Old 03-28-2008, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Credits: 5,938
New Carnival Band for Lucian carnival 2008...... Toxik

New Carnival band to join revelry

Typically the word "toxic" sets off alarm signals in our minds and a sense of warning and foreboding to stay clear, not so in this case, as the latest kid on the local entertainment block "Toxik . . . The Band" prepares to make its first public outing.

Word of the formation of the new band has been going around the entertainment and party circuit for a few months now and has generated quite a buzz, not only among newcomers to the liming scene but even among seasoned, veteran partygoers.

After meeting up with two of the masterminds behind the new band, it was easy to see where all of the excitement and enthusiasm emanated from. An eclectic Jason Hullingseed who has been gaining much recognition via his work as a radio announcer and an equally bubbly Daniel Steven; himself a well-known figure attached to the popular Steve’s Barber Salon, were too eager to spill the beans on the genesis of Toxik Carnival Band.

Hullingseed was first off the mark, "we chose the name Toxik after much deliberation and targeted market research. We wanted something that spoke to exhilaration, stimulation and anticipation; something that evoked in persons a feeling of pure pulsating excitement. We also wanted a name that would become synonymous with the contagious and infectious fun-loving activities we would be putting on year-round."

Hullingseed admitted to having gained much experience revelling and playing Mas with several carnival bands for well over a decade, doing so at various levels ranging from costume designing and building, to ordinary reveler and subsequently section leader. "What I and some of the others who have joined me in this initiative have realized is that revelers are always left unsatisfied and wanting more from their carnival bands.

Stevens interjected, "The public have decried the lack of proper organization, lack of creativity, untimely delivery of costumes and lack of value for money in the finished product." With firm determination and an air of excitement he blurted out, "Toxik carnival Band was designed to address and solve those issues".

In order to deliver on what is being sold as "a total carnival experience" a ten-member executive committee is overseeing all preparations with a smaller events committee coordinating the various social and entertainment activities. A press launch has been scheduled for March 1st 2008 with a public launch or "coming out" party planned for end of March 2008. Hullingseed says that launch will take the public by storm as it promises to be one with a difference. "Traditionally band launches have taken place at night clubs and behind closed doors, we are planning a spectacular open-air music concert designed to carry that ‘wow’ factor across to the audience."

As a lead up to the March launch, Steven says a series of pre-carnival events aimed at whetting the public’s appetite has already begun. He says several of the activities, like the popular Sunday afternoon ‘Beer-Breaks,’ are attracting sizable crowds. "Some bands are aware of their lack of reveler fulfillment and have sought to address this through the introduction of VIP sections. In Toxik

. . . The Band, every reveler is a VIP and that is our guarantee to you the public." A post-carnival calendar of activities has also been planned intent on keeping revelers revved up and entertained all year long. With costume sketches already done, colours and other finishing touches already in place, organizers are targeting 400 revelers as part of a seven-section band. Both Hullingseed and Steven are unanimous in their appeal to the public to support carnival and carnival related activities and experience Mas 08 the "Toxik" way.
Old 03-28-2008, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lymer Boy

Credits: 177
been hearing about this band for a while now...daniel happens to be a friend of mine.....hope they come hard and give the other bands a run....im mostly interested in their events because we still lacking in that area...we need more activities around carnival time.....big big fetes.......insane we up in dat !
Old 03-28-2008, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Originally Posted by Lucian Lymer View Post
been hearing about this band for a while now...daniel happens to be a friend of mine.....hope they come hard and give the other bands a run....im mostly interested in their events because we still lacking in that area...we need more activities around carnival time.....big big fetes.......insane we up in dat !
from time yuh paying de ticket
Old 03-28-2008, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 38
ive been hearing about dat too. infact i was informed on carnival tuesday by my cuz but never gave it a bligh. she nos dem peeps, i no she'll hook me up! and they need too find their own creativity and stop importing costumes elsewhere! make the mas sexy and original. 400 is to small i find, but it's their inaugural yr so...
Old 03-28-2008, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Originally Posted by Nickyan View Post
ive been hearing about dat too. infact i was informed on carnival tuesday by my cuz but never gave it a bligh. she nos dem peeps, i no she'll hook me up! and they need too find their own creativity and stop importing costumes elsewhere! make the mas sexy and original. 400 is to small i find, but it's their inaugural yr so...
people doh wanna be up in de mas camp bending wire no more lmao.
Old 03-29-2008, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lymer Boy

Credits: 177
yeah 400 eh bad for deh first year.....they already have a theme song sang by ricky t and d tune bad....heard it on da radio.......i personally eh care about costume as long as it eh lookin gay i safe....cuz by d time we reach waterfront half of d costume gone.......but i know the ladies like to look sexy and rightfully so
Old 03-29-2008, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

yeah 400 eh bad for deh first year.....they already have a theme song sang by ricky t and d tune bad....heard it on da radio.......i personally eh care about costume as long as it eh lookin gay i safe....cuz by d time we reach waterfront half of d costume gone.......but i know the ladies like to look sexy and rightfully so
cuz dem ha fi look sexy fuh de insane man.