place when he was leading in 1st place all the time and his mas is real nice. I don't understand this judging. Anyway Big Ups to Errol Phillip, the Boston crew.
Old 02-27-2006, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,268
Wey de pictures at?
Old 02-27-2006, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 163
Ye...where de pic, thread worthless without them.
Old 02-27-2006, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
RasGunta

If you look at the lists of the Queens you will a lot of queens who were low down came up in the finals. As far as Curtis I think after this year he will think off some fresh ideas. He get lick up fairly Vierra Sr. had to come out of retirement to show them who is boss.
Old 02-27-2006, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
RasGunta

Check for pic in these threads
Kings & Queens of The Band Part 2

Kings And Queens of The Band

And the Queens results

Queen of The Band Pamela Gordon Retains Title
Old 03-09-2006, 09:52 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RasKefentse
As far as Curtis I think after this year he will think off some fresh ideas. He get lick up fairly Vierra Sr. had to come out of retirement to show them who is boss.
Well first of all I want to congratulate Geraldo Vieira Sr. on his accomplishment & yes he did add on stuff for the finals as always. I have no comment on Curtis Eustace's position though cuz I really dunno exactly what went on down there. I know for a fact that the results came as a HUGE surprise to everyone in the Geraldo Vieira mas camp (I know most of them personally - they all wanted to win, but having been denied it for so long ...). I just want to point out, however, that Geraldo Vieira Sr. NEVER retired from mas making. He also NEVER played the King before either ... he always made the King costumes for other people to wear. First he was making costumes for Hilton Cox then when Hilton retired from mas, Geraldo Vieira Jr. took his place & now that Geraldo Vieira Jr's on a sabatical, Geraldo Vieira Sr took it over to keep it in the family.

Last edited by Kathryn; 03-09-2006 at 09:59 AM..
Old 03-09-2006, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 52
I was at Dimanche Gras and can honestly say that I loved this King and it was my second choice for prize. I saw the costumes up close and personal while jockeying with other phototakerouttas for pictures in the front of the stage. While Eustace had all the special effects, etc., I thought this portrayal by Vieira was outstanding.

Did anyone else go to Dimanche Gras and saw the reenactment of the first band to win Band of the Year (the Convicts) and heard the first Road March from 1919? Oh how times have changed!
Old 03-09-2006, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
RasGunta

Originally Posted by Kathryn
Well first of all I want to congratulate Geraldo Vieira Sr. on his accomplishment & yes he did add on stuff for the finals as always. I have no comment on Curtis Eustace's position though cuz I really dunno exactly what went on down there. I know for a fact that the results came as a HUGE surprise to everyone in the Geraldo Vieira mas camp (I know most of them personally - they all wanted to win, but having been denied it for so long ...). I just want to point out, however, that Geraldo Vieira Sr. NEVER retired from mas making. He also NEVER played the King before either ... he always made the King costumes for other people to wear. First he was making costumes for Hilton Cox then when Hilton retired from mas, Geraldo Vieira Jr. took his place & now that Geraldo Vieira Jr's on a sabatical, Geraldo Vieira Sr took it over to keep it in the family.
I never said he retired from mas making cause I know he is the man behind many costumes as you said before for his son and Hilton Cox. You saying he never played king and you might be right I will have to check out my records to verify that. As far I the results I was shocked and glad at the same time since for the past few years Eustace mas has not been saying anything. I thought St George may have gotten it cause he still looking for his first king title
Old 03-09-2006, 11:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
RasGunta

Originally Posted by classyivy1
I was at Dimanche Gras and can honestly say that I loved this King and it was my second choice for prize. I saw the costumes up close and personal while jockeying with other phototakerouttas for pictures in the front of the stage. While Eustace had all the special effects, etc., I thought this portrayal by Vieira was outstanding.

Did anyone else go to Dimanche Gras and saw the reenactment of the first band to win Band of the Year (the Convicts) and heard the first Road March from 1919? Oh how times have changed!
One thinsg is that special effects should not have such a huge impact on the judge's scores espcially since half the time the effects being used have nothing to do with the masquerader's portrayl.
Old 03-09-2006, 11:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 52
One thinsg is that special effects should not have such a huge impact on the judge's scores espcially since half the time the effects being used have nothing to do with the masquerader's portrayl.
I agree. Maybe the judges felt that way this year.
Old 03-09-2006, 01:00 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 269

TRUE DAT i was Glad for Geraldo Vieira Sr i think the mas was original and that redsail like plume was the bomb in the mas i like the Eustace clan but that sun burst with a beast in the middle is getting a bit old , just like tan tan and saga boy it needs a rest.